We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Knysna Country House

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Knysna Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Knysna Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
Brasschaat, Belgium
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights with Ypie & Erik and as we travelled through the whole of south Africa and stayed in several B&B's, we can surely say that this B&B was one on it's own. Nice rooms, delicious breakfast and very friendly hosts. If you want to go to Knysna and visit the heads... don't forget to head to Knysna...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miranda T
Javea, Spain
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in mid October 2012. Excellent location, very quiet and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Ypie and Erik were very welcoming, advising on best places to eat and sights to see and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would strongly recommend staying here if you have the chance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Room 6 - deluxe room with balcony. Thoroughly enjoyable. Good directions from main road and good secure parking. Quiet area. Recommended to eat at Mo's on Rex and not disappointed - about 5 mins drive. Lovely large room, excellent bed/pillows/shower/bath robes. Fridge and safe. Delightful balcony (with awning) to sit and watch the birds. Our hosts,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROKNottingham
Palm Beach, null, Aruba
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We were staying in Knysna Coutry house for two nights. The rooms are luxury, including bathrobes, a bath and a shower. Erik and Evy are nice people who are willing to help you with everything. The breakfast was exelent and the view from the house is amazing! If we ever go to Knysna again, we wil certainly stay at knysna...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
Haarlem
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Nestled in the outskirts, on the way to The Heads, we stayed in this tranquil haven, not far from the bustling town of Knysna. The rooms are spacious, clean, private, the garden and pool wonderful, safe parking, internet... all we needed and wanted. Great value for money. But what made our stay really wonderful was the care and attention of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein W
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed one night here. We were short on time unfortunately. Reasonably easy to fing using sat nav. Just outside the town itself in a forested area. Good parking behind electric gates. Very private area. Well maintained. Free wifi, which came in handy. Ypie and Erik very helpful with things to do in the area, which is a lot. Shame we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulj75
Attard, Malta
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here on our way to Tsitsikamma Forest. We were on self drive and we found the place easily with our GPS. It was an excellent stay. We had two large comfy double rooms, both ensuite. Internet was available and parking was safe within the remote controlled gates which we had easy access to. The owners and staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GRIMS
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

I was part of the same group of four as Narmak who has posted a review below. Although Narmak has posted a very thorough review and I need not add more, I feel obliged to comment in response to the review by Willy G. We were actually staying at the b&b at the same same time as Willy G and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AliRauf85
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear AliRauf, Heartwarming review, thank you very much. We always try to go the extra mile to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay and it is indeed great to hear that you had such a (good) time with us at the Knysna Country House. Also a big thank you to Narmak for his review. We felt awkward about...

London
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Synopsis (Overall + Value) Fantastic and big rooms, lovely owners, decent breakfast, decent price, car parking and some peace and quiet. Would DEFINITELY stay here again - our best B&B along the Garden Route. Location 5-10minutes drive from Knysna central. We were initially sceptical as we like to stay close to where the action is, but this peaceful location was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Narmak
Lier, Belgium
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights with a family of 4 persons. It was already 7pm (dark) when we arrived. The welcome from Ypie was warm. Then she presented our room. For us, this was a disaster to experience. The refrigerator was off because everything in it was frozen. The ice was melting and inside there was rust. The carpet looked dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Willy G
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear Willie, Thank you for taking the effort to write a review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, but do however need to rectify a few things. We, our staff, always clean every room every day during people’s stay (except our self-catering unit, which gets serviced twice a week) and obviously when guests leave, a full cleaning is done...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
14.1 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.0 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#8 of 30 in Knysna
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
The St. James of Knysna
5.8 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.0 km away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: RM271 - RM472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knysna Country House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East Sussex, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with balcony facing directly to the view will be great, but it may offred at higher price”
 of 5 bubbles limwiehan, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“standard rooms are noisy - you hear every single move of the other room next door.”
 of 5 bubbles Mada1234, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main part.”
 of 5 bubbles Liza_Blackman, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Best views will be rooms 5 and up!”
 of 5 bubbles Anneke_botha, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Go for the luxury rooms, the little extra is so worth the view.”
 of 5 bubbles IndigoSoulStar, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay