We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Potting Shed Accommodation

TripAdvisorUS$62*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$62*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Potting Shed Accommodation
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Potting Shed Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 450: English reviews
Zürich, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Just to spread praise. The host couple makes everything to make your stay unforgettable. Beautiful, very clean rooms and showers. Very good breakfast, which leaves nothing to be desired. Small, but very nice and clean swimming pool. Parking on the property. 👍👍👍👍👍 Price-performance 1a!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jens R
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

THANK YOU! wow - what a lovely review! :) Annamarie

Northampton, England
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This is an absolutely lovely B&B. It is immaculately clean, tastefully decorated, has very comfy beds, powerful showers and great breakfasts. On top of that there is a lounge area and a pool and seating area for guests. We received a friendly welcome from our hosts and a great recommendation from Annamarie for a place to eat. Sadly we only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HughandAnne
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Hopefully you can come back again Hugh and Anne. Thank you for your kind words. Annamarie

Scotland, UK
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Fantastic B&B, immaculate, great location and the breakfast was Devine. With we had stayed for longer. 10 min walk to the centre and a shirt 10 minute drive to the Whales Tours. Hermanus itself if beautiful, lots of nice restaurants and walks - and of course the whales if you are lucky to catch a glimpse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamousTartanArmy
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad you liked Hermanus and your stay with us. Annamarie & Dave :)

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Read about this place in lonely planet and booked in. The most beautifully decorated, modern yet quaint guest house. Staff couldn't have been nicer. A small walk to town. Rooms really spacious and decorated in great taste.. have yet to have breakfast but looks very tasty. The pool area is small but adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caitnibhaoill
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Glad you were happy with your stay. Thank you for reviewing us. Regards, Annamarie

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

enjoyed our stay ,Annamarie & Dave made us feel very welcome.The breakfast was superb which had the added touch of home made bread & jams .Refreshing ice tea on arrival ,good advice on local restaurant and activities

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericpudney
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Eric, Yes we try to give a 4 star service even though we opted for a 3 Star gradingr. Our standard rooms are a bit on the small side and for that reason we remain 3 Star. Love and care goes into many things especially the breakfast. I make the jams and lemon curd, along...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We chose pottingshed for a few reasons, one being itvwas close to family we were visiting for Christmas and second it was well priced. I was a little disappointed at the size of the room, we had a lot of luggage as we were here on a long holiday. Staff were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanneg2017
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Leanne, The deluxe rooms and studio room would have been much better for you as you stayed 5 nights. The standard rooms are much smaller and ideal for short stays. I'm glad everything else was fine for you though - and thank you for the yummy chocolate gift. :) Annamarie x

George, South Africa
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Everything was perfect - the outside patio very private which suited us very much - but the room very hot during the time we were there. The fan supplied did not quite do the trick. This would be a very nice room to stay in winter. This would be our choice in future to stay - would recommend as it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rejeannes2016
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Regards, Annamarie

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We stayed in the loft unit with the lovely private roof top deck. Decor and facility is very nice. Only conplaint... no air conditioning. Being a loft room it is inclined to get rather hot in summer. Please invest in aircon for happier guests. Also pillows need replacing.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 176janiss
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing the pillow situation to our attention. We have checked all pillows in the guest house and there were one or two that needed re-filling with uni-curl. Amazing how some wear quicker than others - they were all refilled at the same time a few months ago. A pillow is quite a "personal preference". If we over...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to spend 2 nights at the Potting Shed whilst on our journey up the garden route. The location is fantastic. Just a 10 minute walk into the main town in Hermanus, along the coastal path. The rooms were modern, clean and spacious. The breakfast was wonderful, although we did only have the pancakes (home made) every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leanne_origins
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you Leanne, Glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed the pancakes so much. :) All the best for Christmas and the new year! Annamarie & Dave

Kent
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

We only spent one night at The Potting Shed, but would have been happy to stay more. Spotlessly clean, a fantastic shower, friendly staff and owners. Our room had its own little outdoor area with table and chairs and well of use of the swimming pool. A short walk into town and the cliff too walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLou
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Hope next time you can stay longer. :) Annamarie & Dave

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.9 km away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.4 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.0 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
669 reviews
1.5 km away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 87 in Hermanus
371 reviews
0.4 km away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: RM293 - RM417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Potting Shed Accommodation staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Essex England

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Potting Shed Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, go for the suite. Worth the extra.”
FifiCapeTown, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are beautifully decorated and well maintained”
GILL2556, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Larger rooms had own private patio”
Dollop2016, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Self service accomodation”
martinL9087KX, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is close to the breakfast area, rather choose from rooms 2 onwards.”
218tammya, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$62* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates