We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Violet

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
African Violet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for African Violet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Cape Town
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I have now stayed with Jenni and Rob several times - in practically all of their apartments bar one I think! All rooms are tastefully decorated and have everything you could need. Being dog friendly it is a great base for when I visit Cape Town. Jenni and Rob are very welcoming hosts and I can thoroughly recommend African Violet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connectsa
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 23 March 2015 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the guest house when we went to Cape Town this past weekend. The room was nice, but definitely not up to 4 star standards in our opinion. Absolutely no cleaning of room all weekend, which surely should come part and parcel with a 4 star place. Not even once did they come and put in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rialize12345
JenniStewart, Owner at African Violet, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were under the impression that the apartments at African Violet were serviced. We do offer daily service at a fee. Some of our guests request it. We generally change towels after 3 to 4 days, but are always happy to provide fresh towels on request. I wish you had asked. We do appreciate your feedback.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2015

I stayed in African Violet last year and could not wait to return. Having only left a week ago, I fully recommend staying in any of the rooms on offer as they are all clean, spacious with nice finishing touches. Jennie & Rob are always very helpful and everyone who works there are all very friendly. The rooms have amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther V
St. Thomas
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Everything you'd want in a place to stay. We were doing seal and shark dives in false bay and also wanted to explore the vineyards and cape town. We picked African Violet because its pretty central to all that we wanted to do. Throughout our stay we realized that IT'S VERY central to everything. Not really more than a 30...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adrian P
Stockholm
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We recently stayed here for the second time. We love the place. We booked the Two-Bedroom Loft Suite and we like it because it is light and modern and has an aircon in the sitting room. We also stayed in the Terrace Suite which has a lovely outdoor setting and a beautiful view. The owners are very nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AroundTheWorld000
Belgium
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We stayed 2 times 4 nights in African Violet last month. First time was in the Garden Studio, second time in the Design Studio. The first one is very bright while the other one has only one window and thus much darker. Terraces are too small (but that's a personal opinion). Both studios are very well equipped. Rob and Jennifer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrancineS012015
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2015

My husband, kids and I stayed in the garden suite of the African Violet for nine days at the beginning of January. We found the suite to be very comfortable with nice linen and bath towels. The suite is tastefully furnished and is well equipped. We paid for a daily cleaning service which was to our satisfaction. African Violet has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mfjdesousa
Competa, Spain
Reviewed 22 January 2015

After almost 4 weeks traveling we booked the studio for our last stop for 5 nights and this was by far the worst one in beautiful SA.We only stayed 2 nights and booked elsewhere. The whole place gives you an claustrophobic feeling, the room is narrow and sad, no aircon but a little noisy fan and no windows to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CulininariaBas
JenniStewart, Owner at African Violet, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do value feedback. African Violet endeavours for all of the guests to have a positive experience, but realise we can’t please everybody all the time. The Design Studio is the most affordable apartment at African Violet, and the affordable rate reflects that – R325 per person per night. Your money was refunded for the...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2015

My partner and I went to Cape Town for the first time and Jenni from African Violet made our stay a great experience! Her kindness and excellent service elevated our time in Cape Town. Best accomodation for first time Cape Town visitors!! We will definitely be going back to African Violet!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gali2015
Bath
Reviewed 19 December 2014

We stayed at African Violet for three nights in December. The room was spacious, well appointed and tastefully decorated. The Guesthouse is well located although you'll definitely need a car, and amenities such as a shopping mall are near by. The view from our balcony is great! A special mention has to go to Jenni, the land lady who was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian M

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordhoek
24.3 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,181 reviews
21.8 km away
Alta Bay
Alta Bay
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
5.3 km away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
African Queen
African Queen
#1 of 11 in Noordhoek
176 reviews
3.5 km away
Goose Green Lodge
Goose Green Lodge
#2 of 11 in Noordhoek
95 reviews
4.7 km away
De Noordhoek Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer accommodation in five beautiful, fully equipped self-catering luxury suites, set high up against the mountain overlooking Noordhoek Valley to the Atlantic Ocean. Tasteful contemporary African decor in each apartment. Sun drenched garden and rock pool. Quiet neighborhood. Centrally situated gives easy access to around Cape Town and the south peninsula. Near to Cape Point, penguins, Table Mountain, beaches, local shops, bank, top restaurants. Accommodate groups of 2 to 12 people. Quality beds and linen. DSTV. Free Wi-Fi. Each apartment has beautiful views and its own private outdoor area. Weber-braai available. Perfect for couples, families or family re-unions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Violet

Address: 12 Mauritius Crescent | Capri,, Noordhoek 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Noordhoek
Price Range: RM244 - RM434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Violet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your African Violet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from African Violet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The design studio does not have its own pool but if you walk down stairs you can use the communal pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles Raybelline, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Terrace suite décor is lovely and the pool is just stunning!!!”
  • View at night - Terrace Suite
  • Bathroom - terrace suite
  • Kitchen area - terrace suite
  • Living area - terrace suite
 of 5 bubbles I9492QVjessicac, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room with the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles andre547, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Any of there rooms is to die for because the view is awesome from all angles”
 of 5 bubbles kashiefaa, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“views, child friendly, warm and clean”
 of 5 bubbles onelife-livenow, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5