We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst my son was in hockey tour. The staff were brilliant and friendly. The rooms basic and clean. Food was quite good and location excellent. There were rabbits around the car park which were really cute. Wifi isn't great as it kept dropping out and was limited so you had to purchase more Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grannymac1
George, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The management and staff of the Protea Hotel King George can be relied upon to make any event which is held at their beautiful Hotel, a wonderful success. The conferencing facilities are excellent and are supported by on-site technicians. The meals are scrumptious and are cooked according to the requirements of their guests. The team is flexible and ensures that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeChamber
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are passionate about delivering the best guest service experience at all times and to not only meet, but to exceed our guests' expectations - we are therefore delighted to receive your comments and will share it with the rest of our team, in order to inspire them to continue to provide the...

Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for two days. It was quite different in that the rooms were in separate buildings than the main reception. The location was convenient. The views of the mountain were stunning. The little white rabbits on the lawn were cute.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdJablonsky
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Berneace Nel General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've just gotten back home from honeymoon, and King George was my first hotel I stayed at. Wow! Exceptionally beautiful and tranquil. The breakfast was amazing and the staff was very accommodating. Will definitely be back soon. Many Thanks for the great service. 😊.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nabeelah C
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Nabeelah C, Once again congratulations on your wedding! Also a big thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back every year for your anniversary! Kind Regards, Berneace Nel General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very beautiful, on a gold course, has beautiful gardens. The most impressive is the large balcony off my doom over looking the gardens. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Wonderful stay here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy E
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we have met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind Regards, Berneace Nel Genernal Manager

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the best hotel of my SA trip. The deluxe rooms are big, have their own balcony. We were given the room facing the golf course which had amazing views. It's close to the city center, with a friendly staff and ample parking space. Breakfast was above average. A definite revisit if I come to George again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanshaj
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back whenever your travels brings you back to our beautiful country and town. Kind Regards, Berneace Nel

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The super de lux room was in the main building and was clean and pleasant with a large balcony overlooking the gardens & nearby golf course. However I would not describe it as super de lux. The mini bar was empty. We probably would not have used it but it would have been nice to have had the choice. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay at our hotel. We are saddened to hear that your stay at our hotel and in George did not meet your overall expectations. We do not offer mini bars in our rooms, only fridges and should you stay with us again you are more than welcome to let...

Cape Town
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Good location next to George GC, spacious rooms and quiet. But let down by the basics. I ordered a sandwich and was told there was no bread as they were waiting for the delivery. At 3pm. With supermarkets nearby? They ran out of beer. One member of staff in the bar so waited 20 mins for service. As did everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the unacceptable service standards -...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way along the garden route, the is a hotel nice with friendly, helpful staff. The gardens are lovely we had a big room but no balcony. Breakfast was self service and of good quality but the one dinner we had in the restaurant was dreadful, the worst meal we have ever had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacki M
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Jacki M, Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations with regards to dinner. It really saddens me to see that you had such a disappointing experience and that the matter was not resolved to your satisfaction. I would like to assure you that...

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We checked in for a one night stay. We booked while we were on the road. No problems there. We are Pro card members and the lady at the hotel handled our booking very smoothly with constant feedback. The hotel is at the outskirts of the town and it is a lovely drive to the hotel. 24 hour security makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andries B
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Andries B, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George! As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability...

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.2 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
3.5 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
62 reviews
12.9 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
617 reviews
3.5 km away
The Manor House at Fancourt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the convenience of being on the doorstep of all the Garden Route has to offer! The Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is centrally located in the Heart of Eden and exudes tranquility and beauty. With the Outeniqua Mountains as a back-drop, this magnificent 4-star hotel, with its country-style setting is the ideal location for conference, business and leisure travelers wanting to explore the Garden Route and surroundings. You can be assured that you will never run out of things to do and see! Nestled between two of the country's top golf courses and in close proximity to other world class courses in Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is the perfect destination for golf enthusiasts to tee off from! This secure, upmarket hotel is merely a ten minute leisurely drive from the George Airport and a stones' throw away from all the pristine beaches with its clear water and white sandy beaches. The spacious and stylishly designed rooms and luxury suites are equipped with all amenities for your comfort. The Fairway Terrace Restaurant with its elegant dining atmosphere and superb blend of classical and contemporary cuisine is a gastronomic experience that will not easily be forgotten. Children are always welcome and with the dedicated Prokidz entertainment program over weekends and school holidays, you can be assured of absolute relaxation, friendly and efficient service and home-away-from-home comfort in the Heart of the Garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Address: King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: RM277 - RM515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott King George 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott King George staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott King George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you tell them you don't wat to be around cigarette smoke!”
RobertR173, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Golfers should request rooms overlooking the golf course. Families should request rooms around the pool area.”
pauljob2017, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor come with a terrace - but it is open to all your neighbors.”
G3151FZdanielm, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for mountain view”
kavuki777, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms i stayed in was good”
priscilla601, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5