We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 613: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has probably the best location in Stellenbosch -- steps away from numerous restaurants and shops while only a ten minute drive from some of the nearest wineries. I stayed with a friend in two separate rooms, both of which were well appointed and well cared for. I was in room 6 which included a small balcony. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenneth B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely little hotel situated in the very centre of this attractive town. Service was excellent and very friendly throughout the hotel and deserves its five star rating. Room was adequate in size and well appointed.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael B
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michael B, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our lovely little hotel situated in the very center of...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful town with excellent restaurants and shops. Pool area and common rooms were excellent. Staff were very attentive and food was good. Room however was a total disappointment with no view at all and ridiculously small. Three of the staff admitted it was a poor room for a five star and one actually said that room number 1 should not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard P
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Richard P, Thank you for your review. Kindly note that your review is currently being disputed based on the following reasons: 1. Did not physically stay at the Hotel. 2. Three staff members unjustifiably admitting to the statements made. 3. Misinformation provided by your Travel Booker/Agent for the Petite room booked on your behalf. We are working closely with...

Leek
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a holiday in South Africa and stayed at this hotel last few days of our trip . It is a lovely hotel excellent location with parking . The food is extremely high standard , the rooms well equipped . The staff are exceptional nothing is too much trouble and go out of their way to make your...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suewX4051AV
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear suewX4051AV, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your lovely comments on our lovely hotel, extremely high standard of food, well equipped rooms that we carry and our exceptional staff members. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience...

Malalane, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was very comfortable, 100 % cotton sheets which is very important for us ! Quiet yet the position of this beautiful Boutique Hotel is right in the middle of all the action in the beautiful old centre of Stellenbosch. Unfortunately we did not eat at Helena's restaurant, choosing rather to walk about in town and eat out. However...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farmer214
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Farmer214, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your lovely comments on our room being very comfortable and 100 % cotton sheets, which made your sleep pleasant. We are glad to learn that our staff treated you with the most respect. Your...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous place to stay in central Stellenbosch ! Helpful, friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Great breakfast and high end cuisine at the hotel's restaurant Helena. Cosy, clean rooms. You will not be disappointed

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank simsal
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear simsal, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our cozy, clean rooms, great breakfast and helpful staff encourages us....

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent service makes all the difference and although we had some room issues such a friendly staff and excellent service we've received made our vacation unforgettable. We've booked a Standard Double Room (located downstairs) first. However when we've arrived, we really didn't like the size of it and eventually we've changed it to the bigger one (upstairs). Must admit that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelot2day
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The welcome was friendly and organised, the room was delightful and breakfast was a treat. It is very centrally situated and worth the trip. I would recommend hotel this to any traveller to Stellenbosch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestvigK
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear WestvigK, Thank you for sharing your experience at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your welcome friendly, an elegant boutique and appreciated our breakfast treat and delightful clean rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Management

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 14 January 2017

First class quality and service in every aspect. Could not be better! We stayed just one night but this was without any doubt one of the best boutique hotel we ever stayed in. Situated in the very best area in Stellenbosch. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 421amazon
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 421amazon, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our quality and service is highly appreciated. We value all our...

Liverpool
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We stayed here in January 2017 as a couple and it is impossible to find any fault at all. The location is great for exploring Stellenbosch and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was lovely, immaculately clean and very comfortable. We stayed in several hotels on our trip throughout Cape Town and the wineries and this was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnO309
Marketing_and, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JohnO309, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa and that we were able to cater for all your needs you desired. Your kind words and compliments on our service delivery, clean and comfortable rooms inspire us to create...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
329 reviews
8.3 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,601 reviews
3.0 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
685 reviews
4.9 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
811 reviews
0.0 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a heated pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM620 - RM1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each room is a little bit different. We were in Room 2 which is spacious. The tub in room 4 is a bit larger (as our friends were in Room 4), yet the room is a bit smaller. Honestly all of the rooms have character and are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 212coreyb, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't book room 12 ”
 of 5 bubbles babesurrey, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Back of hotel probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles O1824FMmichaelb, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to book a room with a balcony (if they're available!)”
 of 5 bubbles Farfan_Fan, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Number 7 with a view over the pool”
 of 5 bubbles annat110, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5