We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bar-t-nique Guest House

Agoda.comUS$72*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$74*
US$72*
Great Deal
US$74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bar-t-nique Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of Bar-t-nique Guest House
 Click to rate
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Once you get over the fact the guest house is right at the top of a very steep hill, you appreciate the view! In fact, you don't need your car once you arrive; if you want to go into town to the good restaurants, there is a shuttle service to take you there and back which is a great service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannelore F
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 1 night on a trip down The Garden Route. We were received by a sullen receptionist. Not particularly helpful but happy to tell us what wasn't allowed. No assistance with bags. Internet was poor. The room was small and had no view. Breakfast was okay. The pool is the size of a postage stamp and is overlooked by people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaystand31
Leixlip, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here last month for only 1 night and really enjoyed our short visit. As previous guests have stated, the views from the breakfast balcony are spectacular. Our hosts were very professional and helpful at all times. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liamo69
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rene and her staff treated us exceptionally well!! The rooms were neat, clean, well equipped and perfect. They make you feel at home and although they are very professional they are not pretentious. everything runs smoothly. They truly went the extra mile. Thank you for great service. I will definitely book my next trips with them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 762elizes
Home
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very good stay. The breakfast was good and we were upgraded on both our stays-nice surprise!! We were unsure when driving up the hill...but it was well worth it when sitting on the balconey!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 740alung
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place had lovely views from the room and balconies. And it is a very nice guesthouse. The 2 ladies we encountered where very helpful. And the added bonus was the free shuttle service from the hotel to some of the restaurants in the town. This was appreciated as the guesthouse is at the top of quite a steep hill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyfod
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic room with a superb view of Mossel Bay! Breakfast was delicious with different options made to order. Room was spacious and clean opening onto a patio. Shuttle bus provided free but only to selected restaurants chosen by the guesthouse and the restaurant they recommended was a huge disappointment where we waited over a hour for food and then when...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eimearw2017
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed just one night on a Garden Route trip but would have loved to stay longer; lovely comfortable room, great viewspver the bay from room dining room and bar , quiet but convenient for the town centre, great breakfast - recommended, Mossell Bay is a fascinating town with plenty to do ,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan k
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place with great views - Owner went out of her way to accommodate our car parking space. Breakfast was great too. I would definitely recommend a night or two at this place - not for young children though.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christophergD1454UT
Knysna
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If any readers require a place to stay in Mossel Baai while one of the family members is in the hospital there, avoid Bar-t-nique Guest House like the plague. They are interested in only one thing and that is putting a charge on your credit card as quickly as they can whether or not the family member stays at their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldjohns945
Dalene W, Manager at Bar-t-nique Guest House, responded to this review

So sorry that you did not read the cancellation policy properly before booking. Our policy is very very clear and you did simply not adhear to it so we cannot be held responsible.

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (19)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
29.6 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
327 reviews
1.0 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
232 reviews
0.9 km away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 52 in Mossel Bay
622 reviews
6.0 km away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bar-t-nique offers top quality corporate and tourist accommodation. Magnificent panoramic views of the harbour, Indian Ocean and distant Outeniqua mountain range. Charming sea facing bedrooms all have private balconies, all rooms have twin or king size beds, DSTV and tea and coffee making facilities, security safes and hairdryers. Swimming pool, honesty bar and guest lounge. Evening meals on request. Breakfast is prepared each morning between 7 am and 9 am and is served in the dining room which has unsurpassed views of the harbour and ocean. Close to golf courses, beaches and many popular restaurants. George airport is only 30 minutes away. Bar-t-nique is your perfect base from which to explore the many attractions of the Garden Route and Little Karoo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bar-t-nique Guest House

Address: 82 Rodger Street | Linkside, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: RM347 - RM695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bar-t-nique Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar-t-nique Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bar-t-nique Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the front and side all have balconies. The pool is very small but a bonus”
hanneloref508, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a view over the bay”
Suer040153, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the penthouse suite if available.”
geoffg707, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try get balcony facing front”
458GregM, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are beautiful.”
  • Suite
  • View from the Balcony 3
  • Sitting Area
  • View from the Balcony 1
  • View from the Balcony 2
misschrisritchie, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$72* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
PricelineUS$74
Expedia.comUS$74
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates