We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Under Milkwood Chalets

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Under Milkwood Chalets
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Under Milkwood Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Showing 255: English reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Nice chalets, three minutes walk from the two heads cafe and a few minutes drive from the city. The chalet was very well organized, clean, well equipped and had a nice patio with a view to the lagoon (and a personal grill). It was actually almost to big and equipped for us and could easily host a small family :...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aviad O
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Under milk wood is a beautifully located on the water. Lovely wooden cabins that are extremely welcoming. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend it. Just a stones throw from the knysna heads which is a must see!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris M
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I stayed at the Under the milk wood chalets - wood cabin houses- for 2 nights this September. It's the holidays in south Africa so a lot of local tourists but I didn't feel the crowd. The chalets are right at the beach with breath-taking views. I didn't get a chalet with a great view- but I just needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Muthanje R
ClarySKnysna, Manager at Under Milkwood Chalets, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the conference. Thank you for your feedback. We are paying attention to it. Kindest regards.

Manchester
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Spent 3 nights in a waterside chalet. The chalets are quite large and well equipped especially the kitchen area. We used to bbq once which was then cleaned for us the next morning. Check in/out was quick and efficient and reception were very helpful. The view across the lagoon was beautiful. Unfortunately we did not have good weather so couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chalmers16
ClarySKnysna, Manager at Under Milkwood Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and also for your feedback. We do appreciate it.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We arrived here late at night because of problems with our flight, and so the view from our waterside chalet the next morning were an incredibly lovely surprise. The chalets are rustic and lovely. The kitchen was well equipped and the beds very comfy. We had a little deck overlooking the water which was a lovely place to sit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicola_bish
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

A place where I will be able to stay for months and still feel at home. Clean, fully equipped with quality cookware, very cumfy bed and clean. A personal touch to have the lights left on as we were arriving late. All arrangements were made and communicated for the keys. A 5-start service for a 5 star stay. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edward622
ClarySKnysna, Manager at Under Milkwood Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards.

mallorca
Reviewed 22 August 2016

LOVE our stay in very nice modern decor and confortable apartment IT s on one of the KNYSNA heads,not inthe center of town but in a very nice quiet place. The house are wooden and have a place outside to do barvacue. beds very confortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3713Mallorca
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Family of four staying in the bottom chalet, right on the waterfront. Able to walk down the steps from the terrace onto the beach. Great to have free use of the kayaks. The chalet was extremely comfortable and even though it was quite cold, the chalet was nice and cosy. Parking could have been a little tricky but fortunately it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KeithAddis1966
Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We spent a couple of days at Under Milkwood as part of our winter holiday - we picked them based on their Tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We had a beautiful view of the lagoon, the chalets are well kitted out(although some braai tongs would have been great), the rooms are really comfortable and the beds are great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JanoDuToit
ClarySKnysna, Manager at Under Milkwood Chalets, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us. Kindest regards.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We always enjoy being at Undermilkwood. The staff are fantastic as are the chalets.The setting at Knysna Heads is beautiful. No complaints at all. Wiffi would be a huge advantage especially to those people who needed to work as well as relax. Thank you to you all of you that make our family holidays so special. .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lbcollings
ClarySKnysna, Manager at Under Milkwood Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to have you here. Kind regards.

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.9 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 29 in Knysna
693 reviews
12.5 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
5.7 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.4 km away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#5 of 127 in Knysna
458 reviews
23.9 km away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 19 in Sedgefield
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Under Milkwood Chalets

Address: 13 George Rex Drive | The Heads, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Price Range: RM325 - RM668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Under Milkwood Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Under Milkwood Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Under Milkwood Chalets staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Under Milkwood Chalets staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look for Chalets on the sea front”
 of 5 bubbles shlomih, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay extra for lakeside chalets.”
 of 5 bubbles Chalmers16, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Waterfront chalets are gorgeous.”
 of 5 bubbles nicola_bish, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for the waterfront ones - direct access to the beach”
  • View from the chalet terrace
  • View from terrace with sun shining
  • View from the terrace
 of 5 bubbles KeithAddis1966, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“First choice lagoon cabins.... then hilltop.... Middle cabins an absolute last choice if you intend to have a view of the lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles 27allenb, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay