We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 364: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Had my 40th birthday celebrations at Oubaai. Exceptional service. High attention to detail. Was very happy. Golf course was awesome and accommodating. Rooms were superb. For the price we paid, we got more than what we bargained for. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Collin G
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a night on this hotel on our way from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. The reception is nice and everything was ready for when we came. The room was big and very clean. Nice bathroom and a small terrace with view of the ocean. We had dinner at the restaurant as well as breakfast and it was all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrkP13
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The worst place that I stayed for sure! There are better guest houses! The staff has lack of training, the hotel is old and degraded...terrible! The dinner was sadly disappointing ... What a waist of money!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isabel_peereboom
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to Herolds Bay to look at property and decided to stay in the golf estate for convenience. The Hotel is clean and comfortable. A very nice stay at a generic type of hotel. The staff were very friendly too. Only down fall was the occupants of the room next door who belonged to some religious sect and thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacs777
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your stay with us and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Riva Del Garda, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the arrival ONE realizes that the 5000 Rand per night is way overpriced, in fact a rip off, this is not a 5 star hotel! No porter, in the bedroom not even a bottle of water as a welcome, lacking cleanliness. The village is deserted shops are there but closed. The place needs maintenance cracks on the walls and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grazia L
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing all your concerns to our attention and we are extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us! We will definitely look into all these matters and would like to assure you that this is definitely not the level of service we strive to achieve.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our first stay at Oubaai Hotel and we were satisfied. Check-in was handled efficiently and the room we booked (king room with sea view) was spacious and nicely furnished. The bathroom was stunning and kind of integrated into the bedroom, yet separated with a (frosted) glass sliding door. The main restaurant "Cucina" serves breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin Z
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your stay with us and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we have to offer. We'd like to mention that we have 3 swimming pools available for our guests - 1 behind the hotel and 2 at the Lifestyle...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Were does one begin? Upon arrival we were left waiting and as I'm writing this review we're still waiting... drinks at the Waterside bar was about as average as the local bar around the corner but it's frustrating waiting for hours to get decent service we left the hotel for the clubhouse and it was shocking we were seated outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marthinus Jacob... v
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with our service standards and facilities and would like to assure you that this is definitely not the level of service we strive to achieve. We apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service date: 30 Dec 2016.Took my visitors for lunch at the restuarant,we were a party of 7 . One of the guests ordered a vegetarian meal, she was then served with chicken and veggies. Food for the 5 of us was served at the same time,however,the food for the remaining two was served after we finished eating. The quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bridgetm6508
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with our service standards and would like to assure you that this is definitely not the level of service we strive to achieve. We apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused and hope...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice room with a great view of the golf course and ocean. The room itself is very well appointed, a stunning bathroom with an oversized bathtub and nice rain shower. Checkin wasn't possible on time as the room wasn't ready and service was a little slow in general but the room, view and location make up for this. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZAcouple_in_Atlanta
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us; all feedback received is instrumental in assisting us to improve our facilities and service standards where possible. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

Knysna
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good security although. Nice gardens. Speed limit a bit fast considering Springbucks were roaming into the road. We met friends for breakfast at the golf clubhouse. Nice views. Nice golf shop. Although there was a buffet breakfast, we ordered from the menu. Nothing fancy, quite mediocre, poor presentation. No cream cuppacino.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suyenneb
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us; all feedback received is instrumental in assisting us to improve our facilities and service standards where possible. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the near future.

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.6 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
419 reviews
10.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
11.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
The Manor House at Fancourt
16.6 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
563 reviews
13.0 km away
Far Hills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is set in the picturesque hamlet of Herolds Bay, within 15 minutes from George Airport, Western Cape, South Africa. This 316-acre upscale Residential & Golf Development set apart in our specatacular Garden Route stretches out along the Western Cape from Mossel Bay to Port Elizabeth. Home to our Signature Ernie Els Golf Course as well as the Freesia Spa. The Oubaai Hotel has 100 Luxury Guest Rooms showcased alongside some of the most spectacular Herolds Bay Heritage Real Estate. This includes 322 upmarket Oubaai Residential Properties and 128 Oubaai Village Apartments. Golf Membership is optional. The Golf Club comprises of our 18 Hole Championship Ernie Else Signature Golf Course, the Golf Academy, a Driving Range plus 1 Chipping and 2 Putting Greens. Added Value includes Daily Breakfast in our Main Restaurant " Cucina," plus FREE Wifi access and FREE Parking. On our Property you can enjoy our Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Squash Court and fully equipped Gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: 406 Herolds Bay Road | Herolds Bay, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: RM476 - RM1,308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Hotel George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“238 and 239 are separate but next to each other, and not on a corridor so work very well as children / parents combination”
 of 5 bubbles PaddyM75, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“club rooms outstanding”
 of 5 bubbles Michael665, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had to walk up 3 flights of stairs which was not a problem but if you have a mobility problem, I would ask the hotel what rooms are best.”
 of 5 bubbles lnd_beale, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request pool View”
 of 5 bubbles Isiphiwo, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms that face the pool can have a bit of noise from the pool pump at night if you leave your balcony door open”
 of 5 bubbles samkoning91, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay