We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moorland Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 515: English reviews
London
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a single night ahead of a business meeting at the same venue. Friendly welcome, pleasant room and food. Good breakfast spread and food quality. Good venue for and event or business meeting with gardens which would be lovely in summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed all elements of your stay with us, and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly hotel, good location, and nice room. Breakfast disappointing with limited buffet and not the best produce. Dinner on the other hand was excellent with good choice and food very well prepared. Gardens are quirky with diverse but not always well maintained artwork, and do not really work for me overall. The hotel looks a little tired but overall will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you found the breakfast buffet to be disappointing, but am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner with us. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Stoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of November as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. The hotel was lovely. Our room was clean and tidy and the shower was brilliant! The staff were lovely and helpful. We didn't eat any meals other than breakfast here but that too was great. Loads of choice. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valiant81
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning how friendly and helpful you found the staff. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was taken here for afternoon tea today. Absolutely beautiful the food was so fresh & beautifully presented. Plenty of it too.No trouble to top up the teapot.The service was excellent. The grounds stunning. Can't wait to go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne b
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I would like to thank all of the staff at the Moorland Gardens Hotel especially Laura the wedding co -ordinator, and Lee the master or ceremonies for making our daughter Rebecca and her husband Ross's wedding a fantastic day. Everything was well organised , nothing was too much trouble for them. The wedding breakfast meal was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June L
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted that all elements of the wedding went so well, and thank you for particularly mentioning Laura and Lee. I have also enjoyed sharing your feedback with our new Head Chef. I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I received a voucher for afternoon tea so duly booked supplying the voucher code. The day before I phoned to check the time I had booked for and although I phoned at about 4.30pm no one answered the phone, even the corporate/wedding option gave no reply as well although I was able to leave an answer machine message. When I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobandBev_79
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

I was very sorry to receive your recent review. Please contact me by either e-mail on gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk or telephone (01822) 852245, as I would like to discuss the matter with you directly. Kind regards, Andrew

Cardiff
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a 2 night break, and were impressed. Firstly, don't be put off by the 60s looking exterior, inside the hotel is comfortable and modern, cosy bar and restaurant with good views over the lovely gardens. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were warm and well furnished, again, lovely views over the gardens from the balcony. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garandjaninvan
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review, and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that we did not have lamb available on your second night, and thank you for making me aware of this. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

worcester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pet friendly very nice rooms dogs bed and bowls provided, you can have your food in the bar with the dog. Within easy reach to Plymouth, Dartmoor, and not far from Cornwall. Very friendly staff and looked after really well. All in all a very good clean hotel on the edge of the moors I will be definitely be staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beereyes
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Have visited this location on 3 occasions. First visit on our own - further visits with friends. Lovely location in the Dartmoor National Park with lots of places to visit nearby. Bedrooms are adequate - good views to the front overlooking the garden. Meals are of a very good quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marciawillmott
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hadn't visited this hotel since it was the Moorland Links and was really impressed with the opulent decor and quirky art pieces in the gardens. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated and had everything that we would need, eg: hairdryer, tea and coffee, toiletries and a Bible! and although wasn't in the main body of the hotel was a short walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ctmoloney
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your dinner, and I will be reviewing your comments with my Head Chef today. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

437 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Balcony Room (40)
Viewed
Garden Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Lilly of the Valley Suite (32)
Viewed
Peony Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Premier Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Second Premier Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
21.2 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
351 reviews
10.3 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
584 reviews
5.7 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
429 reviews
9.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
231 reviews
13.8 km away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range: RM446 - RM902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Moorland Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All quiet as hotel set a little way away from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeA398, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't have afternoon tea”
 of 5 bubbles RobandBev_79, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balconies have the best views over the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles Garandjaninvan, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best rooms to the front overlooking garden. There is a deluxe room with 4 poster bed!!”
 of 5 bubbles marciawillmott, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room with a balcony, the views are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles 405williamo, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay