We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Millstream B&B

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Millstream B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Millstream B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

I have complained about the uncomfortable bed.When you lie down on the bed you literally feel the springs of the bed. The owner's response was shocking: the beds have been checked, and found to be in order! The can of Target in the room, to chase the mosquito's away, was empty. It seems as I'd cleaning services are limited to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia K
bridgit a, Owner at Millstream B&B, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Millstream. Unfortunately we try but cannot please all our guests. The wooden floors are a challenge due to the age, and they are cleaned everyday. The cleaners certainly do a lot more than make up the bed.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Booked 2 nights paid for 1 stayed NONE. If you like your bed linen to smell like moth balls and have hair balls swept into the corner of your room and been called a 'skollie' by the owner due to your preference for more value for your money - this place is for you. If not, don't go there!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesdupreez
bridgit a, Owner at Millstream B&B, responded to this review

This review does not even merit a response, as many satisfied guests will attest to.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Millstream B&B in Stellenbosch ; service was warm, comfort was cool , and breakfast was lekker. Maybe the beds could be softer and the management could be sharper...so we maay try it again, when next we are in the Boland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill434
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

A cozy getaway ... home away from home. Lovely spacious rooms with all the utilities necessary. Close to the very popular Eikestad Mall in Stellenbosch. Walking distance from restaurants like the well known Dros and many quaint coffee shops and take-away places in the surrounding area. The best area to visit at is at the pool - overlooking the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
kent
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Very convenient and safe location 10 minutes walk from centre. Bridget is a welcoming and friendly host. Room was quite basic and unfortunately the bed frame was extremely noisy which meant if either of us moved we wove up. Think the second night we stayed the room above was occupied and had a similar issue which disturbed even more. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fussyfemaleKent
Reviewed 28 January 2017

This guesthouse is conveniently placed in Stellenbosch with easy access to the area. Rooms are clean & spacious with parking provided on the property for your vehicle. General tips: - Confirm breakfast time with the hosts and plan accordingly - Restaurants in easy driving distance from the B&B if you want to have dinner somewhere - It can be tricky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rya-Mari M
Castellammare del Golfo, Italy
Reviewed 22 January 2017

No airco, that makes is to hot during the summertime! The room was ful of muskitos and we had to kill them before we went to bed.we could get the repellant for free , think that says enough ! There is a parkingplace outside that makes it more comfortable, but for the price i would say its to expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arkoster
bridgit a, Owner at Millstream B&B, responded to this review

If our guest had wanted air conditioning he/ she could have made another choice for a much higher rate. We do our best to control the mosquitos, but it can be a challenge at times.

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Superb! Totally professional, warm and welcoming staff/ management. Rooms; clean and practical catering for every need. Breakfast; of high standard and generous portions. Acommodation; strategically placed near town and resturants in serene surroundings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMKok
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at Millstream. The room was clean and breakfast was really good. The host, George, and his staff were so friendly and we felt very welcome. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone who likes to enjoy Stellenbosch foot a couple of days. Don't forget to ask about some tips on what to do in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bas K
Besancon, France
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I have pay two time for one night (one time on booking with CB and one time by cash). I thought that the CB wa just for reservation. Surprise when i come back from my travel. Millstream has never re fund...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Guillaume W
MillstreamGuesthouse, Manager at Millstream B&B, responded to this review

Dear Guillame It is with regret that I read about your experience with payment. When a client pays cash we issue a receipt for payment. I cannot find any record of a cash payment for May. Could you kindly supply us with the dates you stayed at Millstream and the name the reservation was made in. Regards Millstream Guesthouse

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.5 km away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#11 of 16 in Stellenbosch
100 reviews
1.2 km away
Orchard Lane Guest House
Orchard Lane Guest House
#65 of 113 in Stellenbosch
32 reviews
1.2 km away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#30 of 113 in Stellenbosch
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#44 of 113 in Stellenbosch
88 reviews
0.1 km away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
412 reviews
1.2 km away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#7 of 113 in Stellenbosch
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Millstream is well established bed and breakfast,ideally positioned to explore the winelands..We are centrally located within easy walking distance of the Stellenbosch historic town centre, the main restaurants, and quaint shops.Millstream offers six spacious en-suite bedrooms with ceiling fans,tea / coffee,TVs, on - site parking, swimming pool and honesty bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Millstream B&B

Address: 14 Alexander Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM301 - RM399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Millstream B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Millstream B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“high stairs”
 of 5 bubbles arkoster, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room is a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles 252tania, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Balcony off room 1 was wonderful !”
 of 5 bubbles carolg35, 21 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Sandre´ very friendly and tried to oblige everybody in our group of 13. Avoid room 3 with bells ringing during the night. Room at the reception had a creeky bed. Other rooms fine. One room on top floor too small for a couple; suitable for singles.”
 of 5 bubbles ulilane, 6 Dec 2013 | Read review
“The only downside was there was no fridge or food preparation facility.”
 of 5 bubbles 541lindaj, 3 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5