We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Spier Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Spier Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Spier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,487: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Lovely time with lots of special feeling and complete serenity!Staff all very friendly and well trained to make special time for each guest.Breakfast is absolutely supreme! Estate is well maintained and all facilities well kept

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizedw
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we were overwelmed with pride that you enjoyed your stay at Spier Hotel so much. We will ensure that the team is made aware of your kind comments. We will look forward to your return visit. Warm regards, Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & leisure. joeps@spier.co.za

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I had a combined SA and International Business School conference at Spier for a week. The rooms were superb, the conference centre exceptionally well run and the staff were incredible! We had 65 del and faculty there and didn't receive one bad comment. The food was realy great, the conference centre chef put a lot of thought and effort into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glen_conf
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The Hog's service and refreshments was poor - no Coke Zero for example and waitress very slow on Friday Afternoon 26Aug16. Have made my comments on the Spa which is not up to standard as well as the therapist who assisted my husband with his treatment on Friday afternoon at 3 o clock 26Aug. She needs a lot of grooming...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charleslF3463MP
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we value your feedback received and are pleased that we are in contact with you privately. We look forward to welcoming you back to Spier shortly. Warm regards Joep Schoof General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure.

Durham, UK
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Building and painting work was a nuisance when we were there and we had to change our allocated room so were upgraded to a suite which was great. Spier provides great value and we enjoyed our stay. Food was excellent. Would have been nice to have a heated pool but have yet to find any in South Africa.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoubleDurham_UK
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your suite after you moved. The reception area is opening this week, and the small snippets we are seeing looks like the end results are going look wonderful. We do hope that when you return to South Africa that you will come and see the results of the renovations....

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Our room at Spier was comfortable and spacious. It was however very far from the closest parking, with most of the path being loose gravel (over which we couldn't pull our suitcases - we needed to lift them). The hotel seems to offer assistance with luggage, although on the morning of check-out, we phoned requesting assistance, and no one arrived....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KHaupt
Spier_Wine_Farm, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your 2015 stay with us, we appreciate your feedback. Since your visit we have been giving our team dedicated training on various aspects of service and consquently our team is being praised for their service levels. We do hope that you will visit us again to experience how our dedicated training has changed our service to...

Reviewed 24 August 2016

We flew into Cape Town and hired a car, driving to Stellenbosch. The welcome was superb from the staff as we enjoyed a glass of wine on check in. The room was superb, if a little chilly, but we had the open fire to turn on, In our stay we enjoyed a meal at lunchtime at number 8 restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattd2988
Stellenbosch
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Wine tasting in Stellenbosch, enjoyed it so much booked online and then arrived to a lovely garden room and then dinner a sleep breakfast and on the way home. Lovely establishment that you need the whole week to explore.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J1568DTjamesd
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We loved our stay here for two nights with a fantastic room, lovely surroundings and staff that were very friendly and went out of their way to help. The breakfast's were out of this world and we can't recommend this place enough. Also did the 1 hour Seg way tour around the estate which was brilliant. Thank you for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin S
Stellenbosch
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I couldn't have asked for a better experience, excellent value for money. Ideal location to relax and reflect. There is a lot to do and see on the premises for every one. The facilities are amazing and the staff are pleasant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kehindeo522
Stellenbosch
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I generally enjoyed my stay at the farm. Although the location is out of town but very suitable for the kind of engagement that we had. Given its very good services, if it were properly located for other business requirements more clients would be flowing in.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonard_chacha

792 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (759)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (130)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (209)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (248)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.2 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
831 reviews
11.0 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
591 reviews
8.3 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
352 reviews
8.4 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
547 reviews
8.2 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM452 - RM1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Spier Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Spier Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Standard room was an excellent value for the American dollar. Staying on Wisteria Lane was a short walk to food and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles MamaJ1966, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River side rooms have lovely scenery”
  • wonderful bedroom
 of 5 bubbles 53maureen, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing into the garden also have a small plunge pool and seating to use if busy around the main pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 710MikeB710, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“602 amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles Unty, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try to get a room on the ground floor but upstairs also OK.”
 of 5 bubbles 1Francois1, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5