We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,011 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 877: English reviews
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our visit was a great disappointment in respect of the accommodation, we did not have any meals so cant comment. The de luxe tent unit was very comfortable but very badly positioned next to a small river and facing a dry steep hill with no view of the reserve as we had expected and no game until after dark two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Apart from a very rocky drive in to this resort down an unmade road it was first class apart from our 'luxury' room in the manor house which was VERY small. But the animals wander by the manor house almost every evening like clockwork, the dinner is first class with a grill selection of all kinds of African meats and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misstellithowitis
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your time writing this 5star review. We are glad you had a fantastic time at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve and also at Zorgfontein. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Alison

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was in Botlierskop in March for my wedding, couldn't have picked a better place!! My wife is British and it was the first time her and her family have been to Africa and they loved it here... the grounds are beautiful, the tents were awesome and the food was out of this world... the sing songs around the fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamey S
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for choosing Botlierskop Private Game Reserve for your Special Day. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time with us. Thanks again for your time writing this review and we are looking forward welcoming you back for your anniversary. :-) Kind regards, Alison

Pringle Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ok so this is not the size of the Kruger but what you do get is the following: knowledgable game Rangers, wonderful vehicles, the best snacks and drinks sundowners I have ever had (and I've had many) beautiful accommodation, amazing 5 course dinners, champagne with breakfast, lovely views. They were pretty full but front desk staff very well organized and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureenrussell2016
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good Morning, Amazing! Thank your for all the wonderful comments.... and for sharing your Botlierskop Experience. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Alison

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautifully placed reserve, with luxurious facilities, friendly Rangers and staff, and a huge variety of wildlife. The Walking with Lions experience is not to be missed! Food, facilities and ambiance are first class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucyn313
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for sharing your lovely experience. We are glad you enjoyed your game drive at Botlierskop and also the Catwalk at Zorgfontein. Thanks for your time writing this review! Kind regards, The Botlierskop Team

sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 5 nights in a luxury cabin/tent at Botlierskop. The accommodation was very good as were the first class meals every day with a wide selection of game dishes. The service was excellent and the staff extremely friendly. The reserve is not as large as some others but we did see a lot of wildlife and had the pleasure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveller59
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your time writing this review and choosing Botlierskop Private Game Reserve. We are glad you enjoyed your 5 night stay in one of our luxury tented suites and also the catwalk at Zorgfontein. Your feedback, positive or negative is very important to improve our service. Kind regards, Alison

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel lodge is fine, attractive and food and service is good. The safari a three hour drive is very poor. There are very very few animals and it's a total waste of time. This is a tourist trap. I wouldn't recommend this place at all if you want to see animals .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dee l
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good day, Thanks for your time writing this review. Botlierskop Private Game Reserve is a 4000ha farm and our animals are free roaming. Unfortunately, we can't guarantee that you will see all the animals. However, it's the first time we receive a review like this. We always try to show our guests the Big 4 and normally succeed. We have...

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not the Kruger or wild Africa even - but it's the next best thing. You are likely to see the big 5 because everything, including the animals , are closely monitored. They have three lions - a male and two females which are kept in a secure area for obvious security reasons. Plus - because I asked -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANDREW T
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are delighted that you had a luxurious experience at Botlierskop. Your feedback is very important to improve our service. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Alison Nell

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When visiting SA in November we booked an overnight all inclusive package staying in a Luxury Tent at Botlierskop, after being recommended by some friends, and it was just fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful with making the booking and welcoming over our stay. The reserve is beautiful & the food is amazing. The comfiest beds too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank for choosing Botlierskop Private Game Reserve and sharing your experience. Your feedback, positive or negative, is very important to improve our service. Thanks for your time writing this review! Kind regards, Alison

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a pleasant game reserve, which shows you the big 5 while driving through the beautiful reserve. The guide was very informative and was very patient with us wanting to take pictures the entire way. The lunch was much better than expected and the ambiance is absolutely magical with the warm and cozy fire place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deganit E
Botlierskop, Marketing at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for this 5star review! We appreciate your time writing this review and hope to see you again soon! Your feedback is very important to improve our service. Kind regards, Alison

901 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (832)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (489)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
14.2 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
287 reviews
16.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
17.2 km away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 27 in Mossel Bay
676 reviews
10.6 km away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 27 in Mossel Bay
200 reviews
35.7 km away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 27 in Mossel Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, horse back safaris, bush walks and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: RM485 - RM1,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Botlierskop Private Game Reserve staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
England
2 months ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Botlierskop Private Game Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“manor house may be acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles L721LLjohnm, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Tents are spacious but manor house has the animals wandering by”
 of 5 bubbles misstellithowitis, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“they all looked amazing”
 of 5 bubbles K5375QKandrewt, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Luxury Tent are just that ... luxurious. ”
 of 5 bubbles Q5626QQstevenh, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved the Manor House..wildebeast grazing outside the deck”
 of 5 bubbles clairetaylor1, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay