We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (579)
Room & Suite (180)
Dining (40)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fosshotel Nupar is at highway 1 about 25 km east of Kirkjubaejarklaustur. The surroundings is known for its spectacular views. The hotel offers friendly, good service and a still atmosphere in a beautiful surroundings of Vatnajökull National Park. All of our rooms have private facilities and a beautiful view. Fosshotel Nupar is open all year.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
Nupar, Kalfafell, Kirkjubaejarklaustur 880 Iceland
Getting there
Akureyri Airport194 km
See all nearby hotels
863Reviews
591Photos
16Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 351
  • 215
  • 84
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+2
Don't be fooled by the very nice exterior and nicely decorated lobby and lounge of the hotel. Once you get inside your room it looks like a motel albeit with a less depressing decorations. I was quite disappointed with these accommodations. It was the most expensive hotel among
Read more
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Nupar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were let down by certain aspects of your stay with us. Thank yo for your constructive comments, they are important to us in order to improve. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, Hanna
Read more
+4
This was my favorite hotel during my time in Iceland! We stayed here after traveling along the coast from Reykjavik. It was a busy day and these accommodations were a great was to end it! Surrounded by nothing but nature and amazing views each room had a little back porch that
Read more
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Nupar
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the location, we are certainly in the middle of nowhere and the scenery here can be quite spectacular. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, Hanna
Read more
We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. Hall and common areas are renovated with design elements. Room and bathroom looked very old, like it was made in the 80's. In general all was clean but room needed more maintenance (linoleum was broken in several spots and shower courtain
Read more
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Nupar
Responded 9 Jan 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you felt left down with certain aspects of your stay. I do wish you would have mentioned any shortcomings during your stay, it is of course our priority to ensure our guests comfort and I am sorry this was not the case for you. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, Hanna
Read more
Before we left for Iceland November 20, 2018 we checked up on Foss Hotel, Nupar. Frankly we felt concerned after reading several online reviews. We checked in on Nov 25th and were pleasantly surprised. Never mind it is in the 'middle of nowhere', the accommodation was
Read more
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Nupar
Responded 13 Dec 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, Hanna
Read more
We stayed here on our honeymoon around Iceland. Having stayed at the Fosshotel in Myvatn earlier in our holiday we were expecting a similar standard. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed. The hotel was nice enough and staff were in the main friendly & helpful. We arrived
Read more
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Nupar
Responded 11 Dec 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, is is something that we work hard on. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, Hanna
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Plastic spoon deformed from a hot water
Room
Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
PreviousNext
12345636
Good afternoon, Thank you for your question. If you have booked a superior room it does have a new bathroom. All our superior rooms are new, modern and updated. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kindest regards, Hanna
0 votes
Show all answers
I don't remember exact time sorry! but I recalled breakfast room opened early. I think if you have to leave early you can arrange with them.They are very nice and accomdationg
0 votes
Show all answers
What time is breakfast? Thanks,
I remember it ended at 10am. But we weren't rushed to leave, which was nice.
1 vote
Show all answers
We stayed in a triple room last month and there was a hair dryer in the bathroom.
1 vote
Show all answers
Difficult to know but as others have said, very little interference from the work. Only inconvenience is parking near the temporary entrance for unloading cases etc.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"Ask for a "non" parking lot view room."
"They are likely all the same -- but I'd asked for quiet, and thus was at the furthest point from reception."
"Try and get a room that isn't at the far end of either accomodation wing"
"Rooms at the back face the mountains. The front faces the parking lot."
"Eat elsewhere for dinner"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$118 - US$303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Islandia Hotel Nupar
LOCATION
IcelandSouth RegionKirkjubaejarklaustur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing