We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Expedia.comUS$137*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

857 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 669: English reviews
Start your review of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to the Asara as we fell in love with it on our first visit in 2015 and yet again it did not let us down. The views from the room are simply stunning and the refurbishment of our room was lovely. We ate in Sansibar on both evenings and the food was of an exceptional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belinda C, Many thanks for the return visit to Asara and for the lovely review (and excellent heading!), we're delighted to hear that visit no: 2 was such a success. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again when you are next in SA, and that you'll include a dinner at our destination restaurant, mise en place,...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our fifth visit. We reserved in September 2016 for our stay March 2017. Prices have risen sharply since our last stay due, we are told, to 'new and exciting refurbishments'. We asked for room 105 (again) and whilst not confirmed ahead of our visit - we were allocated 105 for which we were delighted. However we were informed that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROKNottingham
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ROKNottingham , Many thanks for your visit no:5 to Asara, and for the kind review. We're very glad to hear that it was once again a delightful stay, and that you experienced excellent service while with us, as we would expect. The question of pricing and value for money is extremely important to us. Our prices have risen over...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I enjoyed two nights at Asara Wine Estate. The rooms are large and clean, the views are incredible and the food and wine were fantastic. Highly, highly recommend. Hope to return in thefuture.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_JAllan
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria_JAllan, Thank-you for the visit to Asara, kind review - and most emphatic recommendation! We very much appreciate your generous comments, and we too hope you will be back at Asara again in the (not-too-distant) future. Many thanks and kind regards, Asara Hotel Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As i told earlier every thing is perfect You can not enter without contacting the guard at the entrance, which make you feel safe There is a free parking area The breakfast is gorgeous ! You start your day with a very relaxing view ! The only problem that we safe that we asked for a late checkout ! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alia A
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alia A, Thank-you for the visit to Asara and for the kind review, we're delighted to hear that everything you experienced at Asara, up to check-out, was perfect. We did indeed, as you say, agree to your request for a late check-out, but unfortunately this was not properly noted at our front desk, which resulted in some temporary confusion...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tasting room is very well set out with a gorgeous veiw of the cellar. The location is stunning. The sommelier conducted an average tasting: not the most informative tasting experience we have had to date. We were disappointed that our tasting fee was not waivered when we bought wine, as is customary at other farms

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carla G
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carla G, Thank-you for the visit to our tasting room, and for the kind remarks. We do in fact waive the tasting fee for visitors who buy wine - it's a free tasting for every R300 worth of wine purchased. We have lots of new wines coming out soon, so we hope you'll be back to taste them and...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in on route. My American partner and the other director from USA are Gin enthusiasts. I'm observing the trend. We arrived just after 11am on Sunday. Security felt that I hadn't parked my car exactly straight, so I was politely asked to reverse and park parallel (I was convinced that I was already parallel, embarrassing a client, seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalterCPT
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WalterCPT, Thank-you for the visit to our Sansibar Gin Lounge and for the review, we're glad to hear that you were impressed by the selection of gins - which is now at 280 beautifully crafted gins and counting - and that you found the service and setting impeccable. We understand that it must have been irritating to have to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to visit Asara for our 15th wedding anniversary, and decided on a 4 night stay in a Executive de lux room in the Vineyard Wing. We had beautiful views of the vineyard,mountains and rose garden. The most spacious hotel room we've ever had, very comfortable king size bed, beautiful bathroom with a free standing bath, shower, toilet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 209ritas
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 209ritas, Many thanks for the kind review and excellent heading - we agree that Asara has the best views in Stellenbosch, and in this part of the world that's really saying something! Our congratulations to you on your 15th wedding anniversary, it's great to hear that Asara provided a happy venue for celebrating that wonderful milestone. We have also...

Staffordshire,England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfection, one of my favourite places in the world. First visited here Boxing Day December 2015 when we met friends from Cape Town for dinner on the terrace, what followed was a wonderful boozy long day spent eating and drinking copious amounts of their White Cab wine. Instantly we were hooked with the place. The views are stunning and it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRowanTraveller
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BRowanTraveller, Many thanks for all the visits to Asara, and for the fantastic review. We're delighted to hear that you've had such good times with us, and that you've made some wonderful memories here. You couldn't really say better than that, but we're also delighted of course to receive such high praise for mise en place, and to hear...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was so looking forward to Asara's Vineyard Stay that I was afraid it might disappoint. And I must say, it was close to being Wonderful! Landscape Upon entering its gate, you'll be led on a picturesque long driveway laced with beautiful vines and trees. Colors of red, auburn, gold and green on hills warmed the dreamy blue sky. Receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelPeeker
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravelPeeker, Many thanks for the detailed review of your visit to Asara, we appreciate all the kind remarks but are sorry to hear that your experience was only 'close to wonderful'. We do agree completely with your advice that views are of paramount importance when considering accommodation in Stellenbosch, and are glad to hear that you had fun at...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful fine dining experience at Mise en Place restaurant. Beautiful setting overlooking a dam with Stellenbosch mountains in the background. Presentation was beautiful. All the elements were perfectly prepared with lovely balance of flavours. I particularly enjoyed the black pudding! Good value for money as well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Stell
AsaraWineandHotel, Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shaun_Stell, Many thanks for the visit to mise en place and kind review, we're delighted to hear that it was a wonderful dining experience all-round. And thank-you also for mentioning the important value for money aspect. The new winter menu will be available soon (within two weeks), and we hope you'll be back to give it a look. Kind...

581 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (536)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (230)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.6 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,767 reviews
7.8 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
627 reviews
4.9 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
573 reviews
6.7 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
362 reviews
5.0 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Asara is a 5-star hotel, set on a 180-hectare wine estate, in the heart of the Cape Winelands. The hotel offers warm hospitality, luxury accommodation, and the finest in food and wines - at highly competitive rates. A major feature of the hotel is its unique location on the Polkadraai Hills just outside of Stellenbosch, which affords stunning views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains, and creates a relaxed, get-away atmosphere. Asara is situated just 4kms from Stellenbosch and 25kms from Cape Town International Airport, making it ideal as a base from which to discover and explore the fabulous Cape Winelands, and further afield in the Western Cape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM622 - RM1,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Asara Wine Estate & Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
28 days ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Asara Wine Estate & Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room overlooking the lake, keeps you viewing all day!”
410margaretw, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view of the vineyards / mountains”
Robza, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with balcony facing wineland and not one that opens onto a dark, dingy courtyward.”
, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 209 had a spiral staircase to bathroom - wonderful”
alison17, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are close to everything”
Plumptous, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$137* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$138
TravelocityUS$137
Agoda.comUS$137
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates