We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Santa Cruz Backpacker's

    Av 16 de Diciembre | Luis A. Martinez & Montalvo, Banos 010151, Ecuador
    Lowest prices for your stay
    28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    SAVE US$4
    Traveller (77)
    Dining (6)
    Room & Suite (4)
    • Excellent39%
    • Very good34%
    • Average15%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Available
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Family Rooms
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Dry Cleaning
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (112)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 52 reviews

    Reviewed 2 November 2017

    Don't stay here. Staff not very enthusiastic, room dark and noisy. Worst of all, they have a "bodega" storage room for your luggage if you are staying in town after checkout. Someone stole my Kindle tablet out of my backpack while it was in there...More

    Thank jf002
    Response from Monica F, Propietario at Santa Cruz Backpacker'sResponded 4 weeks ago

    good afternoon my dear friend what a shame to find out about this through your comment but not when you left the hostel did not receive any complaint of loss of a tablet that I regret that you did not feel comfortable in our hostel...More

    Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

    I guess it was because of low season, but the hostel was calm and almost empty. They have to houses, we went to the one with share bathroom and it was perfect. We used the kitchen and after check out, they let us take a...More

    Thank Paloma R
    Reviewed 12 July 2017

    Very well located. Quick hot showers. It has its charms and is very cheap. Do yourself a favor and spend a couple bucks and stay somewhere nicer. Rooms are dark and appear dingy. You reserve with a credit card but can't pay with one. Very...More

    Thank Timothy T
    Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

    I was nervous to go here after reading the reviews that it was noisy. I'm not a partier, and are a light sleeper but after our hostel we were staying at (erupicion art) was booked & suggested we go here, we decided to try it...More

    Thank Kelly H
    Reviewed 10 April 2017

    I had to move to a different place after the first night. I had booked this place as it was listed as in a quiet area of town. Unfortunately, guests were allowed to talk loudly and smoke cigarettes in the communal area right outside my...More

    Thank GourmetHiker
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Laundry Service
    • Breakfast Available
    • Things to do
    • Casino and Gambling
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Price range
    • US$19 - US$30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Smoking rooms available ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 23
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Santa Cruz Backpacker's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Ecuador >
    • Tungurahua Province >
    • Banos
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (77)
    Dining (6)
    Room & Suite (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (77)
    Family and Play Areas (5)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Banos
    La Petite Auberge
    102 reviews
    .05 km away
    Hostal Chimenea
    385 reviews
    .20 km away
    Volcano Hotel
    122 reviews
    .23 km away
    La Floresta Hotel
    319 reviews
    .27 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Cafe Hood
    674 reviews
    .22 km away
    Casa Hood
    759 reviews
    .15 km away
    Carpe Diem Di Verdi
    204 reviews
    .09 km away
    Swiss Bistro Banos
    694 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Church of the Virgin of the Holy Water (Nuestra Senora del Agua Santa)
    401 reviews
    .14 km away
    Ivagatours Tour Operator
    151 reviews
    .20 km away
    Imagine Ecuador
    648 reviews
    .04 km away
    Geotours Adventure & Fun
    515 reviews
    .25 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Santa Cruz Backpacker's staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "Find a different hostel."
    Read review
    "Stay near the common area if you can!"
    Read review
    "Don;t stay anywhere near the communal area."
    Read review
    "Upstairs room may be quieter"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing