We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Compleat Angler

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Compleat Angler
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,862: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Compleat Angler
 Click to rate
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived on a wonderfully sunny afternoon, and the location was perfect right by the Thames, the sun shone across the water and just made it look so inviting, the car park was full so we assumed it would be packed inside, however it was busy but not that you felt it, on arrival it was a bit disjointed as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hairylenghts
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I arranged a night away for 22 old school friends 22 years after we left school. From the moment I contacted the Compleat Angler the help and service I received was amazing. Our dinner bed and breakfast rate was very reasonable and suited everyone's budget. Sophie Davies in the events team really listened to everything we needed and she had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank motormouth76
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Turned up for lunch in the restaurant overlooking the river. Nice view. Restaurant virtually empty. Menu very limited so asked if we could order from the bar menu for part of the meal. Told if we order from this menu we need to sit inside the bar area even though the restaurant was empty. Staff pretentious and so unfriendly. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We got married at this hotel, 17 years ago, and have been back many times, but only once for a stay. So it was lovely to pull into to the car park, unpack the car, and be greeted so genuinely at reception. Even though we were early, our room was just being finished, so the really helpful concierge took our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiallJanet
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind review following your stay with us at Macdonald Compleat Angler. I'm delighted that to note that enjoyed your room with a view. Thank you for your kind comments regarding members of my team and the quality of breakfast served to you. I do hope you will find another reason to return to Marlow and enjoy...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We first experienced Atol Kocher's cuisine aboard the Azura, so much so we booked twice. The food well what can I say the flavors were exquisite and the service was impeccable. We don’t eat out too often because we are tired of disappointment, especially when you have to pay for the displeasure. We had none of this at Sindhu. Last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne I
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience in Sindhu. I am delighted to note your kind comments and will certainly share these with the team in Sindhu.

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pretty small town west of London, right by the river Themes. Good location for visits to London, Henley, Oxford. Love the Compleat Angler - nice, very British Hotel with style. Good selective English breakfast. Nice views.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stephanthun
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for talking the time to provide feedback. I am delighted to learn of your experience and look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been coming to this hotel since I was small with my parents and it was always seen as a treat. I even had my 18th birthday here, along with celebrating family weddings and funerals alike. We live in Switzerland, but come from the area and often come home to visit family. We decided to book for a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lucy C
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to learn that my front office team looked after you well and that the quality of food served to you in the Riverside Restaurant was in line with expectations. I have noted your feedback on the accommodation offered to you. I am disappointed to learn of your experience...

San Rafael, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a pleasant one night stay so as to be close to LHR airport to catch an early morning flight back to SFO the next day and the food in the Riverside restaurant was remarkably good and the staff most professional. Unfortunately, the barman didn't know how to make a Manhattan, but I let that slide and ordered a Vodka...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haighsf
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to learn that my team looked after you well and that the quality of food served to you in the Riverside Restaurant was in line with expectations. I was concerned to learn of your experience in the Walton Bar and shall certainly ensure that training takes place with...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am writing this review whilst I am in the hotel and overall I am very disappointed. The rooms are small, in need of some tlc and for what the price is per night I find extortionate. We were kindly given a room upgrade so I would have hated to see the room we were in before. Unfortunately there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colette L
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback during your stay at the hotel. I am disappointed to learn of your experience and equally that you did not ask to speak to the Duty Manager whilst at the hotel to express your dissatisfaction with the accommodation. This would have provided us with an opportunity to address the issues whilst...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked in for one night bed and breakfast, I contacted the Hotel the day before to see if we could check in early as we were due at another venue before the normal check in time; they were very helpful, on arrival we were given an early check in and also a room upgrade, the room was very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank B
GMWebster, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind review following your stay at Macdonald Compleat Angler. I'm delighted that you managed to enjoy your room with a view. Thank you for your kind comments regarding members of my team and the quality of the breakfast. I do hope you will find another reason to return to Marlow and enjoy Macdonald Compleat Angler again...

356 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (327)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
3.9 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
1.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
908 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
737 reviews
14.8 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Riverside Restaurant
Riverside Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Price Range: RM823 - RM1,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Compleat Angler staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Compleat Angler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a river-view room”
 of 5 bubbles NiallJanet, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are quite different, you want one of the new (no 80's and 90's) or 11/12 are charming. Some others are a little worn out or noisy”
 of 5 bubbles stephanthun, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't have a room in the old building, especially not Rm 10.”
  • Dirty old taps
  • Dirty, old taps
  • Dirty bath handle
  • Dirt in tile grout and bath seal
  • Mildew inside the tiles and shower screen
  • Flies and dirt in light
  • TV Remotes held together with sellotape, or no back at all
 of 5 bubbles 296lucyc, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure the windows are closed!”
 of 5 bubbles gundogjh, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Look for ground floor if you are taking a lot of luggage with you.”
 of 5 bubbles Paulina_Z_WL, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5