We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Braeview Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Braeview Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Start your review of Braeview Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful place. I love the country feel, well kept and beautiful yard, quick access to the ocean. Very clean, wonderful kitchen, beautiful decor, and very comfortable. Wonderful hosts, friendly, and so accommodating. Very very highly recommended. I must thank our hosts for the amazing suggestions on the great food in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

Kevin, you won't know how good it is to read that you have acknowledged and appreciated our efforts to make you feel at home and comfortable. Thank you from our hearts that you have taken the time to put it into writing. Hope to see you again in future! Fanie and Erina.

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Braeview Cottages is one of the best 'home away from home' experiences in Hermanus. People go to Hermanus for various reasons: the scenery, serenity, art, culture, whales, food and wine or whatever tickles your fancy about that beautiful part of the world. It is indeed the cherry on top to come 'home' to Braeview after a busy day. Braeview's decor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa, Richard and family. Thank you for writing from your heart about our accommodation and service here at Braeview. It is good to realize that our guests do notice our efforts and endeavour to make them feel comfortable and at home and to see it in writing is really something special. Thanks again, hope to be able to accommodate...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

A gorgeous, homely little self-catering cottage in a lovely location close to the seafront and to town. Stone-built and prettily decorated with a charming and private outdoor patio with BBQ. Off street parking. Cotton bedlinen. Kitchenette with all amenities, comfy beds and bunk for children. Charming and welcoming hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camilla M
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Camilla, thank you for taking time to review our establishment. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here at Braeview. It is impossible to satisfy all guests but your positive and uplifting review came at just the right time. Thanks again and we hope to see you back in the near future! Kind regards, Fanie de Jager (Owner)

Reviewed 16 January 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Braeview. We stayed in the family unit downstairs which was clean, well-equipped and spacious, surrounded by a gorgeous garden. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our hosts Fanie and Erina couldn't have been more gracious and welcoming, with lots of advice on things to see and do in the area. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Karen, thank you for making the effort to post this positive review about our accommodation at Braeview. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and would welcome you back any time in future. Thanks again! Fanie de Jager (Owner)

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We are about to return to Braeview Guest House from the UK for the seventh year in a row and would now never consider going anywhere else to stay. We spend an average of four to five weeks in the family unit and love every minute. Fanie and Erina are the best hosts and they are certainly no 'Peeping Toms'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foxglove256
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Susan, thanks for your kind words about the accommodation and service we offer here at Braeview, be assured it is highly appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you again. Fanie de Jager (Owner)

Reviewed 10 January 2017

Agree wholeheartedly with previous reviews. Worst accommodation ever. Their "fully equipped kitchen" in the house could not have had a Christmas turkey or ham in it as the stove was tiny. This place was supposed to suffice for 8 people. There was 1 COOKING KNIFE in the whole kitchen and one tiny prep surface for food. All equipment was very...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tania O
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

The PEEPING TOM accusation: The definition taken from the English Oxford Dictionary: 'A person who derives sexual pleasure from secretly watching people undressing or engaging in sexual activity'. Since I set eyes on this group I honestly had no desire whatsoever to see ANYONE of them naked. They accuse us as being Peeping Toms because, as a gesture of goodwill,...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Lovely weekend spent in Hermanus to watch the whales, had the family unit which was cosy and well laid out. Sundowners in the private garden finished off the days. Located close to the West Cliff end of the Cliff Path so easy access to the town by foot with beautiful views of the ocean on the way. Thoroughly enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave_honour
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

Hallo Dave and Karen, please accept my apologies for this late response to your welcome review of our accommodation here at Braeview. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and especially the tranquillity of the garden. It is good to see you will be back sometime, you're always welcome! Regards, Fanie de Jager (Owner)

Brackenfell, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Worst weekend !! Owners informs us that dogs are welcome - THEY ARE NOT !! NO fencing or gates , not even safe parking for your vehicle. Not safe for your dogs .Owner on his balcony peeping all the time. Every time my yorkies barked he was out on his balcony !! Advertising baberque facilities - not up to standard...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HANLIE620
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

All hospitality institutions have to endure this sort of treatment from frustrated guests now and then. And usually it is a feeble attempt, like in this case, of getting even with the hotel after having been reprimanded about unacceptable behaviour on their side. Their dogs were totally uncontrolled and were allowed to bark and snap at our staff, other guests...

Reviewed 1 September 2015

The most deceiving gallery ever! Felt very intimidated by the owners and how we were misinformed of their rules and only told about the rules when we got to the house! Old furniture with no warm running water, one has to request the water in order to get it and the supply of it is cut at random times! Comments...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anele D
Fanie d, Owner at Braeview Guest House, responded to this review

Another example of misbehaving guests trying to 'get even' with the guesthouse. In short, they were so drunk at stages that they were falling around in our flowerbeds, shouting at the top of their voices. We stick to our policy, we don't want guests of their calibre to minimize our standards here at Braeview, so we would prefer if they,...

Reviewed 22 June 2015

We were a bunch of women and we booked the whole place. There is ample space for everyone with large living areas and the house is brilliantly located with the cliffs and restaurants walking distance away. We took self catering but thought there was too little coffee, tea and sugar, but I'm sure that can easily be remedied. Definitely recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isobel K

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.2 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
662 reviews
0.0 km away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#24 of 87 in Hermanus
197 reviews
0.1 km away
Anchor's Rest
Anchor's Rest
#42 of 87 in Hermanus
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Brown Jug Guest House
Brown Jug Guest House
#23 of 87 in Hermanus
184 reviews
22.1 km away
Blue Gum Country Estate
Blue Gum Country Estate
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
278 reviews
0.3 km away
110 On Westcliff
110 On Westcliff
#14 of 42 in Hermanus
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Braeview Guest House offers two separate self catering units sleeping 6-8 and 4 people respectively,situated in a tranquil, scenic environment from where one can hear the whales breathing in the evenings and early mornings. Braeview is owner managed and only 150 metres from the famous cliff path where the whales can be seen from close range. A short stroll away from the village and restaurants, this elegant guesthouse offers the peace and quiet one needs to plan for the next day's exciting events and excursions.Braeview offers the following:•Self-catering / B&B •Continental breakfast / English breakfast on request •Fully equipped kitchen •SABC TV channels, eTV and M-Net •DSTV channels available on request•Barbeque facilities •Off-street parking •Short stroll to the village and restaurants •Stone garden cottage From June to December our coastline is visited by hundreds of Southern Right whales and during this period you will be entertained by these wonderful giants of the sea when they nurse and play with their offspring just 20 metres away! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Braeview Guest House

Address: 2 Sunnybrae Crescent | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: RM248 - RM332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Braeview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Braeview Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family Unit offers 3 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms and comfortable lounge and dining room.”
dave_honour, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
1 of 1