We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Show Prices
#10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

781 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 642: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A lovely hotel in a lovely location right on the Quays and within easy walking distance of several restaurants. We had a very nice room right next to Reception. My one disappointment was that the pool had been heated and was like a hot bath to get into, not at all refreshing. With heat like we had, a heated pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petra J
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Petra J Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. We highly value GUEST feedback and we were delighted to receive your additional positive feedback. Thank you for taking the time once again and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Paul Fielder General Manager

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in September 2013 for tow nights. Very nice hotel, centre location, excellent breakfast and service. Always fully booked during the Karoo to Coast race time, make sure you book in advance to avoid disappointment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rudineL
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Rudinelouw, Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your positive feedback. We truly value GUEST feedback and appreciate you taking the time to leave your comment regarding your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is perfectly located, central and right on the quays in Knynsa. Lots of restaurant choice very close by. The staff were very friendly and accommodated all my needs. My room was very comfortable, well maintained and a nice view as it overlooked the marina. The breakfast is nice. Great selection and eggs to your liking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuzzardT
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear BuzzardT, Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. We are delighted to receive your positive feedback regarding the friendliness of the staff and I will be sure to share your comments with the TEAM. GUEST feedback is essential to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location and the room was good. The bed was huge and we had a writing desk in the room, but unfortunately the bathroom tap was not fixed properly and needs attention. Staying here, you are right next to a great selection of restaurants on the waterfront complex. The breakfast was good and included macadamia...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteMar247
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear SteMar247 Thank you for your online review via TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays and to hearing from you again! Best regards, Paul Fielder General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for three nights. Secure parking (at extra cost) in ideal location and great buffet breakfast. Not a boutique property and you can expect coach groups, but no complaints. Spacious and well-appointed room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalrusOfHove
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear WalrusOfHove Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you could find no complaints to add to your review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards...

Uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at this Hotel for 3 nights with the Titan group and have had a very bad first night coughing! I wasn't quite sure why I woke up a few times during the night with a tickle in my throat and continuous coughing until I looked across at the large very noisy Air Con unit next to the patio doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank palmsprings51
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear palmsprings51 As a valued GUEST, we appreciate you reporting this issue to us during your stay. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused due to the air-conditioning unit in your room. As we strive to deliver a flawless GUEST experience, we are delighted that the issue now seems resolved and that you have had better sleep at night...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and 4days. Received a warm welcome at reception. Found our room to be very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay here because our room was facing the lagoon and so we had the perfect sunset views. Staff were always ready to help us with our queries. They don't serve lunch or dinner but give the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuene
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Chuene Thank you for your review via TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that we were able to meet all your expectations during your stay, as this is what we duly strive for with each of our GUESTS. Thank you for mentioning the sight of the rat - we have a very good pest...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. The initial impressions were of a light and airy hotel an a friendly welcome. The interior has been designed as the interior of an ocean liner Room overlooked the Marina and was clean and a good size. Some rooms have balconies others Juliette balconies There were several groups staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GMB46
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear GMB46, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. As we strive to deliver the best GUEST experience, we are delighted to learn that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay, I will be sure to share your comments with my Team. Your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel with a group, chosen for its great location, close to a number of good golf courses, easy walking to good restaurants, nice rooms and views overlooking the marina. However, what made my stay here special was the extraordinary kindness and thoughtfulness of the Manager. I fell in the street on my day off, causing my knee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N7717PLsue
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear N7717PLsue GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels by Marriott is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete an online review, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was comfortable. We sent a few bits for laundering, had to make thee phone calls before it was even picked up and then had to collect it from reception the following evening as it had not been returned to our room. No apology or anything. Did not have the personal touch of many places that we stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvette K
GeneralManagerKnysna, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays, responded to this review

Dear Yvette K, Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for not...

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.4 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
748 reviews
9.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.1 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The St. James of Knysna
2.5 km away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
1.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the best hotel locations in South Africa, the Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays enjoys a spectacular perspective of the popular coastal town of Knysna. The hotel is nestled in the heart of the Garden Route and offers you a unique GUEST experience with premium accommodation accentuated with scenic beauty and natural surrounds. Renowned as the perfect holiday destination, the Protea Hotel Knysna Quays is set on the Knysna Quays Waterfront with the lagoon at your doorstep. This stylish property is suited to both leisure and business travellers alike with sheer comfort assured. Make the most of the wide array of choice facilities at Protea Hotel Knysna Quays, including a breakfast restaurant, a heated outdoor swimming pool, free internet service, conference facilities and a wellness therapist for rejuvenating massages and aromatherapy treatments. A unique dining experience is promised for every meal with four restaurants available on the Knysna Quays Waterfront where guests can sign the meal charges to their room account and settle the charge upon departure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays

Address: Waterfront Drive, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: RM448 - RM993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Family Hotel in Knysna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Sandton, South Africa
3 months ago
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
22 days ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room overlooking Marina”
 of 5 bubbles GMB46, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one overlooking the harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles CID25, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't book a room over the smoking room”
 of 5 bubbles steveandsuedring, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room over viewing the quayl”
 of 5 bubbles chrisjhirst, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Oversee pool area”
 of 5 bubbles 571AlanC571, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5