We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Church Street Lodge

Save
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worcester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Start your review of Church Street Lodge
 Click to rate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Me and my partner spent a weekend in the hotel. We only booked on our way thou because it wasn't a planned holiday but the lady at reception was very friendly and helped us. when we arrived she welcomed us with a smile and service was great. We were only looking for a room not breakfast as the intension was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceymde
Management response:

Thank you for the lovely review. Hope to see you again soon. May the Christmas season and 2017 hold happy memories for you

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Needed a place to stay for business for 1 night. Was placed in a room over the road that they seem to be renovating. I arrived at 2pm and there was a painter painting the outside of my room which is a full wall of glass doors and windows. I had to close all the curtains for privacy. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carey007
Management response:

Hi I am sorry that you had such a bad experience. Yes, we are actually in the process of upgrading the Lodge. Unfortunately we cannot close during this time. We have spoken to the staff re their loud talking, it is just that they are an exuberant bunch. Problem re the geyser I was not aware of, but again, please...

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed there one night on a work trip. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The wifi wasn't bad. I did not enjoy going through 3 doors and going up steep old noisy stairs to get to my room. The fruit salad at breakfast was canned fruit😥 and the water in the bar fridge didn't smell very fresh. Other than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emgee K
Management response:

Hi Emgee Thank you for the review. Going up those stairs for some guests are part of the whole affair of staying in an old house. Sorry that it bothered you. Where the fruit salad is concerned - Sometimes when we have more walk in's the night before we stretch the salad with a can. We make fresh salad every...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Spent one night here while visiting family on the way back to Gauteng. I was a little disappointed as it did not live up to the website. We were located over the road in an upstairs room. I am glad we did not have young children as the balcony's were low and the steps to the room steep. Not really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
Management response:

Dear Amanda Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time a the Lodge. We do not put families up in those rooms as they actually were meant for a single guests or couples. Regarding the website, we have updated recently with some newer pictures, so that it is clear what is standard vs...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We were a family with 2 babies and 1 grandfather staying for the night. I informed them in advance that we will arrive late as well as the details of our family. Our room was on the second floor with a very steap, slippery stairway with bad lighting. This goes to show that they did not take our family situation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannamari84
Management response:

Dear Hannamari Thank you for rating us. I am sorry that you had such a bad experience. When a guest books in advance we do try to make sure that the reservation is done to specifics. Some of our rooms have twin beds and some double. When a family comes we try to accommodate them in one of the two...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 September 2016

As from the time I made the booking, the staff were courteous and professional. The room and amenities were clean, and well maintained. Breakfast, a buffet, and the only meal we had, was well prepared.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julian M
Management response:

Thank you for the lovely review.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Beautiful centrally located. Excellent accommodation for travelers or business trips. Warm, friendly hostesses. Excellent breakfast. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with micro wave, bar fridge and kettle. Ample parking. Good restaurants within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liande E
Management response:

Thank you so much for the lovely review. You share the view of most of our guests. We like to make our guests feel welcome and and home.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The pictures on the website look stunning, the reality was rather different. The reception was warm and the service can't be faulted. However, rather than staying in the main lodge we were put across the road at an additional accommodation site. Our room was a big disappointment- bleak and unwelcoming, twin single beds pushed together, a cracked sink in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlicePryor
Management response:

Hi Alice Thank you for the review. Most of our bedrooms have twin beds as a lot of the frequent guests are here on business, so a the rooms are set up for single occupation. We do have rooms with double beds and do try to give those to our couples making reservations. The photos on the website is the...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Nothing particularly stands out for me about Church Street Lodge. The room I had was spacious and the bed was comfortable, so I had a good night’s sleep. The shower-in-the-bath without a curtain or cubicle led to a wet bathroom floor, despite my best attempts. There was only one coffee sachet in the 2 box kits provided for making coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanDogless
Management response:

Hi Ian Thank you for the review. In the event that we know it is a traveler that needs a desk, we do try to put them in rooms that has that facility. Some of our rooms still have baths and it is not to everyone's liking, but then again so too is showering. With pre-booked rooms we do accommodate...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The reception was very friendly and informative.Reccommended a restaurant which turned out being really good.The rooms are spacious and very clean.We spent a bit of time lazing around the pool and swimming.The area is quiet and easy walking distance to pubs and restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 46Rob
Management response:

Thank you for the lovely review. We do hope to see you again.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room

Additional Information about Church Street Lodge

Address: 36 Church Street, Worcester 6850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Worcester
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Church Street Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?