We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stables Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Stables Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of The Stables Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Very welcoming owner Ilaria made us feel very welcome and gave us great information of places to visit while we were in the area. We booked a self catering cottage which was at the back of the property and absolutely ideal for some peace and quiet. Lovely cottage with all amenities and very comfortable. Really nice place to spend a...

Thank Natalie D
Reviewed 29 November 2016

+ Nice and clean rooms + Gate to keep the car safe + 15-20 min very nice walk to the center, or for just 20 ZAR with Uber + Kind and very helpful staff. The hostess can help you book wine tours, restaurants, etc. + Air conditioning!

Thank SofiLinn
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Fell in love with the upbeat, helpful and forgiving nature of owner. Loved the library common room in main house. Incredible private garden as back cottage privilege. What a beautiful location to boot!!!

Thank Roz B
South Africa
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We (family of four) stayed their last year but I didn't get to write a review. The place is not too far from the Stellenbosch town. Onsite parking was good. I was bit shocked when the host Illaria gave me a present for my birthday as she found it out from the booking. That was very nice of her. A...

Thank 81ajh888
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Although it was only short, we really enjoyed our stay as we were welcomed with open arms and made to feel right at home. Ilaria, the lady who we dealt with was so hospitable and attended to our every needs. We will definitely stay again in the future!

Thank Ashleigh K
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Some friends and I were in need of a place in Stellenbosch. This was recommended to us. It was great that The Stables could book us last minute. It was very charming and clean. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous.

Thank northernattire
George, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2016

WE spent a weekend. It was very enjoyable. We were very well received. Our accommodation was just what we needed. We were able to visit the town and all the attractions. Well situated. Service was excellent.

Thank Robinc34125
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We stayed unfortunately 1 night but it was a very calm, warm and friendly place and very nice people. Very clean with an italian pretty touch.Perfect for families and couples Thanks Ilaria. Hope to see you again

Thank Claudio C
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Travelled from lusaka got lost, the hosts didn't know directions to the place. Got there at 12am. Federica the host complained the next morning to my boyfriend and I that we kept her up and she didn't sleep. We immediately left even though we were supposed to stay two nights. Extremely rude and unwelcoming. Not the warm South African way...

1Thank Kero R
Stableslodge, Proprietario at The Stables Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, you were screaming to me that you will send the worst review and as promised that day, below you will find my reply with a bit more details that I am sorry that you did not even mention. First of all my name is Ilaria, my husband Federico was the one that very patient was providing instructions how...

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed in the Family Unit. A Double Bed in main room and 2 Single Beds in another small room. This B&B is 5 min drive from the Town. Would not recommend walking distance. Has off-road parking which is a plus, free wi-fi. No TV in room - have to share TV in minute lounge area with other Guests (limited...

Thank Christine C

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (46)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
View from Room (3)
Dining (7)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (1)
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.8 km away
Orchard Lane Guest House
Orchard Lane Guest House
#63 of 112 in Stellenbosch
34 reviews
3.8 km away
#68 of 112 in Stellenbosch
25 reviews
1.1 km away
Rozendal Guest Farm
Rozendal Guest Farm
#17 of 112 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hazelwood House
Hazelwood House
#46 of 112 in Stellenbosch
53 reviews
6.2 km away
Orange-Ville Guesthouse
Orange-Ville Guesthouse
#56 of 112 in Stellenbosch
77 reviews
14.4 km away
Hoopenburg Guest House
Hoopenburg Guest House
#32 of 112 in Stellenbosch
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
situated in an exclusive area of Stellenbosch, less than 5 minutes drive from the city centre, 'The Stables Lodge' offers panoramic views overlooking the mountains.
Accommodation in 4 comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, all equipped with air-conditioning-heating, coffee and tea facilities, hairdryer, radio cd players.
One self-catering unit is also available.
Enjoy a leisurely breakfast, relax in a quiet common area.
Secure parking, cosy common area, 'honesty bar' with cool drinks and snacks, internet available.
The guest house is ideally located to explore the famous wine lands and a lot of other excursions and day trips!
A beautiful atmosphere with a mix of italian & african styles make this affordable stay one to be repeated!
Italian and English spoken..German in progress! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stables Lodge

Address: 85 Jonkershoek Street | Mostertsdrift, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: RM215 - RM387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stables Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Stables Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stables Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Self catering cottage is great for a quiet undisturbed stay.”
, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great Location”
128ashleighk, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with a kitchen. In the garden. Very pleasant”
Robinc34125, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Airport closeness”
claudiocE4659ZO, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT stay in the "cottage"...if the rooms are full go elsewhere!”
Doug_Cartlidge, 3 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates