We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belvidere Manor

Show Prices
#18 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belvidere Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of Belvidere Manor
 Click to rate
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed with my wife and two sister-in-laws for 3 nights in February, in a two bedroom cottage. It was definitely not four star, utilitarian at best - décor dull and dowdy One bedroom was totally unsuitable for adults, small, with no headboards, no dressing table, no luggage rack, no safe. The cottage was in very poor condition - bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 853chasp
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This family owned hotel offers guests a sublime setting on the Western Head about a 10 minute drive from the Waterfront area and right on the lagoon. The cottages are very private and comfortable and a short stroll from the Manor House, The Bell pub and the dock. There are nice walks and it's very safe although the pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eckingtonrooms
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very poor accommodation and most definitely not 4*. Basic is an understatement. Very dated, bathrooms and kitchen awful, rooms dirty with stained carpets, mould in bathrooms and hairs everywhere. Also smelt horrible (think it was lavender but smelt like an old peoples home). We booked for 3 nights but only managed 1 (not sure how but we had no choice)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

We were sorry not to have had the opportunity to discuss this with you personally, as we take pride in our standards of service and accommodation, and were sorry you were disappointed. We have been in consultation with your travel agent and have reached an amicable understanding.

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. It's more like a small village. Lovely cottages or houses set in beautiful grounds with stunning views over the lagoon. We had a 2 bedroom cottage with 2 bathrooms, sitting room, dining room & kitchen. You could live there. Great "village" pub that serves good food & drink. Staff are very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you Brian for your positive review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do feel that our staff are one of our greatest assets, and glad you enjoyed your interaction with them.

henley in arden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we have now stayed here for over 15 years and we really enjoy staying at one of the lagoon cottages which we book every year. The cottages are really well appointed and have self catering facilities and this is really an idyllic area and we always enjoy breakfasts at the manor and occasional evening meals at the irish pub there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaeldufty
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review Mr Dufty, and we look forward to seeing you again in 2018!

Saint-Raphael, France
Reviewed 7 February 2017

A very nice hotel with a great view on the lagoon and the mountains surrounding it. Informal but stylish. The restaurant is just cozy inside and outside when the weather is nice, very relaxing. The food is tasty and well prepared. On the premises is also the "Bell Tower", a typical English pub where they also serve simple dishes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lambert S
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again one day.

Knusford
Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was our second trip to Belvedere Manor. We stayed in a Garden room which was lovely but unfortunately there was building work going on in properties to the right and left of us. As we love the peace and quiet of Belvidere Manor this somewhat spoiled the experience. However, the mark of good customer service is how problems are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, and I'm glad we were able to solve your noise problems. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Belvidere Manor in the future.

eastern england
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Belvedere Manor set above the lagoon opposite Knysna, away from the bright lights and music. The house sits at the head of a sloping lawn looking out over the lagoon and down each side are the two bedroomed deluxe cottages, some of which are individually owned. The cottages are delightful, well appointed and offer some privacy. The bedrooms have their...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinkeastern
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your extensive and positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your time at Belvidere Manor. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We had a 3 bed chalet for the 2 of us which was a nice surprise. It was great to have a living room to sit it rather than a bedroom. We had an ensuite bathroom but as I'm not a fan of a shower in the bath used the separate shower room (sorry cleaners) We ate in the Bell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelaslongasican
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, and your recommendations. It is much appreciated, and we do hope to see you again here in the future!

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We spent two nights in Room 12 this week. We had stayed at the hotel before some years ago so it was good to come back for a friends 70th birthday party. The room (or rather the chalet) in which we stayed was well furnished and comfortable if somewhat dated in style. My wife stubbed her toe quite badly on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BathUKMan
Wannatravelfar, General Manager at Belvidere Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and the birthday party. We do hope to see you again in the future.

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.8 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
9.0 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
747 reviews
4.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The St. James of Knysna
4.7 km away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 30 in Knysna
538 reviews
3.5 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Knysna's lagoon, historic Belvidere Manor built in 1849, is situated in landscaped gardens and offers spacious accommodation in 28 serviced cottages, each with comfortable lounge, a full kitchen and 1, 2 or 3 en-suite double bedrooms. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace of Belvidere House, then relax poolside, take a boat trip, walk forest trails or pristine beaches, all a short drive away. Savour dinner at Caroline's bistro in Belvidere House, or hearty pub meals at The Bell Tavern, voted a Garden Route "Culinary legend". We offer preferential golf rates at Simola & Pezula clubs and a pretty garden wedding venue for up to 60 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belvidere Manor

Address: Lower Duthie Drive | Belvidere Estate, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: RM651 - RM1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvidere Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belvidere Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Knysna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Belvidere Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get written confirmation that cottage has been recently renovated - judging by other comments, standards vary hugely.”
 of 5 bubbles 853chasp, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“cottage overlooking the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles michaeldufty, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just ask the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles 297lamberts, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“cottage 8 is lovely and secluded”
 of 5 bubbles A7109QBchrism, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 21 has a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles 71dianeh, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5