We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baleens

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Baleens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Baleens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 371: English reviews
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice clean hotel overlooking a lovely stretch of the coast a few kilometres from the town of Hermanus. The first floor rooms have sea views and you may be lucky to spot a whale from your balcony. The rooms are comfortable and the owner, Nato is helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 686nanw
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautiful room with a lovely balcony overlooking the bay. Personal, friendly service and fabulous breakfast! Very good restaurant recommendations for dinner and lunch. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the coastal path walk into Hermanus and we weren't disappointed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandraaI8552NE
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival we received our keys and were shown to our room by a woman who did not greet or show any interest at all. We were excited for the weekend as it was my 21st birthday but this woman immediately made us feel uncomfortable. Later on that night we were sitting outside and the same woman started closing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YasminMarkides
NiciMeier, Manager at Baleens, responded to this review

I would just like to reply to your review as there are always two sides to a story! When you arrived you and your group wanted to party, drink and smoke in your room. You were told by the Manager that smoking in the bedrooms is not permitted. Of course it was your birthday but unfortunately those are the rules...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a family weekend in Hermanus. Really friendly service from Natu and his crew. Kids and us enjoyed the game room. Great breakfast. If you leave hungry then it is your own fault. Will go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gideonr489
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival our booking was taken down incorrect by the receptionist and we were placed in another room on the road. Room was comfortable and clean but shower did not have any water pressure and took a while to get hot. TV remote did not work. Average stay for the price would possibly recommend looking elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lodder C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love the peaceful location of Baleens, close enough to drive into the main Hermanus town, perfect for a stroll across to the beach and with Fernkloof Nature Reserve close by too as you drive into Hermanus. I stayed here in February and made sure I was able to stay again when I visited in October. Baleens is clean, spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisecG7245TP
Verona, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A food hotel in the whale's sanctuary of Hermanus. Wonderful position near the beach. The rooms are wide and comfortable The balconi on the ocean is amazing. Friendly staff good breakfast in a safe and quiet place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zenoc896
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Homely feel. Clean and well managed. Breakfast average but sufficient. Sleep quality of bed good. Liked the sea view but believe any of the rooms would be just as nice. Will undoubtedly visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vonniedullstroom
Fairfield, California
Reviewed 4 November 2016

This is a nice guest lodge on the very outskirts of Hermanus. It is a bit of a distance to downtown Hermanus. Nato checked us in, and helped us to our rooms (numbers 9 and 10) … up several flights of stairs, of course. It’s a really nice looking room with a great balcony and sea view. They did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinders
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The room was small, without air-condition and the beds definitely have had better times. Both beds had saggy mattresses. The breakfast were like a standard guest -house one, eggs, bacon, toast, yoghurt,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christoph G

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
5.6 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
5.0 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
5.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
594 reviews
1.6 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
370 reviews
2.7 km away
Four Pines Lodge
Four Pines Lodge
#12 of 12 in Hermanus
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Baleens

Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: RM204 - RM324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Baleens staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Baleens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for beach facing balcony room”
 of 5 bubbles damascusjockgirl, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a sea view then you must ask for this.”
 of 5 bubbles JanineV928, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to request views with balcony sea views and one the first floor to avoid lots of stairs and walking.”
 of 5 bubbles kausark2014, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Views to the Beach seem to be the upper rooms in the first level”
 of 5 bubbles nadinebC4632FI, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are better.”
 of 5 bubbles SkyeJess, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay