We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Recently spent some time here & I guess they also just recently renovated the rooms as well. Nice room & also a nice staff to go with it. Carlos & Claudia (front desk) who I usually dealt with were always pleasant & befriending. Room service was always done properly. I had a nice stay and it worked out well for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josue G
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

So MAD right now we made reservations yesterday in motel 6 cause we were coming 2 wedding all the way from Brawley ca ...we get here and no room ready, so wat is the reason for people 2 make reservations. ....the guy at the counter was not helpful at all....I Guess you get wat you pay for! !!!...I DON'T RECOMMEND...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lupe L
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

This place was not that great. The staff was fine. But other than that........ My co-worker had stayed here the night before and when we switched off when I came to Phoenix he told me about being woken up in the middle of the night due to some fighting. When I arrived here I turned around thinking I was in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tjcaliguy
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

The staff are really nice, especially Carlos & Carrie on the night shift. They try to make the best of your stay. It's run down but they're renovating. Only tip is, don't walk around at night without something to protect yourself

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmgilber
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The beds are bug free and very comfortable. It's worth every penny you spent and the workers are pretty cool. Bottom Line. The workers are very out going and friendly. They look like they appreciate their jobs and have fun meeting cool people. The coffee was very good,it had an imported taste to it. It tasted like Colombian fresh brewed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rashad B
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewed 20 March 2016

So I stayed at this Motel 6 for about a week. When I first got there, the staff was very helpful and friendly and I have no complaints in regards to any of the staff during my whole stay. Even the maids were helpful and friendly. When i first got to the room, it was clean and did not smell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K C
Danville, Virginia
Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here before and it was never this bad. This may be the biggest of all the motel 6, but they are running this one into the ground. Had to stand in line forever, finally get a room and there is no tv. Go back, girl looks straight at me and asks for the next in line. Finally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tom24527
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the various issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact...

Reviewed 11 February 2016

I stayed in this hotel for about 15 minutes. Because my friend that was with me didn't have his ID, they asked us to leave the room after being there for only 15 minutes. They still choose to charge me for two days and a $20.56 fee for him being in the room. We stopped her from down the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillB46
6Team, Brand Experienced Team Member at Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon, responded to this review

Bill, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to your property and the inconveniences you experienced. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

I've lived and stayed in bad areas before, so that part didn't bother me as much as the roaches. That, and the club across the parking lot had a very loud, booming base to their music that was heard till the wee hours. I don't mind the "budget" motels if I just want a clean place to lay my head...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank smittenkitten250
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest...

Aguanga, California
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We arrived after dark to find this old, scary part of town, motel with no cars in parking lot. Went into office, saw two armed security guards, smoky rooms, dirty everything, don't take socks off! Couldn't leave cuz we were towing 40' rv, left at 6am. No hairdryer or coffee pot, nothing you could steal has been removed. Next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon, responded to this review

Cathy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is important for all of our guests to feel welcomed, receive the highest level of service, respect and hospitality. We apologize for your unpleasant stay as a result of the concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Comfort Inn West
#126 of 173 in Phoenix
93 reviews
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Phoenix Midtown
#87 of 173 in Phoenix
56 reviews
Encanto
La Quinta Inn Phoenix Thomas Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon is located off I-17 at Indian School Road and 10 miles from Sky Harbor Airport. Grand Canyon University is less than 2 miles. Enjoy our 3 outdoor pools and Wi-Fi in all modern ooms for a fee. Truck parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon

Address: 4130 N Black Canyon Hwy, I-17 at Exit 202/Indian School Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85017-4339
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Price Range: RM200 - RM303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Motel Six
Phoenix Motel 6
Motel Six Phoenix
Motel 6 Phoenix
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Phoenix - Black Canyon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The view on the east side of the building is pretty cool because you get the to see the on going traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles 924rashadb, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“None. It doesn't feel safe.”
 of 5 bubbles BillB46, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Don't stop here.”
 of 5 bubbles L229AIcathym, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“stay at super 8 you get refrigerator, micro wave , free wifi, free breakfast enough towels and wash clothes for less than 10 dollars more”
 of 5 bubbles shirleyb970, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you decide to try survival training and stay here, try for the building away from the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles LoriK301, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay