We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Swan Hotel

PricelineUS$75*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$75*
Great Deal
US$76*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Swan Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

373 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 372: English reviews
Start your review of The White Swan Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst the small market town is alive most if the year with its various events, the annual open day is always worth a visit. This year arriving early allowed for sausages and coffe at the lovely White Swan, whilst it was fairly full the staff were as usual courteous and polite. Albeit the sausage sandwichs were average, the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't stay here, just came for dinner one night and drinks one afternoon. Food was nice, staff were lovely. Can't speak for the hotel but Brasserie and Bar was good. Nice sitting outside in the sunshine enjoying a glass of wine. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole2218
WSManager, Deputy General manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole2218, Thank you for your lovely comments. Middleham is quite the sight when the sun is out! We hope to see you again in the near future. Lee Snowdon

Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm not quite sure what happened here - Reading other peoples reviews people seem to have had very positive experiences with their room. Our "small double" was just dire. It was so small, I would actually deem it dangerous. Every time I walked past the wardrobe I was convinced it would topple over .... Cheap pillows, awful decoration, curtains hanging...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank screpta
WSManager, Deputy General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Screpta, Thank you for posting your feedback. We are Glad to hear you enjoyed the bar, your meals and our friendly staff. We are however disappointed to hear the accommodation did not meet your expectation and have taken your feedback on board - although had it been mentioned upon your arrival we could have resolved the situation and given...

Venice, Italy
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Stayed one night as we were travelling around Yorkshire. We found the staff lovely and friendly, rooms clean and comfortable and fabulous food. Breakfast this morning was perfect and the coffee the best I have had in a long time. We would love to return. Thankyou to the great staff team.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 181samantha
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Glenn

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We wanted a quiet night away for one night as it was my birthday. We spent quite a bit of time looking for somewhere suitable not too far from Hawes or Aysgarth and found this one. Although we are frequent visitors to the Dales, we'd never been to Middleham before, so it was a bit of an unknown quantity. Well,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard Y
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and great to hear you enjoyed our hidden gem that is Middleham. Glenn

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a one night stay being a Christmas present. On a rainy week end the welcome we got from the staff ,and the log burning stove was wonderful. The place is oldie worldly, and the bedroom furniture being like what your grandma had, it was lovely and clean and smelt of bees wax polish. The food in the brasserie...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce N
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments and i will pas on to our housekeeping department. Glenn

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to the White Swan and we enjoyed it as much as the first. We had a front superior room which was spacious, clean with a lovely comfortable bed and full bathroom. The staff work very hard to make your stay great, food and service excellent. Breakfast also very good with a varied menu including kippers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebsgran
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely feedback. I will pass on your praise to the team. Glenn

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I will keep this short and sweet. Great place to stay, wonderful meal, fabulous hospitality, we will back in a couple of months. We have visited The White Swan on numerous occasions and it never lets us down, thank you to all the team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy210173
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Glenn

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We were met with a warm welcome from Adam and the excellent customer service continued throughout the stay. This is an old building with lots of character, if you are looking for a slick shiny hotel, this is not for you. It does have lots of charm and the room we stayed in was was spacious and overlooked the castle....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jillybee600
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. Great to see Adam get a mention as he works hard. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Glenn

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This is a lovely, friendly hotel in a very pretty setting. Fantastic breakfast, very good quality and freshly cooked to order. Sadly didn't get chance to try the restaurant although my daughter had a kids meal which was great (even for a fussy eater). The staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially the manager and Victoria at breakfast. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMcPhee
WSManager, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Me and Lee have both just said how lovely you and your daughter are. It was a pleasure to look after you both whilst you where here. Hopefully we will see you again. Glenn

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
12.0 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
2.5 km away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
413 reviews
14.1 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#4 of 8 in Middleham
202 reviews
0.1 km away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
188 reviews
0.0 km away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Here at the White Swan we offer a great level of service and attention to detail. Perfectly situated to access all of Middleham's attractions as we are centrally located. Also there are great walks, bicycle rides (both mountain bike and road bike)nearby. Dogs are welcome, parking is free. Our new management team has as its sole aim "make your visit as good as it could be". ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Price Range: RM326 - RM444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Warrington, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 16. Very quiet, plenty of space and excellent views across the town square.”
446sydy, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we had a shower only and were disappointed”
FamilyMcPhee, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views of castle from rooms at the front with added attraction of racehorses. For extra space go superior”
MarieR419, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a room at the rear of the hotel - wonderful views”
cookies4me, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the upper priced rooms.”
841lesleyp, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$75* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$76
Expedia.comUS$76
TripAdvisorUS$75
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates