We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,283: English reviews
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel is nice. Clean and good Golf is great Service is lacking. They just don't seem to get it. They take themselves very seriously but it's a ship without a rudder They do not seem to get that customer service is as important as they think of their self Nothing major just lots of little things Like fitting us into... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Danmansseattle
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Danmansseattle, Thank you for posting your Trip Advisor review. I appreciate your open and constructive feedback. I will ensure we learn from your feedback and I apologise for the areas where we did not meet your expectation. Please do feel free to contact me personally if I can assist you in any other way. Yours sincerely Lucius Farrell Deputy... More 

Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

we played golf and had a meal in golf club bar the golf was excellent and the course is out of this world the facilities fantastic the food in the bar where excellent and the price wasn't to bad the beer was also good.

Helpful?
Thank brownie116
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear brownie116, Thank you for writing your Trip Advisor review and than you for the positive feedback . We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely Lucius Farrell Deputy General Manager Carton House Hotel Maynooth Co Kildare Ireland Telephone: 01 6517792 Email:lfarrell@cartonhouse.com More 

galway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We stayed in Carton house mid week last week and we were very disappointed. This was our 4th stay in Carton House. In the past we stayed for two visits staying for three nights in the hotels suites in the old house and once visit for one night to a standard room in the newer part of the hotel. This... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank ghead
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear ghead, Thank you for taking the time to share your Trip Advisor review. I am sorry that there were a number of areas pertaining to your stay which did not meet your expectation. This feedback is important to us as it will assist us align our product with levels of service in a view to improving areas of the... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

This is a fine hotel in a lovely location and there's a lot that's very good about it. Food is good, really good and some of the staff are really on top of their game but they could do things a little better and be great. It can get very busy as it is used for a lot of corporate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Imeacht
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Imeacht, Thank you for posting your Trip Advisor review. We appreciate your constructive feedback. I will ensure we learn from your feedback with a view to improving all areas of our product and service. Yours sincerely Lucius Farrell Deputy General Manager Carton House Hotel Maynooth Co Kildare Ireland Telephone: 01 6517792 Email:lfarrell@cartonhouse.com More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

I was attending friends wedding and wasn't disappointed . Food and Venu was fab , really was .. Lucky it was a nice day as we where able to walk grounds was lovely . Rooms where nice and clean modern , only downside was not a great selection off beer and cider in draught and bit pricey !

Helpful?
Thank paul649
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Paul 649, Than you for posting your Trip Advisor review. I will ensure to share your positive experience with the entire team. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely Lucius Farrell Deputy General Manager Carton House Hotel Maynooth Co Kildare Ireland Telephone: 01 6517792 Email:lfarrell@cartonhouse.com More 

Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Quite disappointed with the impersonal staff. Getting to our bedroom was a long trek. There was a private BBQ outside in the smoking area and I asked was there anywhere else to sit down and have a smoke. The girl and man on reception looked completely blank and then eventually suggested a 2 minute walk down to the club house.

Helpful?
2 Thank maryM6443RD
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear maryM6443RD, Than you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review. I apologise for that fact that you were unable avail of our court yard due to a private event. I do hope the over experience does not deter you from choosing our hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely Lucius Farrell Dear suskhatru Thank you for... More 

Inverness
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We left Carton House Hotel today having stayed for the last three nights. I can't describe how disappointed we were with so many aspects of the hotel. As other reviews have stated, the grounds ( including the golf courses) are quite magnificent and allow a huge range of opportunities for walking etc.......but the hotel itself was little more than a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank suskhatru
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear suskhatru Thank you for taking the time to post your extensive Trip Advisor review. I am truly sorry that the hotel and service did not meet your expectation. I appreciate your open and honest feedback, we as a hotel endeavour to deliver excellence in all aspects of our product and service, I am sorry on this occasion that this... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Hotel is well signposted and easy to find. Reception check in was friendly and efficient. Wifi login details weren't offered - I had to ask. Neither was I asked if I wanted to book a reservation for dinner in the Linden restaurant. The room was very large and clean. Huge queen been and extra child bed. Bathroom spacious and very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Agredable
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Agredable, Thank you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review. I am truly sorry that our pool area did not live up to expectation. I will ensure to review this feedback with our Leisure and Pool team. I am also sorry that the Wi Fi coverage was sporadic. We endeavour to deliver consistency and excellence in... More 

Feusisberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We arrived and found that we could not play golf for the first two days due to corporate events. The third morning we were given a tee time in the middle of a junior competition 8we did not want to spend 5 or more hours for a round. Disappointed! Restaurant OK (presentation mostly over the top but the quality was... More 

Helpful?
Thank royvocking
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear royandchristine, Than you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review. I am sorry that the hotel was unable to facilitate your preferred tee times due to corporate commitments, I am also sorry that we did not have more sports channels available to you during your stay. I will ensure we learn from your feedback with a... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

. My husband and I went to Carton House for our anniversary treat at the beginning of September,this was my husbands first visit and I had been there a few times before. The staff knew that this was a special occasion for us and we were overwhelmed with the attention that we got. Reception staff, the waiting staff and above... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 562emme
HLaraway, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear 562emme, Thank you for positing your Trip Advisor review and thank you for the positive feedback. I will share this feedback with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future. Yours sincerely Lucius Farrell Deputy General Manager More 

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (385)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
10.1 km away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
769 reviews
23.3 km away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
5.9 km away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
2.0 km away
Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
6.2 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Price Range: RM799 - RM1,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carton House Hotel & Golf Club staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Derry, United Kingdom
ireland

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Carton House Hotel & Golf Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Earl's room in east wing is very spacious, but a little dark as it only has two half-windows.”
 of 5 bubbles _rd_gynae, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the views from the old prt of the building re fantastic try to get one of these if possible”
 of 5 bubbles Bilconi, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I personally prefer the O'Meara course , I think it is visually nicer but I know the Montgomery course is also very demanding.”
 of 5 bubbles johnhE356ST, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms in the Old House, stay in a piece of history.”
 of 5 bubbles 458greggp, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the old house!”
 of 5 bubbles gbriody, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay