We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oriel House Hotel

Save
Share
Main Street, Ballincollig, Cork Ireland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$192
US$116
View deal
Free cancellation until 31/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$116
Booking.com
Trip.comUS$192
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (372)
Room & Suite (141)
Dining (28)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Oriel House Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Ballincollig, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to room service while staying at Oriel House Hotel. In addition, Oriel Hotel offers a pool and an on-site restaurant, which will help make your Ballincollig trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Ballincollig ribs restaurant such as The White Horse, which is a short distance from Oriel House Hotel.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular castles such as Ballincollig Castle.

Enjoy your stay in Ballincollig!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Babysitting
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
1389Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 607
  • 395
  • 176
  • 112
  • 99
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
G M wrote a review 22 Jul
Dundalk, Ireland123 contributions64 helpful votes
We were a family of 4 staying for 4 nights. This was a disappointing stay in which we expected more from a ⭐⭐⭐⭐ rating. At best i'd give it ⭐⭐. The rooms were very dated looking with some not having air conditioning. It advertised free WiFi but that didn't work half the time. Bar service was the worst I have experienced in a long time. We waited up to 25 mins for drinks on different occasions and this was even at quiet times. It was near impossible to pay for drinks as I had to keep asking staff members 4 times to settle bills. Breakfast was so-so. However the sausages seemed reheated and bacon was like rubber. I ended up having continental breakfast for the final 2 mornings which was mediocre. Dinner was tasty however I had to wait 30 mins (cheesecake) for my desert when the rest of my family got theirs immediately. On a plus side, the hotel was very clean and staff were polite albeit slow at times. The pool and leisure end was well staffed and clean. After spending the guts of 12+ months in lockdown I expected a more enjoyable experience than this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciara Barry, Marketing at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Good afternoon, I send to you my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. The fact you had to wait so long for your food is completely unacceptable and not at all the experience we want for our guests I can assure you we are putting the correct training and strategies in place for our team to avoid these occurrence from happening in the future. I have passed along your feedback to our head chef who will take all on board and we will improve our offerings. Please accept our apologies for the issues encountered with the WIFI. We were frantically trying to get this unforeseen issues rectified but unfortunately we had to wait for engineers to come on site to fix this problem therefore it was out of our control. Management were on site and handling all complaints being mad so I'm very sorry to hear you were not given the opportunity to speak to a manager. I am happy to confirm the WIFI has been resolved and back up and running I do hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel once again and I would personally be happy to look after your stay. Should you require anything in the future, please ask for myself directly as I would be very happy to assist Many thanks, Ciara
Read more
Alan K wrote a review 21 Jul
1 contribution
We stayed here in july 2021. The hotel is nice with nice outdoor areas and quite nice inside rooms are decent and air con a godsendas it was a hot week. Tvs are a bit dated and small and tv reception poor.We did not use the gym or leisure facilities so cant comment. We found the staff friendly and helpful but at times the service was let down because the resturant staff were under resourced and too busy basically. Food on the whole was good breakdast good but we had set meal on the voucher we purchased. After the no wifi dissapointment we were alittle angered by the lack of main course options on the set dinner menu-salmon a pasta dish and steak for an extra 10eur each . We felt a little railroaded into ordering steak for extra 20eur because we didnt like the other 2 main courses. We asked repeatedly about no broadband got the impression from hotel staff that virgin have let them down recently but reading a review from June no wifi for a month! NO WIFi for a 4 star hotel feel a little ripped off even though hotel is decent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciara Barry, Marketing at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
I send to you my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay, these are completely unacceptable and should not have happened. Making your trip to us more stressful certainly was not our intention for you I can assure you we are putting the correct training and strategies in place for our team to avoid these occurrence from happening in the future. Please accept our apologies for the issues encountered with the WIFI. We were frantically trying to get this unforeseen issues rectified but unfortunately we had to wait for engineers to come on site to fix this problem therefore it was out of our control. I am happy to confirm the WIFI has been resolved and back up and running I do hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel once again and I would personally be happy to look after your stay. Should you require anything in the future, please ask for myself directly as I would be very happy to assist Many thanks Ciara
Read more
Ella F wrote a review 21 Jul
1 contribution
Awful stay, so bad we left a day early. We had no Wifi the entire stay. The reception staff were rude, probably because they had to deal with customers complaining about the wifi and long wait for food. Management were none existent. How on earth you can you advertise high speed wifi and not have any? A really awful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciara Barry, Marketing at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Good afternoon Ella, Please accept our apologies for the issues encountered with the WIFI. We were frantically trying to get this unforeseen issues rectified but unfortunately we had to wait for engineers to come on site to fix this problem therefore it was out of our control. Management were on site and handling all complaints being mad so I'm very sorry to hear you were not given the opportunity to speak to a manager. I am happy to confirm the WIFI has been resolved and back up and running I hope the rest of your experience was lovely apart from the WIFI. Thank you Ciara
Read more
Tippgirl25 wrote a review 20 Jul
4 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here with our daughter in June and we were so excited as we had been away for a long time due to covid. The day I booked it I rang the hotel to book breakfast and a slot for swimming. We got to the hotel around 3.20 and proceeded to the desk to check in. The gentleman told us our room was not ready so I asked him how long it would be as we needes to change iur daughters clothes ect to head back out. A very rude lady came over and said check in is not til 4 o clock. To which I replied I have recieved a confirmation email which stated 3 which I had also checked on the phone when booking breakfast ect. She simply and rudely replied with covid its 4, so I said you should ammend your times on the emails you sent then. The man said he would ring housekeeping and then we were told to come back at 4. So we sat in the lobby and could see other guests doing the same. At 4.10 I joined the queue again and thankfully got other other receptionist who said she would need to check with house keeping if it was ready after ringing they got no answer and a manager/supervisor came amd went to check as the queue was getting longer. That girl chatted to me and was very nice so after a couple of minutes she said it was ready. She asked about pre auth on my card but I said I would prefer to pay now as we were heading out and woukd not be eating in the hotel. So she took the payment told us the relevant informarion and we went off to the room. Later in the evening when we came back it was beyond warm so went to reception to ask and the lady in front of me was also complaining about her air con not working in her room aswell which we were just a few rooms apart and he said he would have somebody look at it which never happened. Next morning went to breakfast and it was fine. Went swimming afterwards and this facility was very good. On check out the lady told me I needed to pay for the room to which I responded I had already paid yesterday so she asked if I had a way to show her proof as there was nothing in the system. So I got my online banking and showed her and she said okay thats fine I will sort it I dont know where she put it. I also am a receptionist ay a hotel and would never dream of speaking to a custoenr the way that lady spoke to me on arrival. It left a bad taste from the beginning. She had also mentioned that "we were full last night like". Which I understand as it happens a lot but you would try be nice and accomodating where possible which she most certaibely was not. Would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciara Barry, Marketing at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Good afternoon I send to you my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay, these are completely unacceptable and should not have happened. Making your trip to us more stressful certainly was not our intention for you I can assure you we are putting the correct training and strategies in place for our team to avoid these occurrence from happening in the future. Please be aware that we are doing our very best and are working tirelessly trying to ensure our guests stays are relaxed and memorable. I do hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel once again and I would personally be happy to look after your stay. Should you require anything in the future, please ask for myself directly as I would be very happy to assist Many thanks Ciara
Read more
ok f wrote a review 19 Jul
Galway17 contributions18 helpful votes
For the love of God will ye tell us guests when you expect the internet to be fixed, no Wi-Fi and no explanation for it. Ask at reception and they fob you off. Dinner service is slow, they gave us free dessert for the long wait. So far a very disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Ciara Barry, Marketing at Oriel House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Good afternoon, Please accept our apologies for the issues encountered with the WIFI. We were frantically trying to get this unforeseen issues rectified but unfortunately we had to wait for engineers to come on site to fix this problem therefore it was out of our control. I am happy to confirm the WIFI has been resolved and back up and running Thank you Ciara
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oriel hotel cork, oriel house hotel
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkBallincollig
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oriel House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Oriel House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mary O Connells Bar (0.8 km), Royal Gunpowder Mills (1.0 km), and The Reel Cinema (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oriel House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Oriel House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oriel House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The White Horse, Good for the Soul, and Drumstix.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Oriel House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Ballincollig.
Are any cleaning services offered at Oriel House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Oriel House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Oriel House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blarney Castle & Gardens (5.0 km), Cork City Gaol (7.1 km), and Old Cork Waterworks Experience (6.3 km).
Is Oriel House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.