We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ladysmith House

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Ladysmith House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The B&B is centrally located in Ullapool and has a very friendly and helpful host. The room was well equipped, and in the lounge they served breakfast at your own request.It is located close to the ferry terminal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helge KS K
Palo Alto, California, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Ladysmith Guest House for a couple nights recently and would definitely return. The food was the highlight of this place - the morning porridge was especially good and they serve dinner, which is nice at the end of a busy day. It was one of the best foods we had on our 2 week trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
lexxyUllapool, Owner at Ladysmith House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, just to say our twin room is ensuite, the only rooms that share a bathroom are the two singles,glad you enjoyed your stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely welcome with tea and biccies, comfortable warm room, good beds and good shower. An A* breakfast; fresh fruit salad, locally smoked salmon (the best apparently), kippers, plus the usual. All fantastic. Plus a lovely home with books, pictures and typewriters.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ullapool can get quite busy with tourists in summer, and pretty much everything happens along the quay, respectively just up the lanes off it. Ladysmith's is located two blocks up, which means an easy, 5 minute walk to everything (the two outfitters, quay with pubs and restaurants, ferry station, Tesco), but nonetheless a quiet stay. Upon checking in, Pauline, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandru D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The house is nicely decorated and the rooms have plenty room. The bathroom is a bit small and the ventilator was making a lot of noise. The beds were unpleasant to sleep in caused bij some wooden parts which were damaged. Breakfast was excellent with salmon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph v
lexxyUllapool, Owner at Ladysmith House, responded to this review

We are sorry about your experience. However, the beds in question were purchased new last year. They have a metal bedstead with wooden slats,they don't seem to be built strong enough for some individuals. We have addressed this by having them strengthened and feel certain this won't be a problem in the future, We are sorry that you felt the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We had a very comfortable one night stay at the pretty Ladysmith Guest House. Pauline and Niv were excellent hosts, making us feel very welcome. Breakfast was delicious and filling which meant we only needed to have a light lunch. Our upstairs room No.5 was very comfortable and quiet. Ladysmith's location was very convenient being only a short walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
Fort William, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Very pretty on the outside and the inside was just as nice.We were met at the door with a friendly smile after our journey from Thurso.The owner even offered a pot of of tea and a twix, just the job.The room was clean and tidy, although I think new beds could be the order of the day as i sort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Me and my husband spent 2 nights in Ullapool, the first in a pre booked hotel which turned out to be rather tired and in need of attention but as we were walking around Ullapool we both commented on how attractive the Ladysmith looked from the outside so thought we'd see if we could stay there for our second night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We had a very comfortable double bed, with ensuite toilet & shower. Lots of room, very clean friendly owners who went out their way to make sure you had everything you could need, and served a full breakfast as hearty as anyone could wish. We were at the Ullapool Guitar Festival & this accommodation was very handy, in amongst the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMcC3
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Stayed here one night to catch the ferry to stornoway. I had a single room non en -suite with sink in room so bathroom down stairs shared with others. The room was big enough with wardrobe & drawers/ 1 seat/TV [limited channels]. The towels for drying yourself with were far to small. The bed was comfy enough. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wahaejock

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
240 reviews
0.2 km away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
554 reviews
17.4 km away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.1 km away
Ullapool Youth Hostel
Ullapool Youth Hostel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
61 reviews
0.5 km away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Highland stone house built in 1888 and situated 100 yards from the pier in a quiet area away from the main street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ladysmith House

Address: 24 Pulteney Street, Ullapool IV26 2UP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ladysmith House Ullapool, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ladysmith House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The two single rooms have a shared bath, all others en-suite. Wifi doesn't reach upstairs to rooms 5 or 6.”
sarahbM9780YH, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 upstairs - attractively decorated, comfortable and quiet. There is quite a narrow staircase to the first floor.”
997ruthm, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“5 star Porridge”
JohnD242, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“"The room in the ground floor is closer to the bathroom and toilets."”
indigoc644, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Check which floor the room is on, there are some narrow stairs to the upper ones.”
925lizr, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5