We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,295: English reviews
Trinidad
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Visited this hotel on October 11-15. 2014 good food ,very clean rooms,a Miss Veronica was very polite and she made you feel welcome ,yes we experience the hurricane but the staff were calm and reassuring . On arrival and departing the staff were warm, in the entertainment area can be more flexible to accommodate the different cultures of the visitors.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donna M
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Donna M, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your time with us. We're so happy to see that you enjoyed your vacation and that even during the passing of a storm the staff made your feel calm and reassured you everything would be just fine. Thank you for highlighting the food, entertainment and...

Reviewed 17 October 2014

As soon as I walked in, the hotel felt old and stodgy. They offered us small wet towels when I walked in which I thought was weird. I should've known something wasn't right when they didn't offer a tour because the hotel is so small. There is nothing to really see or do besides visting the beach, pool, or the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dewi P
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Dewi P, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We offer our guests a towel and a glass of cold champagne to welcome them to the resort. We do have a tour desk located in the lobby for guests who want to venture out of the resort, we also have a spa located on...

Cornwall, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2014

This was my 7th trip to the island and after booking a condo elsewhere (1st time I did this) that I was extremely disappointed with, I made my way over to the Sonesta Maho to try to switch over for the rest of my 3 week stay on the island. Amique was extremely helpful and so nice on the phone,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PinkLotus79
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear PinkLotus79, Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with us. We're so happy that you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for highlighting our staff, food served, location, entertainment and spectacular views. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management

Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed 15 October 2014

I visited Sonesta Maho in July 2014 and was very impressed with the hospitality and friendly people who I met . I intend to visit again soon . I will be returning with my children and grandchildren next time. see you soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret R
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Margaret R, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your stay with us. We're so happy that you were highly impressed with the hospitality and friendliness of the people you met at our Resort and we hope you will come back to see us again soon. Best regards, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort Management

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 October 2014

One of the few all-inclusive spots to stay on the island, this resort had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Great beach, great food, spacious oceanview rooms and nightlife within walking distance. The service was great, and my girlfriend swear thought she was dreaming when one especially hot afternoon a hotel staff member came around with a dickey-d ice...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank its_RT
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear its_RT, Thank you for taking the time out to write your comments about your time with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed our beach, food, your ocean view room and the nightlight within walking distance. We hope you and your girlfriend will come back again soon to enjoy some more ice cream poolside or to stay at our...

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2014

We booked the Sonesta Maho Beach and we got what we expected. The hotel has been around for a long time and is in an excellent area of the island. The Hotel wasn't a 5 star but the rooms were clean and the food was good! it didn't have the extravagance of some of the new 5 star hotels but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Franca D
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Franca D, Thank you for taking the time out to write such a positive review about your stay with us. We're so happy that you enjoyed the food, our friendly staff, the rooms and spectacular views! We're also glad to see that you took the opportunity to visit our Sister Resort to experience the other side of the island;...

Greystones, Ireland
Reviewed 12 October 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of a mini break at Maho just a few days ago. We stayed from the 8th of October for unfortunately only 3 nights. The Room was lovely and had a fantastic view over SXM. The bathroom was recently refurbished and had a great shower. The Director of Food and Beverage Milton and his...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JanKaasOnSafari
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear dutchincarib, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your time with us. We're glad that you and your wife enjoyed your vacation with us. Thank you for highlighting our views, rooms, and friendly customer service. We'll make sure to pass on your kind words to all those you mentioned. Thank you for recommending Sonesta...

Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2014 via mobile

St.maarten is my favourite island I have visited so far. It is beautiful. You have to take a taxi into downtown phillipsburg to do some shopping. This resort was great new had a good time and would definitely return. Check in/out- quick and friendly. No problems Rooms- we stayed in a pool/ocean view room on the top floor. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lesha B
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Lesha B, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your stay with us. We're so pleased to see that St. Maarten has become your favorite Island! Thank you for highlighting our rooms, views, location, food and landscaping. We do hope that you come back to see us again very soon! Best regards, Sonesta Maho...

Reviewed 11 October 2014

Unless you typically stay at the Ritz, you will have little to complain about. The slight minus for us was the check in where our room was not ready but they made up for it with a better floor so we got over it. Its very clean and everything you need is there. Casino across the street is a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank duxfam
Reviewed 11 October 2014

We returned to St. Martin after an absence of 15 years. We had looked forward to our stay at Maho Beach because friends had highly recommended it. Upon check in we were told that we had been upgraded to a newly renovated room with a spectacular view. When we entered room 961 we were overcome with a moldy, musty smell....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jackie D
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Jackie D, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your time with us. We're sorry to see that you did not enjoy your vacation with us as much as we'd hope you would. We are happy that you got to move to a room that you preferred with a nice garden view and that...

3,267 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2761)
Viewed
Room/Suite (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (459)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (515)
Viewed
View from Room (218)
Viewed
Dining (193)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (126)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (28)
Viewed
Pool-Ocean View Room (39)
Viewed
Premier Island View Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maho
11.0 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
10.3 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,731 reviews
11.8 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.1 km away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
11.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its limitless all-inclusive meals, drinks, Kids Club and scheduled activities program, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino is a destination within a destination, offering exhilarating fun with the island's most exciting nightlife, a variety of accommodations and first-rate amenities for singles, couples and families. The 10-acre, 395-room beachfront property is conveniently located on St. Maarten's southwest shore just minutes from the airport and features a large signature Oasis pool area with swim-up pool bar, cascading waterfalls and separate kids pool, oceanfront wedding gazebo, five restaurants and bars, fitness center, four tennis courts, and more than 24,000 square feet of meeting space. Enjoy other amenities including Maho Serenity Spa and the destination's largest gaming emporium Casino Royale as well as access to motorized water sports for an additional fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Price Range: RM1,099 - RM2,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, West Indies, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Maho
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
#2 Spa Hotel in Maho
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
432 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (432)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you have oceanview and can watch the planes land at the nearby airport”
 of 5 bubbles olympicoscar, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“To avoid the nightly noise from the street, (Casino & nightclubs) request a room facing the pool or ocean.(pay extra).”
 of 5 bubbles beachnut023, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Should take a room overlooking the pool and the water.”
 of 5 bubbles petermK5474HJ, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great views of the airport and flights which is a highlight. Higher floors are great views of the ocean and planes”
 of 5 bubbles KarenG783, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the higher floors for a good view and renovated room. We never waited long for an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles laura640425, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5