We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ghan House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ghan House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took over Ghan house for a wedding and it was superb. A beautiful house in a serene setting. The staff were friendly and efficient, thanks especially to Paul and Orla. The food was delicious. Lovely homemade preserves were served with breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. The bedrooms were comfortable and remote button for turning on the shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

To have Ghan House exclusively for your very own wedding is the only way to go. Glad you enjoyed us - as much as we enjoyed looking after you and your guests! Thanks for taking the time to write about us and enjoy all we have to offer.

bray ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was really looking forward to dinner here after hearing about it for years. I had lamb. It was fairly cold and was served with one small piece of onion and a small lamb sausage. Very peculiar. No vegetables on side except some nice mashed potato. The gravy was insipid and looked like very thick Bisto. The table top was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank michaelsheridan
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Yes, you are correct - our reputation is based over many years – 23 years now. As you say, you heard many good things about us over many years from many different people. We value consistency and quality of food and service. We value all our guests, many of them returning time & again. You visited us, once. I’m sorry...

Ratoath, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had a wee break up here recently. We have wanted to stay here for quite a while having been regular visitors to the beautiful village of Carlingford. The house did not disappoint at all. From the moment we drove in the gate and the walked through the green door until we left, was very enjoyable. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun K
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Well Shaun It's amazing how people like you can really dig what we do. We love the character of Ghan House and glad most of our guests like you do too! And yes, you are correct - it's great to have the grand piano played - however - guests who used to sit near the piano - could not hear...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't know why I've never got around to write a review of Carlingford and Ghan House before now. Maybe it's because I've been to the village so often, and enjoyed so many great nights in Ghan House that it feels like second nature. Whatever the reason, there's no time like the present to make amends. Everyone who knows me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Well Marc If Carlsberg could write reviews - they should contact you! You're appreciation of all that we do - it's the little details that really do matter to us also! You are obviously able to enjoy your self when you go away. And enjoy the finer things in life. Thank you for taking the time to write about us....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here for our first wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere from the blue book that was not too far from Dublin and had open fires as we both love to relax by a fire. We had the same issue that I now see other reviewers referred to-the cold welcome we received from the front of house gentleman. He wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

“We have found that the welcome from the House is always genuine and each member of staff there seems to take personal & professional pride in their role.” “The rooms are incredibly comfortable and you can tell that each piece of furniture has been chosen with care to compliment the overall feel of the room. I particularly love the bed...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have visited Ghan House 3 times in a little over a year, most recently last week, and hope to revisit soon after Christmas. That's how much we've come to love this family run country house. It has proven a haven for both of us during challenging times and has allowed us to relax in style. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mvron
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Isn't is amazing how most guests who stay with us really do understand that we enjoy working and being here as much you do staying here! We are continually looking at ways of improvement and that is why we are recognised over a long period of time - since 1998 - by many of the professional guidebooks who benchmark us...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really nice country hotel-brilliant location-great access to both the town and to really nice walks-food is excellent and staff really pleasant and efficent-nice food in the village and some antique shops

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brian c
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Short & sweet - simple! You obviously spend your time enjoying yourself rather than writing a long winded review! Yes - we are just a tree length from Medieval Carlingford - just 50 metres from our walled gardens, great sea & mountain walks and all excellent cafes, restaurants and shops - likewise just a stone's throw away. Look forward to...

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 1 November 2016

My husband and I stayed in Ghan House for 2 nights over the Halloween weekend. very enjoyable stay and must say we were very well looked after from the friendly welcome at check in to very good service at breakfast and dinner on the second night in the hotel. Our bedroom was in the annex and had a small seating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank limlady2010
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Thank you for appreciating all we have to offer - the gardens at this time of year are amazing - rusts and yellows - it's a shame to rake up the leaves. Thanks for noticing all the little touches - our hand made soaps, shampoos, conditioner and body lotion - our feather non allergic pillows (treated up to 105 degrees,...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Having visited Carlingford a least once a year for the last ten years, I'd been longing to stay in the Ghan House. Wish now we'd booked into one of the b&bs we'd used before. Even the seemingly over priced Four Seasons has proved better value than Ghan House. Maybe my expectations were too high but I was immediately uneasy when...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lizann62
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Sometimes a review says much more about the person than where they actually stayed;- Let the facts speak for themselves; The wait for your dessert was interrupted by smoking break. Everything you wanted seemed to be on your timescale – your husband was waiting for you in the bar, he asked us to move your table time in the restaurant...

Maine
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Nice country home located just a few steps from the medieval gate to the village and only a short walk to the waterfront. Our room was in the new building and was fine, although a bit over priced when compared to other equally nice places were stayed in while touring Ireland. Breakfast was only average and didn't measure up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thumper9
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. And appreciating our walled grounds. And also appreciating our staff who have all been with us a long time and have pride & joy in their work. Next time you stay, treat yourself and have a drink in our bar or in our enclosed walled gardens with magnificent views of...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
595 reviews
0.5 km away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
60 reviews
11.4 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
290 reviews
15.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
0.5 km away
Belvedere House
Belvedere House
#4 of 13 in Carlingford
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Ghan House

Address: 2 Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Carlingford
Price Range: RM695 - RM894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghan House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ghan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghan House Hotel Carlingford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ghan House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ghan House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in front facing rooms for the best views”
 of 5 bubbles MarcC601, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles C1579MVbrianc, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Vire form our room in the main house was beautiful - looking out to the MOurne Mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles gwalshom, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the section away from the house got some bad reviews on this site but I found our room to be excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles timothyi2015, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are probably equally quiet”
 of 5 bubbles T6489ZBdavidm, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay