We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cricketers' Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Cricketers\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 238: English reviews
Start your review of The Cricketers' Arms
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Poor management of booking and rude staff ruined my sister in laws wedding day at Quendon Parklands. She carefully spent time with the staff before the wedding to check the final bookings and our family experienced very rude and abrupt staff when trying to check in. The best man could not get his room cleaned between nights staying there, as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SelPav
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have had an issue repeatedly with this pub: when we go there as a couple or small group, the service is great, but when we go as a whole family (8-10 of us, depending) the service is just plain painful. It took a full 55 minutes to serve our starters today, and the restaurant wasn't even full. We have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank saraht3008
Larkhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I decided to take a drive out to a local village and we had heard some great reviews about the Cricketers' Arms. We arrived just before food service but that did not stop the staff from making is feel really welcome and it appeared that they started cooking prior to service time as we had ordered early....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcburgess2001
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Busy Sunday service. Roast Beef extremely fatty and got bored with trying to cut all the fat off. Accompliments where nice though. Service and staff excellent. Maybe look at an alternative meat supplier!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Warboys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived around 20.30 to a busy bar, but were checked in very quickly by warm welcoming staff. Shown to room, which was warm and cosy, if a little cobwebby,lol. Went down to dinner, food was very good, service could have been a little quicker but once again the staff were very good. Breakfast excellent freshly cooked. Would stay here again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very good hotel and a good restaurant... A good option to rest, work and close to the airport. But apart of a good sleeping quality, the service was great! Just for the service I would be back again...and I will soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonio L
Bishops Stortford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Use this pub frequently for lunchtime meals but they have reduced their menu to a very limited choice. Visited today and found the food average at best, hurriedly put together baguettes (much lower quality bread than previously) and a very poor French onion soup. The pub was cold, despite the fire, as the radiators were lukewarm. Disappointing to see a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia T
leanne l, Owner at The Cricketers' Arms, responded to this review

Hi sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch with us. The main menu has been made smaller but still has the pub classics section and a la carte and we also have a daily specials board, the baguettes and a new flat bread menu. we have moved back to using fresh bread for sandwiches. Thank you for your feedback.

Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food is nice but, unless you have the basic pub grub of burger, you get small portions that are vastly overpriced. For example a main course scallops & mushrooms in a cheese sauce consists of 2 small scallops, thinly sliced plus 1 thinly sliced button mushroom in a very watery cheese sauce. All it came with was a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arby27
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This pub, off the beaten track in the Essex countryside, provided me with lodgings after a busy work day, studded with travel chaos. My room (number 5) was described as a “Junior Suite” but I'm not sure how it earned this prestigious classification. To me it appeared to be a reasonably sized bedroom with an additional sofa bed in it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosssully
Lille, France
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I booked to stay here for 2 nights on business but had to cut my stay short due to a change of schedule. Although I explained this on arrival the full rate for both nights was still demanded. The room was comfortable but the bathroom could do with a touch up as the shower had loose mouldy tiles and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alidma2016

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saffron Walden
12.8 km away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
166 reviews
8.8 km away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#3 of 3 in Saffron Walden
178 reviews
13.3 km away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
368 reviews
8.8 km away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,267 reviews
7.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cricketers Arms is the ideal place to stay whether you’re on business, travelling to the airport, attending a wedding or simply visiting the area. We have 10 beautiful, individually designed bedrooms all with en-suite facilities and lots of homely touches. Some are more modern, with contemporary furnishings and splashes of bold colour; others are more traditional, with antique pieces and soft, muted colours. All have really comfortable king or super kingsize beds, with good linen, luxurious throws and piles of cushions, as well as powerful showers, fluffy white towels and lovely toiletries. One room even has a stunning free-standing bath. There’s also a digital flat screen television, direct dial telephone and free Wi-Fi in every room to use during your stay and you can treat yourself to champagne and chocolates on arrival, too.We have a choice of rooms from doubles, superior doubles and twins to junior suites and family rooms – three have their own staircase up from the restaurant so you can put the children to bed and enjoy a relaxed supper. Eat, and sleep well and have a hearty English breakfast the next day. Enjoy great value too; rooms start at £65 for the night, with a family room costing £135, including breakfast. As well as being ideal for getting to or from Stansted airport, the Cricketers Arms is just a stone’s throw from Parklands in Quendon, so if you’re attending a wedding there and need somewhere to stay, just give us a call. We also have a big car park where you can leave your car for free during your holiday if you travel from Stansted. Stay one night with us and get your trip off to the perfect start, and if you’re back late, have a comfy night with us before heading home. We can book transfers for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cricketers' Arms

Address: Rickling Green, Saffron Walden CB11 3YG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden
Price Range: RM297 - RM593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cricketers' Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Cricketers' Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cricketers` Arms Hotel Saffron Walden
Cricketers Arms Saffron Walden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cricketers' Arms staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cricketers' Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 5 if you want peace and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rosssully, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 1 and that was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles PistolPete2050, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If possible ask for a room in "the bungalow opposite"”
 of 5 bubbles Frankiebloke, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this place as you would the Plague....”
 of 5 bubbles SuzieD987, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful location spoiled by bad wine and lack of concern "O I'll know better next time"”
 of 5 bubbles 142martino, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5