We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Marine Hermanus

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Marine Hermanus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hermanus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 519: English reviews
Vereeniging, South Africa
Reviewed 22 May 2015

We stayed from 14th May 2015 until 17th May 2015. The Seafood Restaurant - the first evening the food was very good but on our 2nd last evening we tried the vegetable soup and it wasn't as we have imagined. More like sweet corn soup which was absolutely terrible. The Pasta dish was a bit drab and needed a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CHRISTEL237
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I must apologise for your poor experience with us, especially in our restaurant. The Marine is known for its impeccable service and delectable food offerings and I am not sure how th5is went wrong during your stay. I am confused however that you feel that you were ousted from a Sea facing room due to a group we had in...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2015

We arrived early afternoon at the Marine Hotel, perched on the cliffs. Our itinerary stated a luxury room with roll in shower confirmed but although we were taken to a lovely room with sea view, the toilet and shower were not accessible. The manageress immediately offered us an alternative: a suite with a 4 poster bed, large sitting area with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

It was great to have you with us at The Marine and by the sounds of it, you had an amazing stay. hank you for all the positive comments. I must however apologise for not having the room you requested. There was clearly a miscommunication between your agent and our reservations department but this link has been rectified. I look...

Peterborough
Reviewed 6 May 2015

We have recently returned to the UK from a stay at the Marine and would love to come back. We were given the Suite with a balcony over the front door, unfortunately the weather wasn't quite good enough for us to sit out on the balcony very often. The food and service here were brilliant. I booked myself in for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rummy01
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your constructive and positive comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Our fourth visit to Hermanus and the Marine. Perfect location with very friendly staff. Lovely dining options; the taster menu in the Pavillion was excellent, and the more informal Seafood Restaurant was just as nice for something stylish but a bit less low key. One highlight is to enjoy afternoon tea in the bar - fab selection of cakes and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alison_simpson27
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments. My sincerest apologies for missing your Birthday however. i am not sure how this was overlooked and we would most certainly have treated you to all sorts of goodies during the day. I do hope that you return soon where we can rectify the mistake....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Ideally positioned, right in front of the sea, with excellent staff and excellent restaurants within the hotel. All staff remembered you by name and even which cocktail I ordered when I went back for cocktails the next day! The breakfast where good- both the buffet and the cooked one. The bar and lounge area face the sea, and have tables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fomc
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you indeed for your excellent feedback and you will be delighted to hear that we are in the midst of doing a comprehensive refurbishment of many of our rooms upstairs. Looking forward to welcoming you back and showing you the changes. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 12 April 2015

After Morukuru Family, Madikwe, and Taj Hotel, Cape Town, I had invited my friends to spend Easter with me at The Marine, Hermanus. We had 1 suite and 2 rooms - different in colors and furniture. They were all special and had a lot of ambience, like the rest of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Per S
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

And warm greetings to you all as well. It was a pleasure to have you all with us and I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

We were served the most delicious lunch by a very friendly team and had such a great afternoon at the Marine, which overlooks the beautiful Hermanus bay. Highly recommendable, pricey but great value for money. All aspects of the restaurant was outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and I hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable meal. Perhaps this time and overnight stay as well? Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Fantastic food to be had in the seafood restuarant with great views decor, staff and cuisine. Book the round table and share the vibe with the chef and support team. Wine menu complimented the great food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StravaStell
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Seafood at The Marine is definitely one of the best restaurants in Hermanus and I am delighted you had an enjoyable evening with us. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Reviewed 6 April 2015

We got a great room at The Marine. Lot of place, very comfortable, great bathroom, lots of natural light and a nice balcony/garden. Best of all is the staff. WIFI was better than any other we try in ZA, but not great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avelino S
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

Hopefully your next stay with us will be even longer and more enjoyable. Thank you for your positive feedback and I hope to welcome you back to The Marine n the near future. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2015

our family was celebrating a special occasion and decided to eat at the Seafood restaurant at the Marine Hotel in Hermanus. From the head barman, Andile to the Maitre De, Tom in the restaurant, the attention to detail was phenomenal. The Food from the standard menu was to die for and the flavours and combinations of taste used were mouth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review

I am delighted that your special day was made even more special at The Marine. Hope to see you all again soon. Kind regards Hamish Hofmeyr

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
796 reviews
3.4 km away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
370 reviews
0.8 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
4.9 km away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
465 reviews
1.0 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: RM1,271 - RM3,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Hermanus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Opt for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles VHoward06, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the luxury double room with sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles TachlessCps, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms excellent .some face coastline”
 of 5 bubbles F3251RXsusant, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a sea view and if possible a balcony. Room 207 was great.”
  • View from room 207
 of 5 bubbles Tom_Lennie, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view is obviously best”
 of 5 bubbles bushandsea, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay