We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

Expedia.comUS$54*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$54*
US$54*
US$54*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel last week , it is the worst ever. The whole place stank, was dirty, and the noise of people in the bar you were awake until 1 in morning also the language was awful. The window was so rotten would not shut, the room was not clean and pokey,the telly was smaller than my laptop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue W
Management response:

Apologies that you had this experience at The George Hotel however when speaking to you at no point was there any complaint about cleanliness of the room otherwise I would have made sure this had been addressed immediately. On departure you did mention about the noise and the window. The window would not close due to the sash window being...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with other family members for a family member's funeral. Didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews, however, we felt it was mediocre. The young Manager was very welcoming, and couldn't do enough to help. We felt that the other staff members could have been a bit more friendly. The room itself was large, as was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldensyrup40
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I'd have rather eaten a ready meal. The food was cold, it looks lovely from the outside but awful when you get in there! Very disappointing. They ran out of food by 2.15pm wish they had ran out by 1.45pm which would have saved me from eating it! It was also very cold. The closed down pub up the road...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sam L
Management response:

Apologies that you had this experience. Our food trade has been growing every week as we have been gaining a growing reputation for our food with our new(ish) chef Hristo, hence we actually sold out early. As we were also fully booked again this Sunday and received reviews on Facebook such as "Would just like to say my daughter and...

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Basic / old accomodation with plenty of character, we were on the second floor which was accessed via narrow stair case so probably not for immobile folk. The room was clean and tidy, had brew facility and biscuits, tv with freeview, large double bed (and additional single bed), clean linen and towels (toiletries). Private Bathroom was down the hall and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liane D
south wales
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Went to the Onion Fayre (very good). Called in for a drink. Very busy, due to Fayre,and waited ages for drinks. More staff needed on such a busy day. Don't think I would bisit again except at next years Onion Fayre!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minseee
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Tired and dirty looking interior, not very welcoming. got the impression we was interrupting the bar man. My partner asked for a red wine, no choice was offered she did ask what wine they had but this was ignored and was served a glass of something red.I had a pint of real ale which was ok . didn't stop for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chriscoleman56
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here because it was close to a family wedding venue and so handy. Rooms very tired, decor poor, bed linen smelt fresh but very old as were the towels. Lights didn't work, taps dripped and no hairdryer. Having said that we had a comfortable night and was what we needed. Wouldn't recommend for anything other than convenience. We...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sje999
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Oh dear. Unfortunately all the earlier reviews were true. Unironed bedding, wood chip walls, dated,unhappy building . Nothing has moved on. Wood panelling, dead spiders on the bath, in the " restaurant " the tables were sticky, chairs were broken and the high top chairs were torn and dirty. Such a beautiful spot, so much could work so well.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzan s
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Stayed here for the weekend whilst attending an event at the ICBP (falconry centre). Right in the centre of Newent, the hotel is an old coach house. The reception isn't manned all the time, but a friendly member of staff, soon showed us to our room. The bedroom and bathroom were quite spacious and clean, although décor was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane V
Wilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Room was large and adequate. Enough sachets of drinks left which was great. Hosts friendly. No evening meal as booked as they don't cook on a Monday! Hosts very friendly. Pub needed updating. Bed comfortable but couldn't sleep because of noise! Didn't realise there was a sorting office next door so woken up at 5.30 am!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anni874

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newent
17.2 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
691 reviews
10.8 km away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
42 reviews
2.0 km away
Newent Golf Club and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kilcot Inn
Kilcot Inn
#3 of 5 in Newent
45 reviews
24.9 km away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
184 reviews
0.0 km away
Malt Shovel Inn
Malt Shovel Inn
#1 of 1 in Ruardean
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 21-23 Church Street, Newent GL18 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newent
Price Range: RM219 - RM327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please do not go there”
suewA1218AO, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 had the seperate private bathroom”
lianed960, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very noisy in all rooms over the bar, floor vibrated until midnight due to a live band.”
sje999, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All very shabby and partially cleaned, room 4 with en suite okay.”
465maureenp, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There are plenty of food outlets in the town , we just picked the wrong one”
skmjl2, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$54* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$54
Hotels.comUS$54
Hotwire.comUS$54
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates