We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Knysna Country House

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Knysna Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Knysna Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed one night here. We were short on time unfortunately. Reasonably easy to fing using sat nav. Just outside the town itself in a forested area. Good parking behind electric gates. Very private area. Well maintained. Free wifi, which came in handy. Ypie and Erik very helpful with things to do in the area, which is a lot. Shame we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paulj75
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here on our way to Tsitsikamma Forest. We were on self drive and we found the place easily with our GPS. It was an excellent stay. We had two large comfy double rooms, both ensuite. Internet was available and parking was safe within the remote controlled gates which we had easy access to. The owners and staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank GRIMS
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

I was part of the same group of four as Narmak who has posted a review below. Although Narmak has posted a very thorough review and I need not add more, I feel obliged to comment in response to the review by Willy G. We were actually staying at the b&b at the same same time as Willy G and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AliRauf85
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear AliRauf, Heartwarming review, thank you very much. We always try to go the extra mile to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay and it is indeed great to hear that you had such a (good) time with us at the Knysna Country House. Also a big thank you to Narmak for his review. We felt awkward about... More 

London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Synopsis (Overall + Value) Fantastic and big rooms, lovely owners, decent breakfast, decent price, car parking and some peace and quiet. Would DEFINITELY stay here again - our best B&B along the Garden Route. Location 5-10minutes drive from Knysna central. We were initially sceptical as we like to stay close to where the action is, but this peaceful location was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Narmak
Lier, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights with a family of 4 persons. It was already 7pm (dark) when we arrived. The welcome from Ypie was warm. Then she presented our room. For us, this was a disaster to experience. The refrigerator was off because everything in it was frozen. The ice was melting and inside there was rust. The carpet looked dirty... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Willy G
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear Willie, Thank you for taking the effort to write a review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, but do however need to rectify a few things. We, our staff, always clean every room every day during people’s stay (except our self-catering unit, which gets serviced twice a week) and obviously when guests leave, a full cleaning is done... More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just one night, we stumbled across it after wanting to upgrade from the backpackers we had been frequenting down the garden route. It was such a great choice, firstly arriving with no booking we were met with friendly smiles by the husband and shown to a top a lovely room with huge ensuite... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dale F
Arese, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the family room (2 adults + 2 kids). The position is quite apart of the town close to the eastern head of Knysna. The apartment is a bit worn by use. The perception is that the cottage is a better solution instead of apartments. The garden is wide and the place is very quiet. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 685Giorgio1964
knysnacountryhouse, Owner at Knysna Country House, responded to this review

Dear Gorgio, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and thank you for your kind words of us being helpful. You stayed in our self catering unit and not in the family unit. You might find it a bit worn by use, but we would like to know what was worn. The beds, the carpets, the TV, the kitchen... More 

Stuttgart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

- Very friendly and helpful hosts - Delicous breakfast - Pleasant rooms - Lot's of Insider-tips around the place - Parking lot in front of the house - Wunderful view over the laguna --> enjoyable, recreative stay --> highly recommendable

Helpful?
2 Thank Lausbub_68
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We did a family tour ( 2 adults and 2 boys 12 and 15 years ) through the East part of South Africa in July this year. The accomodation was pre-booked by our travel agency and we were lucky to have a 2 night stay in the Knysna Country House. A friendly staff and excellent accomodation. We had a family... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald H
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

If you are stopping over in Knysna then the Knsya Country House is definetly the place! We were a travelling party of 4 (2 adults and 2 children 13 and 15) stayed in the Family room (2 bedrooms) for 3 nights enroute to Addo on the Garden Route. The guesthouse is very well kept and located in a very safe... More 

Helpful?
Thank jaybeegee66

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
14.1 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
6.7 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
7.0 km away
Knysna Hollow Country Estate
1.0 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: RM271 - RM462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knysna Country House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East Sussex, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Knysna Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with balcony facing directly to the view will be great, but it may offred at higher price”
 of 5 bubbles limwiehan, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“standard rooms are noisy - you hear every single move of the other room next door.”
 of 5 bubbles Mada1234, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main part.”
 of 5 bubbles Liza_Blackman, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Best views will be rooms 5 and up!”
 of 5 bubbles Anneke_botha, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Go for the luxury rooms, the little extra is so worth the view.”
 of 5 bubbles IndigoSoulStar, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay