We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bokissa Private Island Resort

Certificate of Excellence
14/06/2017 15/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bokissa Private Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bokissa Private Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Nth Qld
Reviewed 13 May 2015

We stayed late here last year and I have to say I have a bit of trouble believing some of the negative views. We had probably the most relaxing holiday of our life. The locals are great fun, cheeky and friendly. Just the right mix from the staff, staying far enough away to allow you privacy and relaxation, but always...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank gbasky
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you so much for your lovely review - Bokissa is certainly as you have described it "intentionally unpretentious"....I actually love that description so much I may just use it in future marketing!! We often have special return guest offers during the year, so if you would like to be included on our mailing list just send...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 3 May 2015

My husband and I just returned from a 10 night stay on Bokissa Island and were blown away by the following: 1. The dive sites are second to none with eleven different sites available, including both reef and wreck diving which are in close proximity to the island. 2. The snorkelling is very good as the water is crystal clear....

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Jo H
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Bokissa is a very special place in the world. We do have some great deals for return guests from time to time, so if you would like to receive details of these, just drop me an email to sales@bokissa.vu and I will include...

Bundeena, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2015

This is a private Island resort, the staff and management are fantastic and the food is 5+ star with fish and lobster freshly caught you are almost forced to relax and watch the world go by as there is no TV and other 1st world things to worry about. Swim with fish and dugongs, go fishing or diving from here...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Buzz80017
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the trouble to review your stay at Bokissa, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. If you would like to receive our special deals for return guests, just send me an email to sales@bokissa.vu and I will include you on our mailing list. Hope to see you back at Bokissa soon! Julie Ingles -...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

My family stayed 3 nights at the resort. It was a perfect holiday. Friendly stuff, great scuba diving nearby, nice snorkeling. The huts are basic but clean. The resort was almost empty when we stayed. It is a 35 minutes ride from Santo island.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank IamZozo
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bokissa. It certainly is a very special place in the world. If you would like to be included on our data base and receive some great return guest deals, just send me an email to sales@bokissa.vu. We love to look after...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Bokissa has got a beautiful swimming pool area but beyond that it is dated and in need of a spruce up. The volleyball court is covered in little weeds. The food rapidly becomes something to dread and is most certainly not created by the claimed 4 chefs. Avoid the crepes with orange sauce. Horrible! The food pictures on the website...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CWorthyeju692
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Good afternoon. In response to your comments - I think I am safe in presuming that you were the travel companion of the other negative feedback we received this week.....I note that you booked via our website and maybe you needed a little more knowledge and background about Bokissa prior to booking. Bokissa does not and never has claimed to...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 April 2015

Of the 12 or so resorts we have stayed at in the pacific over the last two years this has to be the worst. A very tired resort with very poor service and poor equipment/activities. Resort included a meal plan which was a disaster right out of the 1980's. kayaks had holes in them and leaked. Tracks around the island...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tony00001
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tony NZ - we are quite surprised by your post - as you can see from other posts and comments we get very few complaints and usually enjoy rave reviews, so to have something like this sent to us is devastating to say the least. Can I begin by saying, that Bokissa is not for everyone, and maybe you...

Tannum Sands, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2015

What a beautiful Island. We stayed with friends for 5 nights in a bungalow on the beach. magic views, beautiful food, snorkelling, Island walks, wonderful long massages in the little hut on the beach and kayaking to the local Blue Hole. The local staff are all so friendly, always have a smile for you, what a beautiful holiday you guys...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SandraKie
travreps, Director of Sales at Bokissa Private Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review - we are so pleased you had a great time.....if you would like to email us at sales@bokissa.vu we can pop you on our mailing list for some wonderful deals for return guests.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2015

My wife and I stayed 4 days. Wished it was longer. Very clean Bure and fresh delicious food. Great diving, canoeing and freshwater pool. Beer was cold and the lobster was fresh. Staff were outstanding. Choice of kicking back or multiple activities. Highly recommended. Note....there is NO sign of damage to this island from the recent cyclone. Transfers were quick...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jamie A
Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Just returned from our 3rd stay on Bokissa, and grateful to have had the privilege of being in this place of beauty and tranquility again. Being there during theCylone Pam experience increased our appreciation of how well this resort is organised , we were very well looked after and our pleasure in our stay in no way diminished. Bokissa really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leonieph
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2015

If you're looking for the muslin-draped bed, twin basin bathroom and towels so fluffy they won't fit into your suitcase (as the joke goes) then Bokissa is not for you. What Bokissa delivers in spades is complete relaxation, accommodation in a comfortable fare and some of the best resort food I've ever tasted. The beach is Robinson Crusoe pristine -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pussintaps

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (305)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/06/2017 15/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espiritu Santo
17.8 km away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
286 reviews
245.2 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
530 reviews
17.8 km away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 10 in Luganville
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
267.4 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,441 reviews
7.3 km away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#3 of 10 in Luganville
302 reviews
8.9 km away
Aore Island Resort
Aore Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Aore Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bokissa Private Island Resort is a 30 minute fast boat ride from Luganville which is the main town in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. Bokissa is 16 absolute beachfront bungalows on a beautiful island of 175 acres of pristine beaches and tropical rainforest. Walk out of your bungalow onto the sand and into the water - straight off the beach snorkelling and just 10-20 minutes from world famous wreck and reef diving. Bokissa's tariff includes return airport transfers and all meals during your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bokissa Private Island Resort

Address: PO Box 261 | Bokissa Island, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo
Price Range: RM1,440 - RM1,825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bokissa Private Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bokissa Private Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bokissa Eco Island Hotel Espiritu Santo
Bokissa Eco Island Santo
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Espiritu Santo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Espiritu Santo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bokissa Private Island Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bokissa Private Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“AC only available 8pm to 6am, not a problem wasnt hot anyway. Weather was very pleasant.”
665JohnW665, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have views of beautiful blue waters, but the odd rooms favour the shoreline, so ask for a front room (hut).”
kimm46, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most of the rooms are very close to the beach. Just a couple are a bit further away.”
320andreww, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get the family Fares .. great views and loads of family space”
SimonW255068, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the fares are right on the beach. They are well set out but cosy. The décor is nice & clean. Book 14 or 15 for extra benefits.”
  • The upper level of the honeymoon suite
moonmaiden13, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates