We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golf Inn

TripAdvisorUS$324*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$324*
US$324*
US$324*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Golf Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Golf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Spent one night here recently, our room was in Hazel Cottage just behind the inn, we were comfortable and cosy. The food was excellent we ate in the restaurant on a steak night, this was an absolute bargain for such good food. Our steaks were perfect and the pudding was just lovely. We would certainly eat here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vancatwoman
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Vancatwoman, Thank you for your lovely review. We've only just introduced our Steak Night...and it's proving to be incredibly popular! We're really pleased you enjoyed it. Come back again soon. All the best, The Golf Inn

Bearsden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My husband and I had a very enjoyable 2 night stay at the Golf Inn earlier this month. We were made most welcome and as I had earlier indicated that I had a mobility problem we were shown to a beautifully furnished double bedroom (with very comfortable beds) in Hazel Cottage which is situated just behind the main hotel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellenkay55
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ellenkay55, Thank you for your delightful review - we're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. It's important for us that we go the extra mile wherever possible so we're thrilled to hear on this occasion it helped you enjoy your stay with us even more. Come back and see us again soon. All the best, The Golf...

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Good hotel located in the heart of East Lothian golf country, with easy access to all the top venues. Nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Would recommend this hotel for a short break or a golfing trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernie K
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Ernie K, Thank you for your great review - come back and see us again soon. All the best, The Golf Inn

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We recently had lunch here with the family. Although the restaurant was not busy at lunch time the food wine and menu was superb and the staff very attentive. Thanks to the chef and team.Do not miss out this is a lovely venue. Gullane is a lovely little village where after a hearty lunch it's not far from a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg C
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Meg C, Thank you for your kind review, it's really appreciated. Hope to see you again soon! All the best, The Golf Inn

Reviewed 2 October 2016

Firstly, all the staff are friendly and approachable. Secondly, the en-suite room I had in the annexe was very comfortable indeed and the shower gets a particularly strong mention - unlike many hotel showers this one worked, was powerful, was at a consistent temperature and didn't leak water all over the floor! The king-sized bed was excellent and very comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Simon F, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and have taken your points about the bathroom shelf and bedroom desk on board. Hope to see you again soon. All the best, The Golf Inn

Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The accommodation is fabulous as is the menu and food. Staff are polite,smartly dressed and have a great knowledge of the surrounding area. The choice of food was amazing and cooked to perfection. Staff were upbeat and happy as well as the guests. Will certainly be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuffymc
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello fuffymc, Thank you for your fantastic review! We really appreciate you taking the time to review your time with us. Hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, The Golf Inn

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Had a horrible experience at the Golf Inn 3 years ago when it was under different management, but now it is a completely different story. The hotel has generally been renovated inside (ongoing I believe) and the rooms are now bright, clean and upto date. The major turnaround can be seen with the excellent staff who seem comfortable and happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Chris S, Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. We're really pleased you came back, as you said, we've made so many changes since taking it over, and we feel that we're a completely different place to eat and stay now. We're loving where we are now and we're glad to hear our guests...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Small friendly hotel in a beautiful part of East Lothian surrounded by wonderful golf courses. Room was basic but perfectly adequate for our one night stay. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food was five star. Nice cosy bar and spacious beer garden at the back perfect for outdoor eating and drinking. We will certainly go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grumpomcchief
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Grumpomcchief, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review - we're really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best, The Golf Inn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

A rather quaint small hotel on Gullane's Main Street. The room was functional but nothing more, hence our disappointment given the price we paid. This was reinforced when we saw that the "walk in" rate was almost half of what we paid, so we felt pretty ripped off. That apart, we found the staff very friendly and the restaurant served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillyLiz68
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you felt the room was not good value for money, as you mentioned we are very popular with golfers and as a small hotel we do fill up very quickly therefore our rates are higher in the summer peak season but are...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed for two nights and were so impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. Alana was wonderful as was everyone with whom we came into contact. We were attending a family wedding at a nearby venue and we were so pleased with The Golf Inn that we promised to stay there again if, and when, we are in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
Derek J, Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Wendy S, Thank you for your delightful review! We're really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. All the best, The Golf Inn

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
0.8 km away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
6.1 km away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
2,218 reviews
3.7 km away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
304 reviews
7.3 km away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
202 reviews
0.2 km away
Maple Cottage
Maple Cottage
#2 of 5 in Gullane
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned small hotel close to beach and excellent golf courses. Family & group friendly with comfortable en-suite bedrooms, garden and a bar & restaurant. Bedrooms and public areas have had an upgrade in early 2013.We serve great freshly prepared food with a relatively wide selection that offers something for most tastes. Our team are great and will do everything possible to ensure that you have a receive a warm welcome and that your stay with us is comfortable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golf Inn

Address: Main Street, Gullane EH31 2AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Price Range: RM986 - RM1,888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Golf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golf Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Golf Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hazel Cottage garden room”
silviac601, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Every room we have stayed in were good.”
liza0802, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are to a very high standard. The top floor has a suite which is beautiful.”
fuffymc, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Hazel Cottage offers a quiet option at the back of the hotel”
Y2664QVchriss, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The main road is quite busy which could be a problem.”
GillyLiz68, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$324* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$324
Booking.comUS$324
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates