We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

If you are in Malawi you do not have a lot to chose from and if you are in Mzuzu (up north of the country), it is even worse. Sunbird Hotel will not disappoint and will even match most of your expectations. The was something minor that I didn't like about the room I had been allocated and the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, Thank you very much for your review of Sunbird Mzuzu. It brings us great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay while with us, and that you found everything to your liking. We strive to serve you better, and we are happy that we were able to achieve this while you were at the hotel. We... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Was here for two nights after an absence of 8 years. Ok for Mzuzu but can get better as Sunbird get busy updating their facility. The local fish "Chambo" was very good and I can recommend it for those planning to visit the facility.

Helpful?
Thank Makangano
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Makangano, Thank you for visiting Sunbird Mzuzu and for your review of the hotel. We hope that you are back soon to enjoy the Chambo and the relaxing environment. Thank you once again. Kindest regards. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here 2 x b4 over last 3 years. Old but consistent service. Safe. Quiet. Near golf course established 1955 that iz in ruff shape. Check in efficient Beautiful curving staircase to 2nd floor rooms. Rooms are comfortable. B sure to ask for room with safe. Beds comfortable. In room frodge stocked with bottled water daily. Bathroom is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank droffilc
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Sunbird Mzuzu. We are glad you chose to stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will look into all the issues you have presented in your review. Kindest regards. More 

Reading, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2016

My experience may not be typical but I got no sleep in this hotel, which was considerably more expensive than others that I've stayed at in Malawi. An electric appliance in my room wasn’t functioning and was making so much noise that the source couldn't be identified and some of the furniture was vibrating. The hotel engineer wasn't even sure... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Louise_26
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne-Louise, We would like to apologize for your experience while staying with us. We would also like to thank you for your feedback. We have taken all the issues that you have made mention of and are taking corrective measures. Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Sunbird Mzuzu. Kind regards. More 

Travellers are raving about these Mzuzu hotels

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Mzuzu is not blessed with Western type hotels and having stayed at other establishments in town, I can categorically say that the Sunbird is the only game in town if that is what you are looking for. Of a good standard with nice clean rooms, en-suite, in room Wi-Fi, Fridge, TV and a desk is pretty much all you need.... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonyfrasercross
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review of Sunbird Mzuzu. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to provide the services that make you say that we are 'The best in Mzuzu'. We do hope that you come again soon! Kind regards. More 

Lilongwe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Stayed at Mzuzu Sunbird hotel for 4 days and it was a cool experience. The hotel has very professional staff with an excellent hospitality. Food is great and the rooms are quite clean and acceptable. However, the bar was not so impressive, although the poor lighting seemed to be on purpose, it creates a feeling of insecurity.

Helpful?
Thank jamesoW1628HO
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for your review of Sunbird Mzuzu. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the services were to your liking. We greatly appreciate your feedback on the lighting in the bar. Rest assured, we will do something about this. Your feedback is very important to us, and we will do better so that... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016

I have stayed here a couple of times this month, excellent value for money, first class staff, particularly on the front desk, and ideal location. Nothing to fault the hotel. The Bar (Sports Bar, separate to the main reception & restaurant) was quiet, and not as welcoming as the hotel itself. Possibly the best value Sunbird Hotel in Malawi.

Helpful?
1 Thank David L
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

David, Thank you very much for the great review! We appreciate the time you have taken out to write a review on your stay and we really do hope that you stay with us again soon. Kind regards. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The Sunbird Mzuzu may be the best place in town, and is perfectly adequate for a place to sleep and then eat breakfast. Most importantly: the rooms are clean: the floors, the sheets, the bathroom, all clean. They're also worn and dingy and smell vaguely dusty (or something). The lights are dim and the A/C anemic at best. But it's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marco20009
Sunbird-Malawi, Tamara Phiri - Guest Relations at Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our product services. We have been looking into the issues you mentioned and be assured that we have addressed the issues already. We hope that you stay with us again on your next visit to Mzuzu and that you will notice some changes in comparison to your last stay. We truly value and appreciate... More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2015

I stayed for a week in Mzuzu Hotel during a business trip. Rooms are well furnished and kept in very good condition. Beds are comfortable and regular linen changes. Onsite is a casino, Choma bar, shop, hair salon, internet centre and conference centre. The breakfast is of a very acceptable standard and offers a wide range of juices, fruit, cereal,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank LazenbyPretoria
East Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2015

This hotel is comfortable and clean. The aircon works, our bathroom and bedroom was well appointed and the bed extremely comfortable. There was a fridge, tea and coffee making tray and complimentary bottle of water replenished every day. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere and served a range of European and local dishes. Staff were friendly, helpful and well trained.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sqkitty

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mzuzu
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
63 reviews
35.1 km away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
64 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mzuzu
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ngala Beach Lodge
Ngala Beach Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nkhata Bay
81 reviews
0.0 km away
La Exotica Lodge Chinteche
La Exotica Lodge Chinteche
#3 of 4 in Chintheche
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel

Address: PO Box 231, Mzuzu, Malawi
Region: Malawi > Northern Region > Mzuzu
Price Range: RM809 - RM1,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Mzuzu Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor rooms are quieter especially those whose windows are on the golf course side.”
 of 5 bubbles S8259WMdanielg, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor or above for security”
 of 5 bubbles tonyfrasercross, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Enrol for the Hotelstay programme and enjoy a few discounts”
 of 5 bubbles jamesoW1628HO, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms at the back have lovely view over golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles 400DavidL400, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view over the golf course”
 of 5 bubbles LazenbyPretoria, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay