We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stellenbosch Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Stellenbosch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

608 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I always stay here. It has a great location, fantastic food, with friendly staff and well priced. I left my expensive leather jacket in the room and got it back the next day, carefully packaged in a plastic bag!!! Thank you Stellenbosch Hotel! You are the best

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ReinetteV
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ReinetteV, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The service on arrival was prompt and professional. The accommodation was clean and roomy with all the amenities that one may require. The hotel is very centrally situated and in walking distance of all the sites one would like to visit. The restaurant service and food was excellent and we enjoyed our stay very much - well done.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank T1541YHjanb
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear T1541YHjanb, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Rostock, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are very tasteful and partially modern equipped with flat screen and Wifi. The rooms were clean throughout. The bathroom is spacious and modern and has a good shower. The breakfast was very well presented and was regularly replenished, the coffee was always fresh. Overall, the hotel is highly recommended - thanks for the hospitality.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HendrikBrincker
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HendrikBrincker, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Rostock, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

with a group of 12 People we had two very nice days in the Hotel. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms new and the patio as restaurant terrace was great. Breakfast also was very delightful. Ever again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alexander449
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alexander449, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Montagu, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We enjoyed the tranquility. The room was comfortable and well appointed ( decaf coffee was an added touch that most hotels do not supply) The breakfast was excellent the staff friendly and the ambience perfect.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christinefolan
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear christinefolan, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

München
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was selected by our tour guide - and it was a perfect choice. From the warm and heartily welcome by the front desk, over the beautiful and perfectly maintained room to the overwhelming breakfast - everything makes this place a "must stay".

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AKro71
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AKro71, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

She is a lovely girl to serve te breakfast. Please double her salery! Nice please to stay friendly staff! Fantastic fruit good coffee!! 😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉😉 you need to write a lot before your recomondation is agreed!!

Helpful?
Thank Simon V
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon V, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location and hotel has a lot of soul, in the heart of the old town. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they made my stay very comfortable and the service was outstanding. My room was very comfortable and bathroom beautifully renovated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BernardImmelman
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BernardImmelman, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

very friendly staff, very good breakfast, cosy hotel in the heart fo the town, fantastic refurbished, I would always recommend thís really familar location with its historical rooms. We enjoyed the stay for two nights.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mbrocksen
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mbrocksen, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Stellenbosch Hotel. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Stellenbosch Hotel is conveniently located in the shopping and restaurant downtown area of Stellenbosch but we found the hotel a bit run down in the lobby, common areas and rooms. We had three rooms in differnt locations on the ground floor and everyone complained of the noise levels. Out bathroom had been updated but friends stated theirs was in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Astranova
Marketing_and, Manager at Stellenbosch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Astranova, Following your recent stay with us at The Stellenbosch Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It is due to your feedback that we are able to rectify any shortcomings and constantly improve the service we offer to our guests. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for... More 

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 km away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#2 of 16 in Stellenbosch
298 reviews
8.2 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,454 reviews
0.1 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
500 reviews
3.0 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
495 reviews
5.9 km away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Stellenbosch Hotel is a classic boutique-style hotel, situated in the heart of historic Stellenbosch. Our range of Cape Dutch rooms cater for both the leisure and corporate markets. We are the ideal destination from which guests can explore the Cape Winelands and many other Western Cape attractions.Stellenbosch Hotel offers luxury rooms with free Wi-Fi and an on-site restaurant serving specialties and South African wines. Free parking is available. Stellenbosch Golf Club is just 3 miles away.In a restored building, each room features touches of colonial décor. Each room has a TV, minibar and safe. Each room has a spacious private bathroom.Breakfast in the morning is served in the Jan Cats Restaurant. The menu for lunch and dinner includes a range of game dishes, seafood cuisines as well as fine local and foreign dishes.Stellenbosch University is less than half a mile from Hotel Stellenbosch. It is a 5-minute drive from the walking tours of the Stellenbosch wine route. Museums, art galleries and gift shops are all within safe walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stellenbosch Hotel

Address: 162 Dorp Street | Corner of Dorp & Andringa Streets, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM380 - RM898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stellenbosch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Stellenbosch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#8 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stellenbosch Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Stellenbosch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to get 20-22 as they are directly located on the courtyard and might be noisy. ”
 of 5 bubbles AKro71, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The back rooms are nice and quiet ”
 of 5 bubbles BernardImmelman, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 is very noisey as it faces the courtyard and is close to the stairs and lobby”
 of 5 bubbles Astranova, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and get an inward-facing room - quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles daletow, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at Rooms on level to and three are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay