We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Woodside Cottage

Save
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackawton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of Woodside Cottage
 Click to rate
Yatton
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night in March 2010 and we had a lovely stay at Woodside Cottage. Tim and Sally were great hosts, charming and helpful. Tim gave us a lift to the village pub where we had a delicious meal. The breakfast was good quality. Lots of home-made bread and jams. Excellent sausages and bacon....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulsmith310
bournemouth
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Very welcoming, hospitable, friendly atmosphere. Unfortunately due to bad weather stay was curtailed but will definitely return at some point in the future to enjoy another stay. Wonderful cottage with the most beautiful surroundings. Food excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sydney69
Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Although we have stayed here before, this time our visit was a little disappointing. We were surprised to see tinned fruit in a 4* breakfast, when fresh local fruit was in abundance. The hosts' absence (visiting family for a weekend) wasn't helpful when there was no electricity supply to the shower in the bathroom, and the stand-in house sitter wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maisielane
Arnoldson, Owners at Woodside Cottage, responded to this review

We are family people and there are times when our family commitments must prevail. It isn't fair to expect our stand-in to match our exacting standards, though we still think she does remarkaby well. It was of course sod's law that a fuse would blow on the power shower just when we weren't around, but at least the hot water...

WARWICKSHIRE
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The house and location were beautiful.On arrival our hosts were not there but we were met by a very nice lady and we had a good couple of nights stay until the hosts (Sally and Tim) returned.We are both smokers and are very aware that we are not allowed to smoke indoors and do not do so in our own...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank THOMASWarwickshire
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2009

The accommodation here is average and certainly not luxury. Whilst the owners were pleasant, if quirky and egocentric, the hospitality left a lot to be desired: the cake on arrival was covered in nuts-when I said my husband was allergic to nuts the owner ate it himself! If you didn't eat all the very badly cooked breakfast loud comments are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
Arnoldson, Owners at Woodside Cottage, responded to this review

We quote exactly what we say in a leaflet in all our rooms about leaving times: "Although we hesitate to impose any rules, we ask for your understanding that we must service our rooms every day, so we normally expect them to be vacated by 1030 (not 1000) in the morning." Courteously expressed, we hope. Unreasonable? Certainly not. We would...

bristol
Reviewed 2 March 2009

I booked the stay at Woodside as a Valentines treat as the location was perfect, just outside of Dartmouth and gave wide access to the surrounding area. Before I had even finalised the booking Tim, the owner, made me feel welcome while we discussed the booking on the phone and this contined on arrival. The local knowledge was great with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sooperdave
bermuda
Reviewed 20 February 2009

When you need to get away and you want peace and quiet and ambience and don't want to spend a fortune...go to Woodside Cottage! Have just had a wonderful couple of nights at Woodside Cottage with a lovely warm welcome from the proprietors Tim and Sally, who instantly made us feel at home with tea and lovely home made cakes....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank onderock
cheltenham
Reviewed 14 January 2009

I had decided to go to dartmouth for new years with some friends but all hotels in town were full so we managed to get two rooms at woodside, upon arrival the owner Tim seemed quite shocked to see four girls and not couples but welcomed us and gave us some fresh tea and coffee and some yummy home made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joannehug
Arnoldson, Joint Owner at Woodside Cottage, responded to this review

Perhaps the ultimate nightmare for owners of an upmarket B&B like ours is the thought of our lovely home being taken over by hen or stag parties intent on a night out in town. However well intentioned our guests might be, it seems almost inevitable that they will cause some damage to our property or its fabric. This might take...

USA
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Dear Traveler, If the sound of birds singing in the trees and cows and sheep grazing on impossibly green hillsides outside of your primrose covered windows annoy you, then do not stay at Woodside Cottage. If your skip breakfast slumbers would be disturbed by the cooking smells of sausage, bacon and homemade bread, then by all means do not stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank farmergirlUsa
Doulting, Shepton Mallet
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We have just had a wonderful three night break at Woodside Cottage B&B. We were looking for a high quality establishment in a peaceful, rural location but close to Dartmouth and amenities. Everything we found at Woodside Cottage exeeded our expectations and we would have no hesitation in recommending it to other people. Sally and Tim are wonderful hosts, warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellie95

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Woodside Cottage

Address: Blackawton, Dartmouth TQ9 7BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Blackawton
Price Range: RM334 - RM417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Woodside Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?