We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Expedia.comUS$93*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 24 March 2017

This was the best hotel of my SA trip. The deluxe rooms are big, have their own balcony. We were given the room facing the golf course which had amazing views. It's close to the city center, with a friendly staff and ample parking space. Breakfast was above average. A definite revisit if I come to George again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanshaj
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back whenever your travels brings you back to our beautiful country and town. Kind Regards, Berneace Nel

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The super de lux room was in the main building and was clean and pleasant with a large balcony overlooking the gardens & nearby golf course. However I would not describe it as super de lux. The mini bar was empty. We probably would not have used it but it would have been nice to have had the choice. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay at our hotel. We are saddened to hear that your stay at our hotel and in George did not meet your overall expectations. We do not offer mini bars in our rooms, only fridges and should you stay with us again you are more than welcome to let...

Cape Town
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Good location next to George GC, spacious rooms and quiet. But let down by the basics. I ordered a sandwich and was told there was no bread as they were waiting for the delivery. At 3pm. With supermarkets nearby? They ran out of beer. One member of staff in the bar so waited 20 mins for service. As did everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the unacceptable service standards -...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way along the garden route, the is a hotel nice with friendly, helpful staff. The gardens are lovely we had a big room but no balcony. Breakfast was self service and of good quality but the one dinner we had in the restaurant was dreadful, the worst meal we have ever had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacki M
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Jacki M, Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations with regards to dinner. It really saddens me to see that you had such a disappointing experience and that the matter was not resolved to your satisfaction. I would like to assure you that...

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We checked in for a one night stay. We booked while we were on the road. No problems there. We are Pro card members and the lady at the hotel handled our booking very smoothly with constant feedback. The hotel is at the outskirts of the town and it is a lovely drive to the hotel. 24 hour security makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andries B
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Andries B, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George! As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

If the accommodation interiors could match the outside beauty of this hotel I could have given it five stars. Small rabbits abound in the delightful gardens but unfortunately the rooms are very basic with the staff not as efficient as one would expect with any hotel associated with the Marriott brand. So beware if you are expecting the Marriott standard!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

I refer to the review that you kindly completed after your stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is viewed in a serious light. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. I confirm that your concerns...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Stayed one night and checked in late evening just before sunset. The grounds were nice and the room comfortable. There was a Chinese tourist bus that checked into the hotel and the noise and cigarette smoke wafting from the lower rooms was overpowering. Sitting on the patio/deck was not enjoyable due to the constant cigarettes and noise. The breakfast buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations and would like to assure you that your comments will be used constructively to improve the level of our services and facilities where necessary. Our hotel rooms are non-smoking, but there are certain areas where GUESTS are still...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We only had one night as part of the garden route but it's a nice hotel, great room service and breakfast. Beautiful views and nice big rooms It has a really nice pool area and it's big enough to properly swim

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tegan S
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George! As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed at the hotel from 02/01/17 to 07/01/17. This is the second time we have been to the hotel. Great hotel for a family or for golf lovers. I must thank Ikeraam and Adenaan on the excellent service and hospitality showed to my family and myself. They were always checking if everything was ok or if we needed anything....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauljob2017
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Thank you for your words of appreciation after your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel has both negative and positive things going for it. Unfortunately the negatives for us were just too much for a 4 star hotel.... Negatives: The double beds are normal size double beds and not queen or king. Air-conditioning unit did not cool down as only the fan was working. Shower was not big enough to allow a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reynhardt P
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review

Dear Reynhardt P, Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities. First of all thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our breakfast, location, cleanliness and WiFi....

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
10.1 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
3.5 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
63 reviews
13.0 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
634 reviews
3.5 km away
The Manor House at Fancourt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the convenience of being on the doorstep of all the Garden Route has to offer! The Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is centrally located in the Heart of Eden and exudes tranquility and beauty. With the Outeniqua Mountains as a back-drop, this magnificent 4-star hotel, with its country-style setting is the ideal location for conference, business and leisure travelers wanting to explore the Garden Route and surroundings. You can be assured that you will never run out of things to do and see! Nestled between two of the country's top golf courses and in close proximity to other world class courses in Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is the perfect destination for golf enthusiasts to tee off from! This secure, upmarket hotel is merely a ten minute leisurely drive from the George Airport and a stones' throw away from all the pristine beaches with its clear water and white sandy beaches. The spacious and stylishly designed rooms and luxury suites are equipped with all amenities for your comfort. The Fairway Terrace Restaurant with its elegant dining atmosphere and superb blend of classical and contemporary cuisine is a gastronomic experience that will not easily be forgotten. Children are always welcome and with the dedicated Prokidz entertainment program over weekends and school holidays, you can be assured of absolute relaxation, friendly and efficient service and home-away-from-home comfort in the Heart of the Garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Address: King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: RM310 - RM629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott King George 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott King George staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott King George staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing the golf course have large balconies with great views.”
Colin033, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a ground floor room facing the golf course - room 115 is great!”
Dia_Carstens, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you tell them you don't wat to be around cigarette smoke!”
RobertR173, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Golfers should request rooms overlooking the golf course. Families should request rooms around the pool area.”
pauljob2017, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor come with a terrace - but it is open to all your neighbors.”
G3151FZdanielm, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$93* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$107
Hotels.comUS$93
Booking.comUS$94
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates