We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oakhurst Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Oakhurst Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oakhurst Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

I went to George on a business trip and made a reservation at Oakhurst Hotel for me and a colleague. Upon arrival they couldn't find our booking and after further investigation it came to light that they took down all our contact details WRONG. Our booking was cancelled, after capturing literally each and every contact detail wrong, because they couldn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cobus d
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cobus This review is very upsetting because you gave the WRONG information on Tripadvisor. Please allow us to give our side of the story. When you made the booking you requested an invoice and Reception informed you that we could only issue the invoice the following day and you said that you would send a mail to request the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Situated right in the commercial centre of George this hotel is an atmospheric thatched Cape building with an intricate array of wooden beams running through the whole structure and visible. The rooms are well appointed, although when the hotel is busy, can be quite noisy due to the open structure of the historic building. The staff are charming and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Deering Thank your very much for your positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest regards Janita van Biljoen General Manager More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015

staff were incredibly friendly and really made me feel at home. I travel alone most of the times and they made me feel like it was home away from home. I will recommend them anytime! Thank You Mrs Phaal and Dr Green

Helpful?
1 Thank zeldaphaal
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Phaal & Dr Green Thank your very much for the great review regarding our staff friendliness. Glad your stay with us felt so close to home. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Janita van Biljoen & staff More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2015

You really feel well cared for at the Oakhurst. The hotel has friendly, helpful staff that really make you feel that nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. They put our friends in the room directly opposite us, which was thoughtful of them. Offered to light the fire for us when we watched... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brenda Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. We always strive to be very helpful and friendly towards our guests. I will pass the feedback to all the staff members and that in return will make them feel very proud. Looking forward welcoming you back in December. Best wishes till then. Kindest Regards Janita van Biljoen General... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2015

I was very surprised at what a nice experience this was. A little disappointed that the AC would not turn off COLD and turn on the heat. I wanted to just warm the room slightly before retiring but even with the AC set at 30 degrees C it continued to pump out air at 15 degrees C. However this was... More 

Helpful?
Thank TLC_4play
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. Thank you as well for bringing the problem with the AC under our attention. I can reply that it is now in good working condition, sorry for the inconvenience. However we are glad that you had a surprising stay. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest... More 

Springs, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We recently stayed at the Oakhurst Hotel in George when we visited the arts festival in Oudtshoorn for a concert. Our guests were from Ireland and this was the seventh and last concert they performed in South Africa, at this time being very travel fatigued. I found accommodation at the Oakhurst after an online search, and consider this a stroke... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharlSenekal
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charl Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. It was such a pleasure to accommodate your guest with us. We enjoyed your guest and company as it is not every day that you send your guest off with a shot of Tequila and super ending to a wonderful tour. Michelle and Pinkie are great staff members and... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Spent 4 days there. Staff very friendly. Service good. From the moment you set foot there you realise that the staff put your needs first. Restaurant good value for money. Room very clean and nice ambience.

Helpful?
Thank carolevendal
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol Thank you very much for the great positive feedback. Glad to hear you had such a great experience. We aim to create a feeling of "Home away from Home". Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, Janita van Biljoen General Manager More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Hotel is clean and staff very friendly and will do anything they can to help you. But, if you have a room facing the main road it is very noisy from early morning. Food was ok but nothing special. We were there during heavy rain and the thatched roof was leaking but was not a big problem. Overall the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim Thank you very much for your review. We have addressed the matters you raised, unfortunately the noise factor from the morning traffic is a bit out of our control as we are city centred. We proud ourselves too be helpful and friendly at all times. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you... More 

Northern Cook Islands, Cook Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We spent a Sunday night at Oakhurst. The hotel was virtually empty but we were put in a room on the ground floor right on the parking area facing the intersection. Every car door, suitcase on wheels, passing taxi boom-box, articulated truck air breaks breaking for the intersection came through loud and clear all night long. If there are peaceful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karoofarmer
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey Thank you for your review. Your complaints were taken up with General Management. We hope to win your respect and hope to host you sometime in the future. Kindest Regards, Janita van Biljoen General Manager More 

Boston, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2015

I have been staying at Oakhurst for the past 2 years on and off. By now I know most of the staff and their servive is always great. No request too much for them. I also make use of their small conference facility at times and sometimes it is just that little bit too small for my requirements, although they... More 

Helpful?
Thank trudypieterse
Oakhurst M, General Manager at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trudy Thank you for your review. The matters you mentioned had been addressed. Always a pleasure to welcome you back at Oakhurst Hotel. Hope to see you soon! Kindest Regards, Janita van Biljoen General Manager More 

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
10.9 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
1.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
52 reviews
5.1 km away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
402 reviews
7.6 km away
Far Hills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakhurst Hotel - “ Urban tranquility in the heart of George. “The ideal location to explore the rest of the Garden Route. Oakhurst Hotel is stylish, deliberately small and exclusive suited to both leisure and business travelers alike. The thatched gabled hotel facing the Outeniqua Mountains, offers 25 Designer- decorated rooms, all with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. All the rooms are complemented with modern amenities to please even the most discerning traveler. Disabled facilities. Outdoor swimming pool. The restaurant is open for breakfast, light luncheons and snacks. Lounge with large farmhouse fireplace. Ladies bar. Secure open parking. Wireless internet. Oakhurst boasts a unique dining experience, with a choice of several restaurants, all located in the immediate vicinity. “The meeting place in the centre of George” ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakhurst Hotel

Address: Cnr Meade & Cathedral Streets | PO Box 9416, George 6530, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: RM290 - RM331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhurst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oakhurst Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have stayed there before, and both the rooms that we stayed in was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles TMan1980, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Any room on ground floor on the pool side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Yumi4, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“best rooms are the one's leading to the garden”
 of 5 bubbles zeldaphaal, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try and get room at back of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JimM188, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The top floor rooms are a bit of a tighter squeeze but the view is great and less street noise. The ground floor rooms are more modern and more spacious but have top floor noise and street noise if street facing,”
 of 5 bubbles trudypieterse, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay