We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Compleat Angler

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Compleat Angler
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,800 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Compleat Angler
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,789: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Stayed at this hotel many years ago and it was a real treat. On this last visit we were very dissapointed to find rooms no better than average and the most shambolic breakfast set up imaginable. 1 hour plus to get a really average and wrong breakfast is unacceptable at any level, let alone these prices. Fortunately not a business...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mojac11
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for letting me know about your latest visit. I do appreciate that the morning in question we experienced unforeseen service challenges due to a high level of team illnesses which left us all in a very busy environment, recovering and trying our hardest to deliver the service. This is not excusable and one we couldn't have planned for....

Woking
Reviewed 1 June 2016

To noisy !!!! room 007 when wedding reception is booked had to go down stairs until reception finished as couldn't sleep or watch TV as to loud Booked through laterooms.com Overcharged on checkout. Location is beautiful by the river with a lovely bridge and weir to look at. Just to over priced for the room we had

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G2189UQjacquelinem
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Jacqueline Many thanks for letting me know about Room 7 and that you could unfortunately hear the wedding entertainment. We do have clear finish times for any entertainment and we try our very hardest to allocate any wedding parties to the rooms nearest the event space. I do apologise if you were disturbed whilst the Wedding celebrations took place. As...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Good points: Majestic hotel in a beautiful location, friendly staff, nice English breakfast (when we did finally get it). Not so good points: Room quite small, overlooking carpark. Carpet in room and throughout hotel in need of a good clean, or replacement. Service at breakfast very slow and disorganised, felt like we were on the set of Fawlty Towers. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JackM0
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Jack Many thanks for letting me know your feedback following your most recent stay with us at the Compleat Angler. I do appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast you experienced last weekend, we were put in a very unfortunate and unusual situation due to a high level of team illnesses. This was unexpected and unplanned for, leaving the remainder of...

Mitcham
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Poor service, dirty cups in room. Waiter who forgot our drinks order. Could not have tea as no clean tea pots. Cannot get served at breakfast. Great location & the excellent Atul Kochhar restaurant does not make up for very poor service from a so called 4 star hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 981imeldan
Mitcham, Surrey
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This was a surprise as birthday gift from my partner for an overnight stay. I had no idea where I was being taken and upon arrival at the hotel my heart sank when I saw the name "MacDonald" as I had experienced very poor service at one of their sister hotels some 7 months previously. However, I put this behind...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Su D
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Su I would like to firstly start by apologising for the obvious short comings both on the Lawn and at breakfast. We are working hard at recruiting fresh new talent into the property and training them to the Macdonald standards. I can assure you that everyone at the hotel takes pride in their work and has the desire to ensure...

Pershore
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Extremely enjoyable visit. First time in Marlow.. Hope to return. Staff all professional and attentive despite being very busy with weddings etc..,We had an upgrade which gave us some extra space and an excellent view from the balcony.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond F
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Raymond I'm delighted your stay was extremely enjoyable and that Marlow had a lot to offer you throughout your stay. In particular I'm pleased to hear the team were professional and attentive throughout a busy time and your room allocation was an additional treat. I do look forward to welcoming you back again when next in Marlow. Regards Andrew Creese...

London
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I was staying for one night for a wedding in the area. I would love to come back to visit this hotel in the future and stay for longer. The staff were very helpful when I arrived and when I was leaving.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sagerevell
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for letting me know about your first visit to the Compleat Angler. Really pleased to hear just how excellent you found it. Do keep a look out for Macdonald promotions on our website for seasonal pricing, you should have been signed up on your arrival registration. Alternatively great deals can be booked directly via the Macdonald site. I...

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed with my husband and friends for my anniversary and the location of the hotel is great and setting is wonderful! You are 2 minute walk to all the shops, bars and restaurants! The rooms were lovely and had everything you needed and a good size. But the staff had a 'can't be bothered' attitude (this didn't include...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nugenthorne_79
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to pass your feedback following your recent stay with us for your anniversary. We are very fortunate with our location on the Thames and how close we are to everything Marlow has to offer. Our Lawn officially opened the following week with all atmosphere you'd expect, with a team to be able to deliver...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Went for lunch - Service was slow, but food was delicious, wonderful to be able to sit watching the river, took coffee outside, friendly staff. Both set menu and a la carte, busy and popular, can park which is useful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VBorwick
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Many thanks for letting us know about your visit to the Riverside Restaurant. I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the team as they really do appreciate hearing when they get it right and when guests enjoy their experience with us. I do look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy our Lunch Market Menu, hopefully the...

Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We brought close friends from South Africa to enjoy a quintessential English afternoon tea by Marlow Wier. Service appalling, food scant & mediocre & the smell from the nearby toilets unsavoury ....all in all a huge disappointment, we will not return or recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris W
Andrew C, General Manager at Macdonald Compleat Angler, responded to this review

Chris Many thanks for letting me know about your Afternoon Tea experience with us. Naturally I'm disappointed to hear that you felt the service and portion size was not as expected. We do offer complimentary top ups to all guests when having Afternoon Tea so there should never be an issue with portion size or guests not having enough. I...

319 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (290)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marlow
3.9 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
1.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Marlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
854 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
706 reviews
7.5 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Riverside Restaurant
Riverside Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after Izaak Walton's famous book on angling, the beautiful four-red star Macdonald Compleat Angler is idyllically located on the banks of the River Thames. The hotel is just a short walk from the Georgian town of Marlow, 10 minutes drive from the M4 and just over an hour away from Central London by train. Beautiful both inside and out, enjoy mouthwatering meals from the recently refurbished, three AA rosette-awarded Riverside Restaurant overlooking Marlow Weir or delicious afternoon tea on the terrace. Alternatively, dine in Sindhu by Michelin-starred Indian Chef, Atul Kochhar. For meetings, strategy days or conferences, our meeting facilities are ideal and our 2 brand new SMART board technology board rooms perfect for inspiring great ideas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Compleat Angler

Address: Marlow Bridge, Marlow SL7 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Marlow
Price Range: RM784 - RM1,353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Compleat Angler 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Compleat Angler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Compleat Angler Marlow
Macdonald Compleat Angler Hotel Marlow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Compleat Angler staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Compleat Angler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is only one lift which is at the far end of the hotel. Otherwise you scale a number of stairs both up and down to get to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles FransTadley_UK, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely but if you want a big one you should go for the more expensive ones”
 of 5 bubbles gordapril, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 12 has a great view”
 of 5 bubbles alanpeterborough, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“book for dining”
 of 5 bubbles 21Redfox, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 16 - noisy next to stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 722simonb, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay