We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harrabeer Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harrabeer Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harrabeer Country House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 201: English reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

What a great place to stay.Amanda and Mike cannot do enough for you.Breakfast has everything you could need ,and Amanda's evening meals are not to be missed.We stayed in the upper suite ,lounge kitchen and a really good sized bedroom.A very comfortable bar and lounge in the main building.Will stay again if were on holiday in Devon again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enid M
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

IT was great having you both to stay and you were so easy to look after - half the battle really! Glad you enjoyed yourselves and hopefully you will make it back to Devon some time. Best wishes to you both.

UK
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay over two days and were made to feel really welcome. The food was superb, using local ingredients, they could do very well to open up the restaurant to non residents. Why only an average rating? The property was very tired and needs a lot of tlc. That said, we would recommend the harrabeer to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EMEAGray
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the hospitality and food. Thank you for your suggestion about opening up the restaurant to non residents - we are open for that but do not openly advertise it as, to be honest, I do not have enough energy to cater for the extra work! This...

South Wales, UK
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I'll start with the negatives, the hotel has hardly any mobile signal and the wi-fi is only good in the bar. So if you can live with that everything else is fine. The rooms are old quaint style, so don't expect white walls and all mod cons. Rooms are clean, power shower is great beds are only OK. What you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobVog
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us - much appreciated! You know, we don't see having a poor mobile signal as a negative nor do we see wifi being only available in the bar as a problem!! Think about it.... you can actually relax without anyone bothering you and if you do want to have...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

To say that Amanda and Michael are great hosts is doing them a disservice - they are naturally good natured, welcoming people who treat their guests as you would your family . We left after 4 nights refreshed and more as friends than paying customers . Amanda's culinary expertise is excellent and a complete pleasure to savour. Michael is sweet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

We shall look forward to your return and thank you for your kind comments. We all lead busy lives and if we are instrumental in you returning back home refreshed and ready to fight the good fight we have done our job. I say "job" but we don't ever think of it as that because we enjoy having guests to...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Amanda and Mike make this such a wonderful place to stay. It is a lovely quiet Country House where one immediately feels welcome and at home.The rooms are very comfortable and the shared areas of bar and lounge are very cosy to relax in after a busy day. However it is Amanda and Mike who are such amazing hosts which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 54AnneB54
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

Not only have you given us a lovely review but also one for the area. Thank you so much for that! You will just have to come back and continue your discoveries! We really do enjoy having people coming to stay and our aim is to ensure everyone will go home with that feel good factor. Many thanks, once again....

Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I can only agree with previous reviewers, this place is a little gem. Amanda and Michael couldn't have made us more welcome. The full English breakfast is first class and our room was comfortable and spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidtD3235FU
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

It is so hard to write anything different in response however, we much appreciate anyone, including yourselves, for taking the trouble to write a review. We are pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us. Best Wishes.

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

... in case you book before us next time! A delightful mix of old English charm and modern comfort, country house humour and eccentricity, and genuinely warm hospitality from delightful hosts. I speak only for the master bedroom which is large and comfortable, with distant views over Dartmoor. (In a typical gesture the hosts leave binoculars in the room for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrisCL686
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

Your use of all those wonderful adjectives is just great and Michael is assuming that you are referring to him when you say "delightful mix of old English charm"!! I think that perhaps it is the "humour and eccentricity" ! What ever doesn't really matter except that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your last sentence has been noted....! We...

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

One reads reviews on trip advisor and other sites and wonders if they are telling it as it is now and then. This country house is that and more. I have just spent a strenuous weekend in Weymouth trying to get value from a £150 hotel to no avail. Then we spent our anniversary here for much less and got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lkrmusic
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

Well we just love every thing you have written but apologise for delay in responding. We went away in September and since then just haven't stopped - it is reviews like your that work, obviously!! You know you have pointed out something that worries me a little bit though - it is the binoculars! Luckily we have no neighbours that...

Nailsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed two nights here and were very warmly welcomed by Amanda and Michael. We had a lovely room with a very ample and comfortable bed. We had an evening meal on both evening which was prepared by Amanda which was excellent and plentiful. The breakfasts were also very good with plenty of choice from the menu and even offered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anroo2015
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

Yes, another one for the muffins!! Thank you for taking the time to place a review and being so generous with your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully may have the pleasure of your company again??! Best Wishes.

Lorient, France
Reviewed 5 August 2016

This was a second visit, but won't be the last. On arrival at tea time, Amanda immediately appeared in the courtyard to welcome us. We were ushered in and offered tea with delicious scone. Amanda and Michael are wonderful hosts and this is a lovely place to stay. They are generous with information about the area and where to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GCW56
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this review

Another visit? We must be doing something right then!! I shall pass one your recommendation to The Royal Oak too - all comments for us and surrounding area etc always much appreciated. Until next time... how presumptuous!!! Best Wishes.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
3.0 km away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
565 reviews
7.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
272 reviews
7.2 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,026 reviews
0.4 km away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 7 in Yelverton
288 reviews
0.4 km away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 7 in Yelverton
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HARRABEER COUNTRY HOUSE is small, quiet and family owned offering many attributes of a small HOTEL, with the informality of a BED and BREAKFAST, graded as 4 gold star GUEST ACCOMMODATION and a previous finalist for AA Landlady of the Year. There are 6 comfortable bedrooms: all with ensuite/private bathroom facilities. There are adjoining rooms with a privacy door for families and all rooms are suitable for single occupancy at a reduced room rate. Partake of locally sourced food and wine in the attractive restaurant and enjoy the relaxed surroundings in a gracious sitting room. A wood burning stove burns on cooler evenings in our newly refurbished bar which have uncovered many of the original features that had been lost for decades: or sit in the small but secluded garden when warmer. There are 2 beautiful SELF-CATERING suites in a sympathetically converted barn. Our “self-caterers” are welcome in-house to enjoy the bar, breakfast and evening meals if they wish. HARRABEER COUNTRY HOUSE is conveniently located for an extensive range of outdoor activities on and around Dartmoor with a host of interesting places to visit yet only 5 miles from the award winning market town of Tavistock and 9miles from the city of Plymouth for high street shopping, nightlife and theatre. Major credit cards accepted. We think we have it all ... and with a smile! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harrabeer Country House

Address: Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range: RM417 - RM434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrabeer Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Harrabeer Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harrabeer Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Master Room 1 - which was spacious and lovely and we'd definitely book this one again.”
Frostipops, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you take a room in the courtyard and there's a likelihood of rain ... take a mac!!”
Gringoagain, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The lower suite is ground floor with lounge and kitchen.”
KarlP747, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Victorian room was quiet and comfortable”
JennyC146, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a double bed rather than two singles together”
RobVog, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5