We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Danhostel Ribe

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Danhostel Ribe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 22: English reviews
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 4 August 2016

If you are looking for a hostel, look no further. The location is excellent, the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is good. The rooms are hostel rooms of course, so don't expect luxury or a lot of space, but everything is very clean. We had a nice view of the city from or room. Only downside was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daan M
Jens P, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much - and you are right, we have very few very, very warm days in Denmark, so usually this is not a problem

Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I paid the same price overall for a superior room at the Ritz Carlton in Singapore the week before I arrived in this Danhotel. We had a small room of 8 sqm for four and my face bumped into the bed corner at face level when I stood up to go to the bathroom. It definitively made my stay a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carine C
DanHostel_Ribe_DK, PR-chef at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had a bad experience at our hostel. We know our rooms are not very big, but they do all have their own toilet/bath and a little front room, which few hotels in town have. As we are a hostel and not a hotel - instead of big rooms , we have many common areas, where...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Our family of 5 (3 children aged 6-10) stayed here and met 2 friends. The staff were very helpful and changed our rooms around so they were next to each other and so that we could check in early. Excellent location. Great kitchen for self catering. The family room is small and is mainly for sleeping however this is no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goodlins
Danhostel-Ribe, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and will recommend our hostel to everyone. We hope we will also see you and your friend again

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Immaculate hostel. So clean throughout. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with good advice. Very central location - 2 minutes walk from central square. A very short walk from the train station. Amenities include guest kitchen (spotless), guest dining room (spotless), laundry and good wifi. Breakfast available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
Danhostel-Ribe, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your nice words, Jeremy, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in Ribe

Netherlands
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This is your typical nordic/scandinavian hostel: clean, lots of amenities, a bit sterile, friendly staff, great value for money! We stayed at a 4 person family room, but it fits 5 (bunkbeds). The room had a decent size. There's a shower and toilet at every room and that's great for a hostel. The shower is okay (shower curtain doesn't do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulG78
Danhostel-Ribe, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having taken time to review our hostel. We are happy that you and your kids had a good time in Ribe and in our hostel. The factory you are talking about is our very good neighbour. They make radiators and we have never heard that they should have disturbed any of our guests.

Tucson, AZ
Reviewed 27 June 2015

We stayed in a private family room which was very comfortable. Great hostel facilities with excellent breakfast spread. Helpful front desk staff. I rated as excellent overall in comparison to my prior hostel experiences.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dvbtucson
Danhostel-Ribe, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We are very happy to hear that you liked your stay at our hostel very much and we hope to see you back in Ribe another time

London
Reviewed 25 May 2015

This hostel had everything we needed including free wifi. Also the staff were really friendly and helpful plus the breakfast buffet was plentiful. The only thing I would complain about would be the price. It's very high and so is the breakfast. I mean when you compare it to the other Danhostels (same private room) you wonder why it's almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank safiaq
DanHostel_Ribe_DK, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having reviewed our hostel, we are happy you liked your stay, and we hope to see you again - also to discuss and understand your review better. Unfortunately it is not possible for us to comment on your post on our price, since you do not tell us when you have stayed with us and...

Buenos AIres
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

Free parking. Excellent location. Great installations. Very good breakfast and nice staff. I really liked this place and Ribe. Kitchen is well equiped. Rooms are spacy and comfortables. I recommend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaruMax
DanHostel_Ribe_DK, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review

Grimstad, Norway
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We stayed a night. We got a room for family with a view to the city.The room and the hotel is very clean and cozy. Breakfast is optional--you can order it, but the hostel has a clean shared kitchen with basic equipment (plates, cups, pans, water boilers, small oven, coffee maker)--so you can cook as well. The staff is friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dian H
DanHostel_Ribe_DK, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy that you paid attention to our environmental friendly policy. It means a lot to us. You are not supposed to vacuum clean the room or make the beds - our staff do the cleaning - we just ask you to sort your waste for recycling and normal garbage and...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We chose to stay at the Ribe Danhostel after reading internet reviews and were not disappointed. This was our first experience of staying in a Danhostel. Staff were helpful and friendly, the hostel itself is well organised and clean with very good amenities and is in an excellent location, being just a few minutes walk from the centre of Ribe,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_sh0es
DanHostel_Ribe_DK, Chef  at Danhostel Ribe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are happy that you liked our hostel - and we can tell you that our rooms on the top floor are the best we have (also a little more expensive) . We are also happy that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet, we try only to serve the best products of...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ribe hotels
0.8 km away
Ribe Byferie
Ribe Byferie
#1 of 6 in Ribe
104 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Dagmar
Hotel Dagmar
#2 of 6 in Ribe
204 reviews
0.4 km away
Den Gamle Arrest
Den Gamle Arrest
#5 of 6 in Ribe
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Ribe
Hotel Ribe
#3 of 6 in Ribe
27 reviews
0.6 km away
Den Gamle Kobmandsgard
1.6 km away
Storkesoen Ribe
Storkesoen Ribe
#2 of 5 in Ribe
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Danhostel Ribe

Address: Sct Peders Gade 16, Ribe, Esbjerg 6760, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg > Ribe
Price Range: RM333 - RM395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Danhostel Ribe 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Danhostel Ribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Danhostel Ribe staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Danhostel Ribe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“View on the city is very nice”
 of 5 bubbles 440daanm, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Actually no advice here - but it seemed to me all restaurants in Ribe close at 9.00pm so eat before!”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of Ribe!”
 of 5 bubbles PaulG78, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Away from the breakfast hall”
 of 5 bubbles safiaq, 25 May 2015 | Read review
“The room with city view is very nice and recommended.”
 of 5 bubbles DianH904, 3 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay