We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The George Hotel

    21-23 Church Street, Newent GL18 1PU, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    US$64
    US$52
    SAVE US$12
    US$64
    US$52
    SAVE US$12
    US$64
    Overview
    • Excellent15%
    • Very good19%
    • Average26%
    • Poor22%
    • Terrible18%
    Travellers talk about
    “the pub” (8 reviews)
    “new chef” (3 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Meeting Rooms
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The George Hotel
    Deals (8)
    27 Aug28 Aug
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Double Room, Private Bathroom (Free parking, Free WiFi)
      US$64US$52
      View Deal
    • Double Room, Private Bathroom
      US$64US$52
      View Deal
    • Double-Private Bathroom- (Non En-Suite)
      US$64
      View Deal
    View all 8 deals from US$52
    Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
    653 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Clearwell
     
    The Speech House Hotel
    729 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Coleford
     
    The Belfry Hotel
    135 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Littledean
     
    DeanGate Motel
    191 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Lydney
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (71)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 71 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    After a recent visit, the hotels location is in a lovely location and satisfied my reason for staying there. I was surprised upon arrival as I realised the 'private bathroom' to the room I was staying in was actually down the corridor - it would...More

    Thank Megan T
    Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

    This lovely old building is full of charm and character, but sadly lacking in the love and attention such a place needs and deserves. The stairs are steep and awkward, but this wasn't made apparent at the time of booking, which made ascending difficult for...More

    Thank DaveAndKaz
    Reviewed 15 May 2017

    We stayed at this hotel last week , it is the worst ever. The whole place stank, was dirty, and the noise of people in the bar you were awake until 1 in morning also the language was awful. The window was so rotten would...More

    1  Thank Sue W
    Management response:Responded 17 May 2017

    Apologies that you had this experience at The George Hotel however when speaking to you at no point was there any complaint about cleanliness of the room otherwise I would have made sure this had been addressed immediately. On departure you did mention about the...More

    Reviewed 30 April 2017

    We stayed here with other family members for a family member's funeral. Didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews, however, we felt it was mediocre. The young Manager was very welcoming, and couldn't do enough to help. We felt that the other staff...More

    Thank goldensyrup40
    Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

    I'd have rather eaten a ready meal. The food was cold, it looks lovely from the outside but awful when you get in there! Very disappointing. They ran out of food by 2.15pm wish they had ran out by 1.45pm which would have saved me...More

    2  Thank Sam L
    Management response:Responded 5 December 2016

    Apologies that you had this experience. Our food trade has been growing every week as we have been gaining a growing reputation for our food with our new(ish) chef Hristo, hence we actually sold out early. As we were also fully booked again this Sunday...More

    Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
    653 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Clearwell
     
    The Speech House Hotel
    729 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Coleford
     
    The Belfry Hotel
    135 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Littledean
     
    DeanGate Motel
    191 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Lydney
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Banquet Room
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$60 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 9
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Gloucestershire >
    • Forest of Dean >
    • Newent
    Nearby
    The Belfry Hotel
    135 reviews
    13.51 km away
     
    The Speech House Hotel
    729 reviews
    17.20 km away
     
    DeanGate Motel
    191 reviews
    24.91 km away
     
    Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
    653 reviews
    23.33 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Good News Centre Coffee House
    43 reviews
    .31 km away
    The Buttery Tea Room
    40 reviews
    .17 km away
    Kings Arms
    51 reviews
    .92 km away
    Newent Tandoori
    87 reviews
    .19 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The International Centre for Birds of Prey
    868 reviews
    2.53 km away
    Dymock Poets
    5 reviews
    5.93 km away
    Hillside Brewery
    101 reviews
    6.40 km away
    Greenacres Stables
    5 reviews
    7.49 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    carl s
    28 December 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from minseee | Reviewed this property |
    Hi Carl, just phoned them and they say dogs are allowed in the bar. Hope this helps.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "Please do not go there"
    Read review
    "Room 6 had the seperate private bathroom"
    Read review
    "Very noisy in all rooms over the bar, floor vibrated until midnight due to a live band."
    Read review
    "All very shabby and partially cleaned, room 4 with en suite okay."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing