We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Far Hills Country Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Far Hills Country Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Far Hills Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2016

The room we stayed in was under renovations, No mirrors, no hand towels, no soap dishes no remote for the TV etc. Staff friendly and food very good first 2 days, last day breakfast ok. i will never stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Deon K
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All reviews we applicate. I would just like to say that we did inform you that it was our last room and that it is not finished yet. You did insist on taking the room. I would still like to apologise for the state of the room when you stayed and would like to invite... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

The FarHills hotel has really got the most amazing views from every angle outside. We were greeted by very friendly staff and in general all the staff were always friendly and extremely helpful at all times. Upon entering our room our disappointment started. The television(which was from the ark) did not work. The telephone in the room did not work.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy Q
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy Thank you so much for your review all reviews are appreciated. We are sorry for the state of the room when you stayed here and have fixed all problems in the room. I would just like to say that we are not a 4 star hotel but a 3 star. We have upgrade 5 of our rooms so... More 

Travellers are raving about these George hotels

Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2016

I was quite impressed with the hotel. There was some hiccups with the booking but it was all sorted out by Robin-Lee. All the staff was helpful and friendly. All the issues I had in our room was promptly sorted out. The room is pretty basic. Just what you need for a time out in the Garden Route. Very impressed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Far Hills Hotel. I am sorry that there was a mistake with your booking as well as the issues with the room. I am very happy that at the end you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could accommodate you. We hope to see you again. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Although there are still some teething problems while rooms are being renovated, the staff are very helpful and accommodating. Despite a power outage on the first night which meant turning in early, the rest of the weekend was great and being upgraded to deluxe rooms was the icing on top of a lovely weekend. This hotel has such a homely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michaelwood2015
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the power outage on the first night of your stay. I am happy that we could upgrade you and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. We hope to see you again. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Before I started writing the review, I read through the reviews already submitted (something I should have done beforehand). I can relate to most of the negative items mentioned, as well as some of the positive items mentioned. We were en-route from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town, and stayed at the Far Hills Hotel on Friday 22 April. We arrived... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Charl9686
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

The staff really do try everything to help and be of great service. The management are always around and available to assist. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The food was great and the cocktails are one of the best I've tasted on a long time. We really enjoyed our stay and had no complaints. Thanks we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Edward M
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward seeing you again. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2016

If you need relaxation away from the city - this is the perfect place. Beautiful views from our rooms with balconies. Spacious rooms - friendly staff and very nice food. quite close to Garden Route Mall - close to Victoria Bay. We definitely coming back to this place.

Helpful?
Thank ShaneVC
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We at Far Hills Country Hotel are really happy that you enjoyed your stay by us and do hope to see you again. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I'm just going to note points down, it's far too much effort to go into extreme detail which I really could do, but this place is not worth my time! I’d just like to state how disappointed I am with our accommodation in the standard room 44. Firstly when I reserved this booking a while ago, it took convincing of... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank WarrenManuel
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Warren I would firstly like to start by saying thank-you for the effort that you have gone through with the complaint above. After what happened to you, I can understand why you were so frustrated, but I don’t understand why you had to complain again on another medium as you had sent me an email which I replied to... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

First of all they stuffed up our booking which was booked and payed for in full in December 2015 already. I was emailed 2 days before we were to arrive to be told they don't have space for us anymore??? After a huge fight and wanting to make it our problem they got alternative accommodation for the one evening. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karien R
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We arrived to a warm friendly welcome and was shown to our quaint room in no time. The views from our private balcony was spectacular. We had an amazing time staying here. The staff was professional and extra helpful. The food was superb. Will definitely come here again. Small improvements: Fridge in room and clear channels on the TV.

Helpful?
Thank WarrenMWalker
Dylan H, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Walker Thank you for your positive feedback. All feedback good or bad is appreciated at Far Hills Country Hotel. Our rooms are being upgrade. So all issues you brought to our attention will be sorted. Once again thank you. Hope to see you soon again. More 

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
4.1 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
495 reviews
13.0 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
4.5 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
52 reviews
12.5 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: RM218 - RM605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Far Hills Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beautiful view of the mountaines”
 of 5 bubbles 913susanaj, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would just recommend requesting one of the top floor rooms so you can enjoy the view.”
 of 5 bubbles jolinevz, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Scenic but bad service”
 of 5 bubbles matthewsac, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Skipperstevem, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay