We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Posada Don Carlos

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ciudad Bolivar
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Posada Don Carlos
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I arrived late and left early so didn't get to experience much. The evening receptionist had no English but a friend with him did. Beautiful building and worth the price just to see inside. Room was also excellent, only cold water shower and I had to ask for soap. Wifi was not the fastest but it was free and worked....

Thank Anthony S
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 17 December 2016

I had a very good experience. Edemar at the front desk was very helpful, professional and professional. The second shift was also great. The prices are reasonable. Since I am form the US I was advised many things so I can be knowledgeable my self. Clean rooms and bathrooms. A great place for the price! I highly recommend it!

2Thank SIRUS R R
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Me and my sister stayed here as part of an Angel Falls tour (booked by the tour company...) and when we arrived we thought it was a really nice place. Lovely courtyard, room is very nice with a funky upstairs part for sleeping. We had dinner here and the lady who cooked was amazing, some of the best food I...

2Thank Chris8111
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The building itself is quite lovely--a beautiful courtyard. My room was fair. The shower pressure was rather poor though. When I arrived, it appeared to be just one young male working there who couldn't speak English (I don't speak Spanish). I went across the street to buy something to drink. When I returned, I found the young guy in my...

1Thank LizSc76
Martin H, Propietario at Posada Don Carlos, responded to this review

Hello Liz, I am very sorry, that you had such a bad experience here at our place. The entire week we had no internet at the guest house and the whole historic quarter due to a problem of the internet provider with torrential rainfalls. I hope that you will forgive us for making you feel uncomfortable at the hostel. Security...

Reviewed 1 August 2016

It was already the 3rd time for me in Posada Don Carlos and everytime I felt welcome and comfortable. Martin and his personal help you with everything and in my opinion its best value for money in Ciudad Bolivar! If you want to have Dinner or Breakfast, Martins wife will prepare some delicious meals for you if you tell them...

1Thank Octav A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Beautiful colonial house with high ceilings and big windows, and lovely antique furniture. You feel like you are stepping back in time when you walk in. Ciudad Bolivar is a pretty town, with colourful buildings and cobbled streets. We had dinner across the road for $3 each which was delicious and breakfast at the hostel for $2.5 each. It included...

1Thank ellypilavachi
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for three nights and although the place itself is lovely. The staff, in particular the manager is terrible!! Everything from yelling at guests and other staff to not giving accurate information to trying to rip guests off and over charge for rooms to trying to scam money out of them with really bad money...

1Thank Chloe C
Tubingen, Germany
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I stayed in the posada for a few night before I went to the amazing Roraima trek and I can say that I really felt comfortable. It is a very beautiful posada, the people are nice and you really have a chance to relax. There had been several bus troubles due to demonstrations in the streets when I wanted to...

1Thank La R
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Posada don Carlos a few days, several times, in March this year, as it is a good place close to many nearby attractions. What I must say, is that the manager Martin is a wonderful host, full of incredible patience, able and willing to help you in any way possible to make your trip a great one....

1Thank Mircea P
Reviewed 5 December 2015 via mobile

Martin could not have been more helpful before our trip to Venezuela and during our stay at Don Carlos. He helped us with flights and cars across the country and sorted our Canaima trip. It is a beautiful building, full of antiques (and cats and dogs) and all the staff are very friendly. There are lots of places to hang...

Thank Sophie G

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (29)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (1)


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Posada Don Carlos

Address: Calle Boyaca 26 | Casco histórico a 30mts plaza Bolívar, Ciudad Bolivar, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Guayana Region > Ciudad Bolivar
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Posada Don Carlos staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Posada Don Carlos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was lovely!!!”
larubiaconbuenaonda, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Near the kitchen it's a bit noisily”
Francalaballena, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms for Air Con!”
tompV5211WJ, 4 May 2015 | Read review
“If the Guardian is drunk, no more security, cause he has problem with alcohol, and perhaps The owner has to take messa userà againts this person.”
MilagrosGilQuintero, 28 Feb 2014 | Read review
“I stayed in room one which is right next to the hotel reception. I think the walls were quite thick though as I didn't hear anything from inside my room.”
LRIzzy, 28 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5