We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 380: English reviews
Vanderbijlpark
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The staff is dragging the hotel down. Staff got bad attitude, never make an effort to anything the guest request, no porters by the entrance to help you with your luggage, restaurant is short staff, you wait for ever for your food and the waiter get irritated with you whenever you ask about your food, overall the service is bad!!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rfm2016
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We are highly disappointed to hear about the unacceptable experience you had whilst staying with us and would like to assure you that this is definitely not the standard of service we strive to achieve. All feedback is taken in a serious light and...

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 3 June 2016

ROOMS I enjoyed the fact that, thanks to the glass sliding doors that act as bathroom walls, I can watch TV while take a shower or sitting in the tub! I had the view of the golf course from my room. It's pleasant to see that and the sunrise for the three days (two nights) we stayed there. FOOD The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WackyHoney
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and the quality of the meals prepared by our Chefs. All feedback is take in a serious light and the areas of concern will be addressed. Thank you once again and we...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Lovely big apartment style rooms but best to stay in the Hotel itself especially when the weather is bad. Spa was spacious with a magnificent view. Beautiful walks on the cliff where you can enjoy views of the rough sea far below. Only complaint was the limited options for lunch as we had to go to the golf clubhouse which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeoniS S
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and the magnificent surroundings. We have taken note of your comments regarding our lunch menu and will definitely take this into consideration. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again...

Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay at the Oubaai hotel. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and welcoming, especially with my two year old son. The views from the hotel are spectacular, the decor is tasteful and we found the restaurant to be well priced and enjoyable. The restaurant staff, especially Antunita, were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayeshahammaadg
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valued feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Overnight stay. Staff very professional and friendly. Hotelroom very cold and aircons in both rooms werent working. No phones in room. No extra blankets. Rooms are beautiful but just lacking some warmth and personality. Food in the restaurant good. staff friendly and helpful. Also quite impersonal. The setting for this hotel cannot be beaten. it is stunning. Breakfast good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mischellejolly
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. All positive and negative feedback is considered constructive and is instrumental in assisting us to improve our offerings where necessary. We sincerely apologise for the fact that the phone in your room was out of order, this is due to a damaged cable which...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 May 2016

This Hotel and Spa is a world class facility in a spectacular but rather isolated location. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are big, luxuriously fitted out and with great views. Unfortunately, the phone did not work, which seems a common problem. Having said that, the wi fi is good and free of charges. We played golf on what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us. We would like to apologise for the fact that the phone in your room was not working, our telephone cable was damaged at the time. The golf greens are usually in fantastic condition but your stay with us was unfortunately just after the hollow...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Watershed restaurant need improvement. Order an expensive seafood bisque with French baguette, but the soup is too watery to be called bisque. There is no presentation and no garnishing, they even give me dessert spoon for my soup! I then ask for my French baguette that suppose to come with my soup, it only arrive 10 after I told them,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cola0452
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valued feedback and we sincerely apologise for the unacceptable experience you had at Waterside and would like to assure you that this is not the standard we strive to achieve. All these matters have been addressed!

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

walked down to the viewpoint area, alongside the magnificent golf course. It is spectacular- check out these pics. Great way to get fit but golf carts are available from front desk. What a privilege to be able to breathe in the fresh sea air and peace of the smashing waves

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 509farrellb
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience! Greatly appreciated.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Great resort, great food but amenities need attention. Telephone in room does not work. Had to ask 3 times for extra towels and coffee in the room. Overall a good resort. Have stayed here before and will come back. Hopefully then the service would have improved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StaffieZA
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us! All feedback is considered constructive and is used to improve our levels of service where necessary. We sincerely apologise for the telephone not working in your room, this was due to a damaged cable which is being sorted out. Thank you once again and...

Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

We came to South Africa from Canada and our flights were very long so once we got to George we were ready to relax and unwind. The Oubaai Hotels staff were so incredible they arranged all our transportation and made sure someone was there to greet us and help us with our luggage . The rooms are great and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback about your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.6 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
451 reviews
10.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
11.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
607 reviews
11.2 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
62 reviews
36.5 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is set in the picturesque hamlet of Herolds Bay, within 15 minutes from George Airport, Western Cape, South Africa. This 316-acre upscale Residential & Golf Development set apart in our specatacular Garden Route stretches out along the Western Cape from Mossel Bay to Port Elizabeth. Home to our Signature Ernie Els Golf Course as well as the Freesia Spa. The Oubaai Hotel has 100 Luxury Guest Rooms showcased alongside some of the most spectacular Herolds Bay Heritage Real Estate. This includes 322 upmarket Oubaai Residential Properties and 128 Oubaai Village Apartments. Golf Membership is optional. The Golf Club comprises of our 18 Hole Championship Ernie Else Signature Golf Course, the Golf Academy, a Driving Range plus 1 Chipping and 2 Putting Greens. Added Value includes Daily Breakfast in our Main Restaurant " Cucina," plus FREE Wifi access and FREE Parking. On our Property you can enjoy our Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Squash Court and fully equipped Gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: 406 Herolds Bay Road | Herolds Bay, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: RM377 - RM1,445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Hotel George
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort And Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a ocean view room which was good”
 of 5 bubbles Rosselli2016, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“just tell them what you want , and they will help you.”
 of 5 bubbles fakhruddinsaif, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the main building”
 of 5 bubbles sambea, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Junior suites are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles vjoynes, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs ask for a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidN724, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5