We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Saffron Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Saffron Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called into The Saffron for lunch and were pleased to find that it was not so busy as other bars and restaurants in Saffron Walden that we could not get into. The place is quite nicely laid out and has the feeling more of a hotel bar than a normal bar which we were quite happy with. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GarryM710
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had several Faults over a 7 Day stay. NON were rectified. Because I travelled from Asia they insisted on Payment up front. IF not I would have left after day 1. Shower BROKEN. COLD ROOM. TV Stations on 30% worked. WIFI only worked if I sat on Stairs..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry8158
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed for one night in the Ashton suite. It was a super room, clean comfortable and smart. Lovely staff and management. Would recommend to anyone. The whole place was bright and welcoming. Good bar with a good atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank csh278
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Stayed there for one night and had a very nice room with 4 poster bed. The bed was very comfortable, the room was warm and there was a good supply of tea and coffee. The bathroom was spacious, and bags of hot water. The hotel is in a good location not far from the town centre. The staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bettybloom
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Visited for a party and overnight stay. Room was compact but perfect for one night. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is an old building so has its little quirks; just glad I managed to negotiate the steep stairs in high heels (rarely wear heels anyway!) Arrived late morning and parked in the public car park a few minutes walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orianapc
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We were staying overnight at this hotel because we were attending a friend's birthday party being held there. The hotel is a listed building and this is reflected in the quirkiness of the place. Parking very limited and we were obliged to park in the Public car park which was only a few minutes walk away. The party was held...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamCharleson
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

When rating this hotel I hovered between three and four dots, but decided to give it four because any shortcomings (which were few) were made up for by the staff who were helpful and welcoming, and the excellent breakfast. We stayed overnight as we were attending a birthday party at the hotel; the building lends itself well to this sort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 781trishr
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Room was nice breakfast not good little of it no bacon at a cost of eight pounds three out of ten wouldn't recommend this hotel no staff to serve you breakfast had to help yourself to what little was there egg one sausage small piece of bread bit like rations very upset not good at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon4002001
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to ask if you have left this review for the correct hotel? I ask this as our breakfast is not self service, we do have a continental buffet but all hot breakfasts are ordered from a menu from one of our friendly members of staff. I believe our breakfast options to be varied and large in portions,...

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Standard double room with breakfast for £85.00 Breakfast was lovely as was the breakfast room however the room was not good and the bathroom was also grim, £20.00 overpriced !!. Loads of noise from the hooligans driving past aside the people leaving the pub etc. If your stuck it's the last place to stay !!!. Felt sorry for the older...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NosherMMT
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location for a visit to Saffron Walden The room was nice but as seems to be the norm in hotels the TV was the size of a postage stamp The furniture was a bit messy nothing sort of meshed The staff were friendly and helpful The breakfast was a bit disappointing , again the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheCBs

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saffron Walden
5.3 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
165 reviews
8.8 km away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 4 in Saffron Walden
228 reviews
9.1 km away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
365 reviews
9.5 km away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
0.1 km away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saffron Walden
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Saffron Walden takes the second parts of its name from the threatening fortification of Walden Castle, erected by the Normans after the Conquest, and the first from the rare and precious saffron crocus, for which the town became famous, used in medicine, cooking and as the source of a rich yellow dye. The hotel has 16 en-suite bedrooms (all 100% non smoking) which all have tea/coffee and ironing facilities. The hotel also has a paneled Restaurant and Lounge/Bar area. We also cater for functions including parties and weddings in our Saffron Suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Saffron Hotel

Address: 8-12 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden
Price Range: RM352 - RM455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saffron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Saffron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffron Hotel Walden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Saffron Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can only comment on room 16 which was clean, compact and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Orianapc, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room 21 and this and room 22 are accessed up a steep stair case.”
 of 5 bubbles 781trishr, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“for a quiet night rooms 21 or 22”
 of 5 bubbles 725alfredc, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Poor hotel poor parking”
 of 5 bubbles belgieNorthBerwick, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay only used for Sunday lunch”
 of 5 bubbles dianasQ9915SB, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay