We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

698 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 631: English reviews
Start your review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Geneva
Reviewed yesterday NEW

charming and comfortable, but what makes this place tick is seamless service that is never overbearing or in your face. Never missed a beat. Go and be surprised. An example: my bag left in the bar at night: they didn't wake me up, they had the presence of mind to label it Room 11 and leave it at the desk....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewcrosby
Bangui, Central African Republic
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms are of a high standard. I had the opportunity of staying both in the original rooms and renovated ones and both are well maintained. The staff are well trained and very professional. The staff are client-oriented and show flexibility in meeting the needs of clients e.g. staff in the restaurant agreed to serve me and my guests though...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelagawu
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was really central in Stellenbosch so easy to stroll around and explore. Some communal areas of the hotel were a little small but this added to the charm. Our room (201) was well positioned and equipped and our peaceful balcony area overlooked the pool. Parking was provided which is a 'must' as public street- parking is hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Coopmanhuijs for 2 nights. Went on TripAdvisor to choose the best hotel in Stellenbosch according to the reviews, it was my husbands graduation and wanted to make it a special occasion. When we got there no one helped to carry our bags into the reception apparently the porter was on a tea break. I had psyched myself...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarisai b
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear tarisai b Following your recent stay with us at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, I wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It is due to guest feedback that we are able to rectify any shortcomings and constantly improve the service we offer to our guests. It pained us to learn that...

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for the second time in march 2017 and the stay was excellent complimented by a first class dinner at helenas. Location is top notch as is the service and the cleanliness of the rooms whilst breakfast is always a treat in the courtyard. Only slight con, which is really a function of the great...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen_dalton
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear stephen_dalton, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our top notch location, service, cleanliness of the rooms encourages us...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were only in stellenbosch for one night sadly, so we didn't get to take advantage of all the hotel offers. Overall immaculate room (with amazing bathroom/shower- so nice after weeks of travel), very friendly staff and such a beautiful hotel. Prime location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Heather O, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your lovely comments on our immaculate room with the amazing bathroom and shower, friendly staff and the prime location we host. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is situated right among the best restaurants, coffee shops and pubs in Stellenbosch. The hotel has a lovely restaurant and serves a beautiful breakfast with a wide spread. The rooms are lovely although not very spacious. Most rooms are upstairs and the lift is quite slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MES196
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MES196, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our perfect location, the lovely in-house restaurant and beautiful rooms. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would recommend overall. Only issue is we like a lazy morning and were woke early by hotel setting up for the day - so advice to go but avoid ground floor room by the pool. Staff were really polite. Really good help in valeting car and in general.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Graeme H, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our central location and great staff. We value all our...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is based on two stays - in August and again in December 2016. The Coopmanhuijs hotel is in a beautiful heritage building which dates back to the 18th century. Because of this, the bedrooms are very small by 5 star standards (it may, in fact, be a bit misleading to call this a 5-star hotel). However, the imported...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramack
Cape Town
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were towards the end of our Cape adventure and really enjoyed our one night stay over in this hotel. Fabulous service and everyone so attentive. So well situated to walk and explore the centre. The only point I would warn first time travelers to Stellenbosch is the difficulty finding car park space. Hotels however do have a designated drop...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iainlreid1
Marketing_and, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear iainlreid1, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your lovely comments on our fabulous and attentive service. We value all our guests' feedback as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving our product and service offering. Thank you for sharing your...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
348 reviews
3.0 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
589 reviews
0.1 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,655 reviews
4.9 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
831 reviews
0.0 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a heated pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“201 was not street side, so quieter, and overlooked pool. Pleasant private furnished balcony. would choose it again.”
 of 5 bubbles lindadM3044WU, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor room if you do not like steps. Otherwise the rooms overlooking the pool with the verandas are really nice.”
 of 5 bubbles MES196, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“As above - avoid by pool. ”
 of 5 bubbles 298graemeh, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the upper floor of the main building - rooms 2, 3 & 4 - offer a lovely view over the street”
 of 5 bubbles Ramack, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“NOT next to the lift.”
 of 5 bubbles mrcmrc2, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5