We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballachulish Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ballachulish Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ballachulish Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 990: English reviews
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015

As before food was excellent and enjoyable. Hotel however very tired, room had cracked tiles in bathroom, cracked coving, curtains that were hanging off the rail and brown marks in a jacuzzi bath that did not work and had clearly not worked for some time as a notice had been put up re this. We were supposed to get free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen j
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen J Thank you for comments and although you enjoyed your food your room was not up to your expectations which i have spoke to our housekeeper about. Unfortunately the wrong package was put in for your stay and the staff were only checking if you were entitled to what package you were on. Also i would check with...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Good points: - beautiful location - wonderful traditional house hotel - great staff...all very friendly - lovely open fireplace in main lounge - child friendly - great location for hill waking and ski trips. Bad points - really poor mattresses in both rooms 203 and 204. Seen better days with springs that will stick into your back. You would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fastandy
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fast andy Thank you for your good points and thatt the bad points we will take on board, watch this space for the beds and with the cullen skink we do make homemade in the hotel and have spoke to our chef about as well as your comments on the Lamb. We do lookforward to welcoming you back in...

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

We got an itison deal for dinner bed and breakfast, booked 2 nights for our anniversary. It was easy to find, well sign posted on the main road. We arrived and the car park was full and the side of the road too...but we found a spot. When walking in it looks very traditional with the tartan touches, leather chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C4TMKD
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear C4TMKD Thank you for your kind words and your stay was enjoyable, unfortunately some of our guests can be a little noisy going to their rooms which we do try and monitor so most get a good nights sleep without any noise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future from all the team at the...

Dundee
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Stayed here for a valentine celebration with the wife and had a great time. From check in the staff were spot on with anything we needed or required was sorted out with no fuss. We had the evening meal as part of our deal and it was excellent, again service was spot on. We ended up lazing in the lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terence G
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear terence G Thank you for your lovely review and we hope you spend more weekends here at the Ballachulish From all the team at the Ballachulish

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We were fortunate enough to stay at the ballachulish hotel last Monday to Friday to celebrate my husbands birthday although the weather was wet, windy and cold our stay was warm and welcoming :-) we had a lovely room (205) stunning views, comfy and spotless and the staff were lovely especially Richard who really went out of his way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janice w
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janice Thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you and your husband for many birthdays to come, i am glad you like what we are doing at the moment but our old 181 year old staircase is a bit creaky a lot of people love the character of it and the history it could tell...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Here for a Saturday night Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly (apart from one who preferred to be cool), the room was just right with older, traditional furniture but modern bathroom and the food was very good. Room 104 overlooks the amazing loch view. These Victorian hotels can be a problem if owners...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 575Paul
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 575 Paul Thank you for your kind words and you appreciate the work that has been done so far we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ballachulish in the very near future From all the team at the Ballachulish

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

We booked to stay here this year after a very pleasant stay previously. We booked a deluxe room on laterooms for 3 nights because we were in one of these rooms last time and it was very comfortable and had an amazing bathroom. The deluxe room is more expensive than a standard room. We checked in and were sent to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rockhopper_Jap
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

dear Rickyhopper Sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your last visit , i do believe that our reception team tried to sort out he situation on your arrival and most people had already checked in before we had the chance to do anything about it. with refurbishment as you probably seen we are having essential maintainence...

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We stayed here last year, in the old part of the hotel, and were so impressed we felt we had to return. We had a lovely couple of days more recently only this time we we were in the extension with a lovely view of the loch. It was nice to see Frank has managed to retain his staff team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derrymc2015
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear derryMc Thank you for your kind comments we know that what makes a difference the sleep factor also helps, throughout our essential maintaince programme which started back in December and new beds for all our rooms in the very near future just watch the space. Look forward to seeing you back soon Frank Hotel manager

Reviewed 22 February 2015

We stayed for one night bed and breakfast as part of a short trip to the area. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. The lounge had the feel of a grand old house, complete with open fire and piano, but not too ostentatious, so we felt at home right away. We ate in their restaurant and the menu was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenniCoo
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenni Coo Thank you for lovely comments and with these always makes our staff smile, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future from all the team at the ballachulish

Dundee
Reviewed 21 February 2015

The service was excellent. Staff were very efficient and extremely charming. The dinner menu was tasty, hot and great value. Breakfast was buffet style and could have been slightly hotter. The views are stunning. The decor of the rooms was a bit tired and a lick of paint and some putty on the windows would not go amiss. We relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReetsDundee
Hotel-GManager, Manager at Ballachulish Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reets Dundee Thank you for your comments and you enjoyed your stay with us at the Ballachulish we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully on a bright sunny sunday were you can sit outside with a nice drink and letting the world go by. from all the team at the Ballachulish

642 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (407)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (227)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Feature Double Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Signature Feature Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
3.4 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
288 reviews
0.4 km away
The Loch Leven Hotel
The Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
796 reviews
0.4 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
74 reviews
2.5 km away
Onich Hotel
Onich Hotel
#1 of 2 in Onich
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Ballachulish Hotel

Address: Ballachulish | just off the main A82 Glasgow to Fort William Road, Ballachulish PH49 4JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Price Range: RM286 - RM459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballachulish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Ballachulish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballachulish Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Ballachulish Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a feature room with loch view.”
 of 5 bubbles hilsw2015, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“View of Loch Leven”
 of 5 bubbles 410elspethb, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They all seem to be good”
  • view just outside hotel
 of 5 bubbles J1069WLmartinb, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is probably worth paying a little extra for a 'Feature' room.”
 of 5 bubbles drkenny2014, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Refurbished rooms are ground level with views of loch.”
 of 5 bubbles ericbray1, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay