We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Devon Valley Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Devon Valley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Devon Valley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Dullstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2015

This was our second visit, and hopefully it won't be our last. The rooms are tastefully furnished and functional, not luxurious but comfortable. The staff are pleasant, but not bothersome. The dinner was very good and reasonably priced, and the breakfast spread was excellent. Great views of the surrounding hills and some peace and quiet made for a relaxing stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bestofspirits
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flickrbug Many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Andrew Dietrich General Manager

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We visited Stellenbosch for winetasting and family holiday and liked our stay at the Devon Valley Hotel very much. Nice rooms with beautiful view. Good restaurant with nice outdoor patio and pool area. We will return to Devon Valley Hotel the next time we visit Stellenbosch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan M
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johan M Many thanks for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back "home" Andrew

South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

My husband and I and four friends celebrated New Year 2015 at the hotel. We were each accommodated in a large, comfortable superior room with a magnificent view of the vineyards, valley and mountains. The views can also be enjoyed from the large shaded patio in front of the reception area and restaurant. The service was friendly and efficient. Exceptional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreedSA
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FreedSA Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted we delivered our Handmade Hospitality. Andrew

KATHU
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Our wedding ceremony was at the Devon Valley Hotel and their services and staff was superb and of excellent help. My guest slept over the night of wedding and was very satisfied. My reception was at the Jc le Roux restaurant and the canapés, pre-drinks aswell as the buffet menu was devine...just good comments from my guest regarding food etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MELANIELUVGERALD
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melanieluvgerald We are delighted we made your special day memorable and look forward to welcoming you back for that "romantic night" See you soon~! Andrew and Team

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We, a family of 5 with “kids” from 12 to 18 years, stayed for three nights between Christmas and New Years Eve. We were welcomed with a drink and great news for our oldest that she would have a room of her own instead of sharing with her brothers. The rooms are of a reasonable size (but not big enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CeaseTheDay
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CeaseTheDay Many thanks for your detailed and wonderful feedback on your stay at Devon Valley Hotel. We do agree our patio is a special and wonderful place to sit relax and enjoy ou wines. We are working on our WiFi to increase its strength to allow for faster and more reliable service. For interest we do have a few...

London
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We had booked this hotel 10 months before our stay at Christmas so imagine our disappointment when a) we were kept waiting over an hour to check in and b) to find we had been given the room furthest away from the hotel, up a stone staircase and along a dismal stone corridor and c) the room had no balcony,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GillyflowerofLondon
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Contributor Thank you for your review. I am really sad that we were not able to accommodate you at Devon Valley Hotel and that you decided to move hotels. All our confirmations state check in time is at 14:00. You arrived at midday and were offered and accepted something to drink complimentary whilst we prepared your room. We did...

Cape Town
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Cannot understand why the restaurant is not buzzing with people... The food is fantastic - the dining room beautiful and the staff most attentive..... As a local, the saying 'local is lekker' comes to mind. I highly recommend this restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irenemaclean
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear irenemaclean Thank you for your review Andrew

Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2014

We stayed a couple of nights in this lovely hotel set within a vineyard close to Stellenbosch. Our room was upgraded to a suite, so we were very comfortable. Having enjoyed a rather substantial lunch before arriving, we found that a selection from the starter buffet was just what we needed as an evening meal. Breakfast was excellent, with extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank themoustache
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear themoustache Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We do agree about the pool views! Perhaps you should visit South Africa again soon! Andrew General Manager

Zurich
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

After staying in another Estate in Stellenbosch for 2 nights, the first impression, was so so. The room, vineyard double room, was nice but nothing special. Still clean, comfortable and sliding doors to open up the bathroom to the bedroom. The diner with matching wine was great but you also need to love pork belly as the menu is fixed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinyhunter
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tinyhunter Thank you for your review. I am glad you did enjoy the Rose! Kind regards Andrew Dietrich General Manager

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2014

This is one of many returns. Previously, I stayed in the main house. This time, I was given a Vineyard Room and I was so impressed… room tip: ask for a vineyard room. Spacious, beautiful finishes, large bathroom, great pillows on the bed, soft towels – and everything in the room was in working order. Nice selection of teas in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADavis1977
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ADavies1977 Thank you for your review and we were delighted to welcome you back "home". We do hope you visit again soon Andrew General Manager

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
8.4 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,527 reviews
6.0 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
315 reviews
4.5 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
654 reviews
2.4 km away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
329 reviews
8.3 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM487 - RM915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Devon Valley Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Devon Valley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the vineyard view rooms have beautiful panoramic views across the valley and are nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles petiteoiseau, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just enjoy!”
 of 5 bubbles Surly53, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room in the Annex rather than the main building”
 of 5 bubbles jasonv650, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to have a room overlooking the vineyards.”
 of 5 bubbles Abrumar, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Annexe rooms have patios on the ground floor with amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles Chelseagirl47, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay