We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hosteria Meulen

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hosteria Meulen
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Meulen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Brea, California
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Facts : 3.2 miles from city center. Pros: - Very friendly and professional staff (Vanessa helped with tours and arrangements) - Shuttle available twice a day( we tried it 2 times) - clean and decent size room - 200 meter to lake Argentina Cons: - Horrible dinner. (Tried 2 entrees and soup and salad-All bad) - Nothing around for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sepand m
Reviewed 6 December 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful spot. Our room had a great view of the lake and was decorated with thoughtful touches. Breakfast is typical Argentinian, ie very sweet with plenty of jams and dulce de leche. There was also ham and cheese and cornflakes. The wifi is decent. There is a lovely conservatory area where you can sit in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carolinealice1
Arlington, Texas
Reviewed 6 December 2014

As other reviewers indicated this place is very far from town, so you're very limited in shopping and dining options. It is close to the lake and is in a peaceful and serene location. So if you have a car, it's ok, otherwise it's a hike to and from town. The rooms are larger than the ones closer to town,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Greeted by a most warm welcome, we had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Obtaining a snack upon late night arrival was no problem at all and we were well taken care of. All our questions were immediately answered and rental car, restaurant reservations (as probably other things) were happily done by the reception. Run and decorated with love...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 8Knut
Saint Julian's, Malta
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Firstly I would like to say that we booked this Hotel because of the lovely reviews I read. Unfortunately the rooms do not look like anything in their website and also most of the comments. The Hotel did not offer free shuttle service but service against payment. There was no desk with electrical outlet as stated in their website and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank VickiHamburg
Meulen-Hotel, Director de Recepción at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review

We really regret that your stay wasn’t good, The price that you paid was for an standard room, and we correspondingly assign, and the next day we gave you an upgrade of a superior room (courtesy only) not because you was upset, actually you didn’t pay the difference. Unlike the rest of people who come to Calafate, and previously reserve...

Las Vegas, New Mexico
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Although a little far from town (30 min), that is the reason to be there. During tourist season city streets can be busy late into the night. This place is peaceful. The scenery is beautiful. The mountains that feed Perito Moreno are visible. Lake Nimez, bird preserve, seen out the window. The staff is so friendly and helpful you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
Meulen-Hotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review

Dear Robert! Thank you for your very kind comment, it was a pleasure for us to have had them as guests Our warm regards to you, Lis and George Mariela

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Although it is a little far away from the town, it has a great view, and part of its charm is the quiet enviroment surround it. Friendly staff, good food and nice and clean rooms. They help you hiring the excursions, advicing about what is the best to do while you're staying.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paulamvt
Taboao da Serra, SP
Reviewed 1 March 2013

If you arrive in El Calafate by airplane, you may want to arrange transport from FTE to the Hosteria Meulen. The owners of the hotel can send a taxi, but they want ARS 240 (US$50). If you take the taxi directly at the airport, you are going to pay a fixed fare of ARS 140 to any hotel in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank UlrichPeters
syracuse
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Chose this as a bit of a "splurge" since had views and good ratings. Rather far from town if you have no car. With a car, hard to find even with a map since there are no street signs in this area..if you book, remember what it looks like so you can spot it on the hill. Hotel is clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judy s
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just a short walk from Lagoon Nimez the Hosteria Muelen is in a great location. It takes about half an hour to stroll into town. The room overlooking the lake was lovely and the service very friendly. Breakfast was quite ordinary but everyone gets two lovely warm croissants! The sitting room and outside terrace are good places to watch the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue N
hosteriameulen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review

Thank you very much Susan for your nice comment, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and we will glad to see you again, if you returns to El Calafate. And indeed, by the central that you made ​​the booked, the national taxes are discriminated. Best wishes Mariela

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
4.1 km away
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
432 reviews
0.7 km away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#24 of 70 in El Calafate
964 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#18 of 70 in El Calafate
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
#54 of 70 in El Calafate
378 reviews
1.4 km away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#38 of 70 in El Calafate
195 reviews
2.4 km away
Rincon del Calafate
Rincon del Calafate
#41 of 70 in El Calafate
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a different perspective of the town, you can see a unforgettable sunsets from his deck or an octogon watchtower. Meulen is the answer to all needs with its professional staff causes that their accommodation in El Calafate is an unforgettable experience ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hosteria Meulen

Address: Calle 202, No 608 | In front of Reserva Ecologica Laguna Nimez, El Calafate B9405DWB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Price Range: RM2,043 - RM2,686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Meulen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hosteria Meulen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Meulen El Calafate
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hosteria Meulen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hosteria Meulen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We LOVED our stay here. Welcomed warmly with a glass of Pisco...loved our room (2 adults and 2 college aged children) Try to find a room with a view of the sunsets Highly recommend!”
iwass, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“choose rooms facing the Lake Argentino”
breitburd, 6 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Maybe one of the ones advertised on their website. Definitely not the ones on the first floor overlooking the street as you will be awaken when the other clients leave for their day trip”
VickiHamburg, 7 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the lake.”
  • Mountains and waterfowl preserve, Lake Nimez
bobr648, 24 Jan 2014 | Read review
“They offer rooms with a view to the lake or to the mountain. The rooms on the mountain side have no view, but there you won't hear any cars parking in front of the hotel.”
  •                   View from the hotel over the lake
UlrichPeters, 28 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5